2017 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

$24,768 - $51,150  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

130 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Toyota 4Runner SR5

by ChrisB from Derry, NH on Sat Apr 22 2017

I owned a Toyota FJ Cruiser for 6 years, which I loved. I wish Toyota would bring it back! But the 4Runner is the next best thing. I got the base SR5 model, which doesnt have all the offroading features (no locking rear differential for example), but it still has 4-Lo and ATRAC, which should suffice for the vast majority of tough situations. The Sr5 also has a Downhill Assist Control feature which I havent had a chance to try yet. This is a very capable vehicle. But what really sold me is the interior. The 4Runner is very comfortable. I am a tall guy and have plenty of room and adjustment in the drivers seat. By comparison, i couldn't get comfortable in a new Tacoma. Also the controls are easy to read and layed out nicely. And the rear power window is a neat feature. There are also 12v outlets all over the vehicle, and a regular switchable 120v outlet in the rear. The rear seats fold flat and there are tie-downs in the cargo area, which is huge. Lots of space. Overall I am thrilled with the 4Runner. Totally reliable, capable, practical, and fantastic resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice vehicle

by LPO from Fridley, MN on Tue Mar 28 2017

Only SUV model built on a truck frame. this thing is a beast. also quiet, lot of room, easy to handle, and it is reasonably priced compared to a new truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TRD Pro

by Robyn from Wilmington, NC on Thu Mar 16 2017

The Toyota 4Runner TRD Pro is the 3rd 4Runner I've had the pleasure of owning over the last 20 years. Truly exceptional & reliable vehicle. Handling is great, durable 4WD, and comfortable quiet interior. The cargo area is large & provides plenty of storage. The entune system adds many features such as weather, gps, & music. The 4Runner has only gotten better with time. It's truly a vehicle that is a pleasure to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking and great ride

by Ash from Wilmington, NC on Sat May 06 2017

Very nice auto with all the extras I wanted. I enjoy just getting into my 4Runner, and it handles like a dream. Still got that new car smell, I never want to get out to go to work. First fill up was a surprise as my previous ride only took 12 gallons, but I'm getting use to it, can't expect the 32 mpg I had previously. Bottom line it looks great,rides great and I get tons of complements. I'm happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable and rugged

by Jseif from Woodbury,MN on Sat May 13 2017

Great ride for the family and the trail. Rugged and yet stable for the highway. Quieter than my previous BMW at highway speeds

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

by Amy from Omaha NE on Thu Jun 22 2017

I recently switched from a 2016 Highlander to a 2017 4Runner, I love driving this vehicle! Sturdy and strong!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by dave from north jersey on Mon Mar 20 2017

one of the last true body on frame suv's. overall everything is great, ride, handling and everything you could imagine. more to come after it breaks in

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All around excellent vehicle.

by JR from Knoxville, TN on Fri Oct 13 2017

This car had everything I wanted. It has luxury with off-road capabilities. It is 4 wheel drive with a 3rd Row. The cooled seats are one of the best inventions ever created. The 4Runner really appealed to me with their reputation and lasting resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best all around vehicle on the market

by vkondrya from Sacramento on Mon May 15 2017

I love the ability that it gives you to be able to use the vehicle in the city and off road driving capability. I have purchased to of these cars already.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New 4runner

by New 4runner from Monterey on Mon Apr 03 2017

Lives up to its reputation as stylish and tough. Great vehicle and fun to drive. Looking forward to new adventures with this capable off roader.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota 4Runner

The verdict:

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is an affordable, no-frills, off-road-capable SUV with a hint of weekend-toy fun factor.

Versus the competition:

If the 4Runner TRD Off-Road were a Jeep, its capabilities and luxuries would fall somewhere between the primitive-but-capable Jeep Wrangler and the more refined Jeep Grand Cherokee.

The 2017 Toyota 4Runner is slowly becoming one of a kind thanks to a focus on off-road capabilities and ruggedness rather than the refinement, passenger comfort and crash avoidance technologies that are prioritized in competing models. If you'd like the latter, there are a plethora of car-based SUVs out there, like the Toyota Highlander and Honda Pilot, to get the family around in leather-trimmed comfort. The 4Runner, on the other hand, has hardware better suited for weekend camping trips, mountainous exploration or, as I found, oddly good maneuvering of an urban landscape.

What makes it so capable? The Toyota 4Runner retains body-on-frame construction, a once-common chassis type that's given... Read More