2002 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2002 Toyota 4Runner

$2,661 - $11,429  MSRP Range
2002 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

54 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Ever Owned

by Shamrock from Baltimore, MD on Thu Sep 08 2011

120k miles, it still starts and drives like its brand new. Amazing power, and comfort. Looks good, accelerates well, brakes well, and the 4WD is very easy to use. Last year, my 4Runner was able to get out in the snowy roads without any issue, although my neighbors Jeep Cherokee got stuck before it left the court. I absolutely love this car. What an amazing ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The, ALMOST, Ultimate SUV...

by DurangoJay from Durango, CO on Sat Aug 22 2009

This truck, and it is a truck, is almost unequaled for multi-purposed driving. Only the FJ Cruiser and the Land Cruiser, both other Toyota's, can claim better Off Road manners. This vehicle does it all. Comfortable for long road trips, great Off Road, good town car, it does it with Toyota's legendary quality, reliability and dependabilty. This is one truck that will last for years and years with minimum maintenaince costs and repairs. Go do your research and see. This is the BEST SUV for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will outlast any other cars

by Vegas4runner from Las vegas nv on Tue Oct 09 2018

We got our 02 limited 4runner, haven't done anything other than oil and filter. Feels sturdy, low maintenance, and most of the stuff is easy to access. Have had countless thousands of miles, city driving is not as good as on the open road but i think for the quality and reliability you get with these trucks 96-02 were probably the best years of them, if you can get your hands on one of them, just make sure the services are up to date and the transmission shifts smoothly, parts are readily available anywhere. And if you can get a 4x4 you won't regret it. Can be upgraded with bigger brakes and lifted and do all kinds of mods and most of all, make sure you dont get a rusty one. And as long as the timing belt and water pump has been changed every 100k don't be afraid of the mileage. Motors will go for well over 300k with oil changes only. Transmissions about the same, if you can put an transmission cooler radiator would make it even better. Good luck to all of you put there..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Toyota

by Paul D. from Tampa, FL on Wed Apr 05 2017

I decided to eliminate my car payment all together so I bought an older, high mileage 4Runner for cash. This SUV has 199,000 miles on it, but it drives and rides like a car that has 40,000 miles. The previous owner performed all of the recommended maintenance according to Car Fax and this really paid off. No squeaks, rattles and the engine runs very smooth. It really feels like it will run for another 200,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by ANDREW from GRASS VALLEY, CA on Sat Jun 30 2007

The 2002 4runner is the best car I have ever owned it is extreamly reliable and meets my expectations. The car handels great in the snow and off road. If you find one around 16,000 to 17,000 its a great find and i would recomend you purchase it. These cars hold their value extreamly well and i would recomend it to anyone looking for a midsize SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runner

by Swen from on Mon Mar 15 2010

I was lucky enough to find a 2002 with only 50k miles on it. It is more than capable off roading, as well as an awesome highway cruising machine. Go get one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another example of Toyota's Quality

by Off road enthusiast from New York on Mon Nov 05 2007

I have owned this SUV for 4 years now, and what a truck! The quality on this truck is amazing, there are no squeaks or rattles when I drive it. I was able to safely keep the origional break pads on for 65,000 miles! It has better acceleration and handeling than comparable SUVs such as Jeep's Grand Cherokee (i'v owned 2 of them), and the overall quality of the 4Runner is hundreds of times better than any domestic SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV ever made

by Toyota 4Runner Fan from Il on Wed Aug 08 2018

I truly believe the 3rd generation Toyota 4runners were the best vehicles ever made. I trust this vehicle more then my wife (lol) sorry honey!!! I have owned (used) & leased (New) 4runners in the past and plan on buying a new one soon. I’ll be driving 4runners for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Cowboy from Tampa, Florida on Sun Jan 23 2011

I had a 4 runner previously and decided that's what I wanted again after the great reliability and performance I had with my other one. I would definitely recommend it to anyone...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best auto I have ever owned

by Silver flash from Just moved to Tucson, Az from Michigan on Sat Aug 24 2019

My 2002 Toyota 4 runner has never, ever had a problem. Basic maintenance is all that it has ever had. 2 flat tires, don’t count. Am doing some basic replacement parts now, just for safety! It has 1hundred ninety + thousand miles. Have a list of people who want to buy it, mostly police & firefighters. Not ever going to sell-it is part of me, 17+years. Everything works! Am concerned about airbag recall. Can’t find info. My husband drove a Tundra, son, a tundra, nephew, a tacoma, daughter just bought her 2nd 4 runner. 2 grandchildren have 2002- 4 runners, sister had a Prius, says it is Tíbet. Best friends have a highlander & Carola. I could go on & on. 7 vehicles all purchased from same dealer in Benton Harbor, Mi.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6