1997 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

1997 Toyota Avalon

$2,139 - $4,951  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 avalon owner

by Avalon Lover! from on Tue Apr 07 2009

I own a 1997 toyota avalon & love it! drove it to colorado, michigan, louisiana, maine, hilton head, texas, runs well, protected me in an accident, helped my back pain b/c of the smooth ride

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best ever

by richie from nyc on Sat Jan 14 2017

i purchased this car with 145,000 miles have 200,000 i never had a problem with it never got stuck with it rides smooth and great pick up i just cant find anything bad to say im told i can get over 300,000 miles with this car and it seems like i might i do change the oil every 3 months but yea thats about it bye

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Cars

by Cheapskate from Pasadena, CA on Mon Jul 16 2012

Bought this car used with 87K miles on it. I regularyly maintained it. And it never let me down. after 350 K miles, it ran as good when i gave it to my sister as when I bought it. Averaged around 25 miles to the gallon, a little better on long highway trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Flat out good

by Average Joe from Cumberland, RI on Fri Apr 18 2008

It's a smooth and controlled ride, very spacious, easy to drive. I got it used with about 120,000 miles on it, and I never had a problem with it, so it's reliable to say the least.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Georgia from Georgia on Thu Aug 04 2011

170,000 miles and still in great condition inside and out. Still has smooth, quiet ride and is the most comfortable car I've ever owned. Serviced every 3,000 miles. No problems at all. My next car will be an Avalon but doesn't look like it will be any time soon!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite vehicle so far!

by A young man from Delaware on Thu May 03 2007

I love this car, and recommend the Avalon to anyone who is mid or large in stature(no- offense to anyone). I purchased mine a year ago, and to this day rides the same as the day i bought it. I cant really think of any downsides for it at this moment but if your tall like myself then go for this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by shak from sacramento on Tue Jan 02 2007

perfect anyhow low accelaration high mile per galon strong body comfortable completely reliable low maintanace cost high performance

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

20 year old steady ride

by GK from East Hartford,CT on Mon Sep 18 2017

Solid runner and stylish too interior comfortable good mileage car tires were in great shape Leather interior was nice exterior showed age but no rust anywhere...... These makes can run til 250000 miles or better

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

bullet proof

by family guy from NJ on Tue Nov 15 2011

paint never faded, never rusted, 25 mpg, lots of room, quiet ride, regular gas, inexpensive to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car overall

by mitch from Knoxville,Tn. on Fri Mar 01 2013

No major repairs, safe, good handling,Steering and door window motor need replacement after 15 yrs.Gas milesage 24 city/highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Toyota Avalon

Ask a fan of English folklore what Avalon is, and the response could well be: the place where King Arthur is buried.

Ask a car fan what Avalon is and the response will be: a car that's just as quiet. Because when Toyota implores you to "Feel The Tranquility" in their ad copy, they speak the truth. The overall driving experience of Toyota's Avalon XLS is: quiet.

Start with the styling. Not offensive, although not terribly memorable either. Easy to lose in a mall parking lot. Quiet.

This car is cat-quick, although it's really just a fat Camry, plumped up a couple of sizes. So you get the Camry's quiet 24-valve, double-overhead-cam V6. Good for 192 horsepower and 210 pound-feet of torque, this... Read More