2002 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2002 Toyota 4Runner

$1,969 - $11,417  MSRP Range
2002 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

46 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Ever Owned

by Shamrock from Baltimore, MD on Thu Sep 08 2011

120k miles, it still starts and drives like its brand new. Amazing power, and comfort. Looks good, accelerates well, brakes well, and the 4WD is very easy to use. Last year, my 4Runner was able to get out in the snowy roads without any issue, although my neighbors Jeep Cherokee got stuck before it left the court. I absolutely love this car. What an amazing ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The, ALMOST, Ultimate SUV...

by DurangoJay from Durango, CO on Sat Aug 22 2009

This truck, and it is a truck, is almost unequaled for multi-purposed driving. Only the FJ Cruiser and the Land Cruiser, both other Toyota's, can claim better Off Road manners. This vehicle does it all. Comfortable for long road trips, great Off Road, good town car, it does it with Toyota's legendary quality, reliability and dependabilty. This is one truck that will last for years and years with minimum maintenaince costs and repairs. Go do your research and see. This is the BEST SUV for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4Runner

by Swen from on Mon Mar 15 2010

I was lucky enough to find a 2002 with only 50k miles on it. It is more than capable off roading, as well as an awesome highway cruising machine. Go get one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by ANDREW from GRASS VALLEY, CA on Sat Jun 30 2007

The 2002 4runner is the best car I have ever owned it is extreamly reliable and meets my expectations. The car handels great in the snow and off road. If you find one around 16,000 to 17,000 its a great find and i would recomend you purchase it. These cars hold their value extreamly well and i would recomend it to anyone looking for a midsize SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another example of Toyota's Quality

by Off road enthusiast from New York on Mon Nov 05 2007

I have owned this SUV for 4 years now, and what a truck! The quality on this truck is amazing, there are no squeaks or rattles when I drive it. I was able to safely keep the origional break pads on for 65,000 miles! It has better acceleration and handeling than comparable SUVs such as Jeep's Grand Cherokee (i'v owned 2 of them), and the overall quality of the 4Runner is hundreds of times better than any domestic SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good car, but not a great car

by limbo55 from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Mar 08 2007

Don't get me wrong, I like the car, but if the interior were better I would love the car. It's a bit crammed inside. The seats aren't made of the plushest material, so it's a bit stiff and doesn't give much. I'm 5'10" and sometimes I feel too tall for the driver seat. The all plastic/rubber interior doesn't help things. But this car is a workhorse. My family owned a jeep for the same period of time and worked it just as hard, the 4runner by far had much fewer engine problems hands down.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Cowboy from Tampa, Florida on Sun Jan 23 2011

I had a 4 runner previously and decided that's what I wanted again after the great reliability and performance I had with my other one. I would definitely recommend it to anyone...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Long lasting

by alexoro from Des Moines, IA on Sat Mar 22 2014

I am the second owner for three years with 155,000 miles in it. At 110,000 miles I installed a 2.5 lift and 33 inch tires. Taken it for trips of more than 7,000 miles in some real off-roading in rock and sand: love the rear lock differential, I was able to get through areas where professional dirt bikes couldn't. Performance off road is great, and the interior is well designed, clear view points to the outside and durability that surpasses all other SUVs of its class. On the downside, the v6 engine consumes much gas with little power in the highway. Especially if you add weight, you will find it challenging to keep-up with other vehicles in uphills. I have ran out of gas twice because of bad reading of the gas gauge when the vehicle had load of 700 pounds or more. Be ware that this is a common problem for the 4runners in this model. The chasis frame is a great option away from today's crossovers and other city SUVs. The 4runner is designed for the country and not the pavement. Get your hands in one of these as soon as you can if you want to pay little for a dependable performing light truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Toyota

by Paul D. from Tampa, FL on Wed Apr 05 2017

I decided to eliminate my car payment all together so I bought an older, high mileage 4Runner for cash. This SUV has 199,000 miles on it, but it drives and rides like a car that has 40,000 miles. The previous owner performed all of the recommended maintenance according to Car Fax and this really paid off. No squeaks, rattles and the engine runs very smooth. It really feels like it will run for another 200,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV ever

by dan from Madison on Sun Jul 22 2018

This is by far the best SUV in the world to own. it will never die and is extremely reliable. i cant recommend buying one of these enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5