2000 Camry Solara

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota Camry Solara

$931 - $6,251  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota Camry Solara

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

27 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota Camry Solara?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent all around

by Michael from Ardmore from Philadelphia, PA on Tue Jan 05 2010

I bought my 2000 Solara SE used from a Honda dealer in July, 2002. It had about 20,000 miles then. It's a V6, manual transmission, with the premium JBL sound, leather, and power everything. I love this car. It's been perfect. It's only needed regularly scheduled maintenance in the 8 years I've owned it. There was one time (in 2008) the check engine light went on because it needed a new Oxygen sensor. It was a relatively cheap repair and normal for a car of it's age. My car is not the convertible. I wonder if the person with the body flex issues has the convertible version. I also still have the original spark plugs. They still work perfectly. This car is a pleasure to drive. It looks great too. It has great pickup and handling, good gas milage for a V6, it's very quiet at highway speeds and handles great at high speed. The suspension is noticeably better (tighter) than my wife's 1999 Camry LE, as is the sound system and interior materials quality. Gotta love the leather bound steering wheel, shifter and seats. Today, 1-5-2010, the car is 10 years old and it still drives like it was the day I bought it. My wife just got a new (2009) Sonata with all the extras and I'm not in the least bit jealous. Sincerely, Michael

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great

by jj from LA on Sun Feb 28 2010

bought it used in 2004 w 70000 miles. right now it has 170000. total repairs in more than 6 years - $1000. sensor, radiator, 2 batteries - never been in a shop for more than half a day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LUV IT!

by Speeding Grandma from Palos Heights, Il. on Sat Jun 23 2012

I bought my car new, and 12 years later am still driving it. The "biggest" problem I have is that I must "TEACH" other drivers HOW THE CAR IS TO BE DRIVEN. It requires the maintenance, like any other car-nothing major!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

11 years and counting

by Tx driver from Austin, TX on Mon Dec 12 2011

Now passing 100,000 miles, my Solara runs smooth and has few failures. A given for a Toyota. Still fun to drive? Well, that's another issue. The convertible has a weakness.. It's not as solid as a hard top, so I feel more vibration. The Texas sun has worked its magic on the wood grain (plastic) trim, but the leather has held up well. The blindspots due to the top can be offset by adding a wide view backup camera. Nevertheless, when the temp passes 70, the excitement comes back - with plenty of room to seat 4.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Oustanding

by John from New Jersey on Tue Sep 06 2011

By far the best car I've ever had the pleasure of driving. As this was my first car, I have driven and worked on several cars in the prior to this one and I was pleasantly surprised by its durability. The car has style, reliability, and maneuverability to say the least. It's a very enjoyable and safe car; and I would recommend it to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hidden luxury + reliability

by Solara Guy from Jersey City, NY on Fri Aug 20 2010

Spacious, super comfortable and reliable. Fluids and regular maintenance is all it needs. Butter soft ride is definitely nice. Alot miss out on this gem since it's not very recognizable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WILL NEVER SHOP ANYWHERE ELSE

by MUSTANG SALLY from ACWORTH GA. on Wed Dec 22 2010

IT IS SO NICE TO FIND HONEST AND CARING PEOPLE TO HELP MEET YOU CAR BUYING NEEDS............... HAVE NEVER FOUND SUCH HONESTY AFTER BUYING CARS FOR OVER 30 YEARS....I WILL RECOMENT MY CHILDREN TO DO BUSINESS HERE. THE USED CAR PEOPLE.........

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

16 years and Irefuse to part with her !!!

by Wzrd Of Bozzz from Sellersville, PA on Sat Jun 04 2016

I bought the loaded version of the 2000 Solara SE Gold Edition. It's been a great incredibly reliable car. Extreemly fun to drive. Handles like an indy race car, rides like a Cadillac and sips fuel like a Civic !!! Since I'm a mechanic I've done all repairs myself. It's a very easy car to work on. Only a timing belt, battery, brakes, tires etc. the normal wear out items in 134k miles. Other reviews have said this is the best desinged car evey made, they'er right... Sure a couple of people may have a bad expirence, but the the Camry and Solara are truly one of the best overall designs ever built. So I bought an 06 red Solara Sport Edition. Which I now call "the Twins". Did not Trade in or sell my 2000.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Verey Satisfied owner

by Solara owner from Yarmouth, Maine on Sat Apr 28 2012

Bought this car in June 2000 and have had ONE problem with it. Rear strut cost $700. to fix it. Would do it all over again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best conv on the road

by tonyp from ft lauderdale,fl on Sat Nov 20 2010

i'v owned plenty convertables in the past ,,this is the best built,its 10 yrs new ,still same top,runs like new & looks newready to buy another

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Toyota Camry Solara

So what do you do if you don't have a PT Cruiser to attract the public to your showrooms?

You bring out a Camry Solara convertible and a MR2 roadster and hope for the best.

When the PT Cruiser from DaimlerChrysler has captured the imagination of thousands, Toyota has unveiled a pair of niche vehicles designed to capture the wallets of hundreds.

The Solara convertible and MR2 roadster (See review next Sunday) are low-volume image vehicles to serve as magnets to draw people to Toyota, which plans to produce only 6,000 convertibles and 5,000 roadsters--just enough to show that it knows the drawing power of specialty machines.

The vehicles arrive in showrooms this... Read More