2006 Camry

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota Camry

$2,623 - $9,335  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

70 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 70 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Camry from Oklahoma on Tue Oct 06 2009

There has been a break in period where this car just wanted to go go go. Now that she is broken in at 12,000 the gas mileage is going up almost by the tank full(28 if I gun it almost 33 if I drive sensibly) and the handling is smoothing out. Compaired to the buick I was driving this 4 cylender car is very snappy and holds the road great. It is a joy to drive. Quite and reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by pandaexpress2401 from Orange, CA on Tue Apr 12 2011

First car I've owned. Was bought brand new. Used mainly to drive my parents and brothers around and getting me to work and school. Drives really nice. Problems include speakers' covers in the back chipped into pieces. Have had the battery burn off its own battery cord. A piece NEXT to the water pump came off and created this horrible noise that made me think it was going to explode. When going past 65 mph it doesn't feel too sturdy to drive especially when we get Santa Ana Winds here in OC, CA. Other than that I like the soft[?] steering, the nimbleness of the car, great mpg, maintenance cost is low for the most part. :) Probably better to get the 6 Cylinder for more horsepower for highway, but the 4 Cylinder is good for city drive. Would love the 07+ models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Could not find a better car anywhere GREAT VALUE

by doc from little egg harbor N.J. on Mon Jan 03 2011

Great car,easy to maintain,great on gas mileage,comfortable on a long trip could not ask for a more reliable car.85000 miles should be good for another 100,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Camry I-4

by K4ajaco from Mountain View, CA on Wed Apr 18 2012

Terrific car. No problems and roomy. Car was purchased used with 6,500 miles. Draw back was stains on the seats and pitted windshield. Windshield since replaced. Some times it would be nice to have a V6, but pay with gas millage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sturdy, Peppy little car

by Ex GM guy. from canada on Sat Jan 12 2008

Purchased 2nd hand off of a rental company 54 000km,and it has performed flawlessly ,now at 70,000km a year later. Very touchy steering,a bit noisy at hiway speeds, base model driver seat does put pressure under your thighs, poor rear visibility for backing up. I find the 4 cyl has plenty of power, as does the stereo and A/C and headlamps. The great resale value helps too. Huge trunk ! and fold down rear seats for lumber or sleeping, and good summer gas milage 37mpg summer, 29 mpg winter. at 10 clicks over speed limit. So far I love it for a small car,

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest overall car I've owned

by Johnboy from Calgary Alberta Canada on Sat Oct 21 2006

I leased an 05 4-cylinder Camry, then purchased an 06 version of it. I'm so satisfied with it, does exactly what it's supposed to do without fuss. Has plenty of power, nice gas mileage (can reach upper 30's on the highway if I'm careful), quiet, plenty of room (huge trunk), comfortable seats & ride. I have the base version, but so nicely appointed, it 's a steal! I even pull a small, 1400 lb. trailer (this car is rated for 2000 lb., but 07s are not) amazingly well, still get gas mileage in low 20s while towing. 5-speed transmission is really nice, makes for a responsive drive train, yet gives nice low revs at highway speeds. Build quality is excellent, zero problems after 20,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 Camry's Rock

by baysider from Bayside, NY on Wed Aug 16 2006

I bought my 07 Camry LE with leather and moonroof and 6 CD changer........it is stylish and very reliable...I would recommend this car to anybody....this is a great car to buy before you buy your lexus.......or Bimmers.....buy the V6......you will be glad you did...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Camry is a good car!!!

by Joe from Wash State on Wed Jul 04 2007

Have had my 2006 Camry one year and a pleasure to drive every day with no problems. 38 MPG with the 4 cylinder and smooth as silk on the road. My 4th Camry and the best one yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Camry lover from Plymouth ma on Sun Dec 01 2013

I bought my 2006 camry se brand new it has the 3.3 V6 and i now have 200,000 miles on it.I do the regular oil changes and maintenance on it and it's been extremely reliable.Beast car I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent car

by Ed from Kentucky on Fri Jun 12 2015

Bought certified used in 2008 with 35K miles, now almost 150K, had to replace alternator at 86K miles, water pump at 103K? Have 4 Cylinder XLE with optional heated leather seats & traction control package. Wonderful car! Average 26 MPG overall, 33 on highway.plenty of room inside car for family, nice quiet ride on Interstate. Other than previously stated, no problems whatsoever! Even JBL stereo still sounds excellent! Would highly recommend this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2006 Toyota Camry

GREENVILLE, S.C. -- With apologies to Volkswagen, which coined the phrase ''people's car," the label has for the past decade more appropriately applied to Toyota's Camry.

FolksCamry anyone?

Toyota has sold more than 10 million Camrys worldwide since its 1980 launch in Japan, including more than 6.5 million in the United States. It has been the American sales leader for seven of the past eight years, despite competition from young and compelling competition (notably Korean).

Down here, during the same ice storm in which I drove the classic reborn Land Cruiser, the Toyota FJ, I also tooled around in the 2007 Camry. I was able to get a great feel for the car, but reports on its handling will come after I... Read More