2004 Celica

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota Celica

$2,108 - $7,528  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota Celica

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota Celica?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota Celica

by d3ik3n from Putnam, CT on Tue Sep 04 2012

I bought my celica used from a dealer about 2 months ago. So far so good. I like driving it and love it when people compliment on it. I spent alot of time looking for a used car and glad I waited until this came along. This is the first car that I have purchased from a dealer. Its a toyota so Im confident that it will last me a long time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by Toyota Convert from Knoxville, TN on Thu Sep 20 2012

This car is a blast! Sleek, sexy and a head turner. My only complaint is the limited visibility because of small windows and tiny side mirrors. I am sad that Toyota decided to stop the production of this wonderful car. Toyota replaced it with Scion FRS which is quite expensive. Hopefully, the Toyota executives will change their minds and resume the production of Celica's.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car!!

by Leyna from Pa on Thu Apr 16 2015

Going on my 3rd year owning my 2004 Celica. Absolutely love this car!! So reliable, fun to drive and great on gas!! Purchased it from a private seller, who took very good care of it. Had high miles, but it was in such good, clean condition had to buy it. About the only cons I can say about it, is the spoiler makes it a little difficult to see, and the rear seating is limited. But it is not meant for a family car. It's quite the road hugger!! Love it !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

just good old fashon FUN.....

by nonexistant1 from sin city, NV on Thu Sep 06 2007

I bought a used 2004 GT with all the upgrades that a GT-S has. JBL stock sound system whole body kit after market spoiler 5 spd trans. I love it it can take a corner at 60 MPH with no problems the handling is sweet and the VVT-i motor is perfect to conduct modifications it has good stock HP for a little car. Just plain fun to drive. take out the butterfly valve in the stock intake and slap in a K&N high performance air filter and it will shoot about 10 more HP. It is great on gas even with the modifications. i am glad i picked this car up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by Alex from NJ on Fri Feb 12 2010

Very good condition. Some scratches. But no more then for a car from 2004. Great fun for pepole who like an old fashion driving style.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

college student

by js from Eastchester, NY on Tue Oct 26 2010

this car is clean as a whistle. rides great and warranty is a plus. low mileage. mint condition. who ever wrote negative reviews must be nuts. it was the best celica that I have seen so far. It is my dream car. I cannot afford it cause I am paying for college, but if I had the money I would definately buy it on the spot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Celica was the last of the ISM legends

by CelicaJunkie from Lancaster on Sat Sep 02 2017

The seventh generation Toyota Celica is sleek, "designer" and far more fuel efficient than any other Celica ever made. The trade off is that the exterior styling is dated and lame after 2004. Unless the owner utilizes the aftermarket selections to individualize their car, a stock 7th gen looks like the Delorian- way past it's prime. The interior is much lighter than every other model before it. HOWEVER, it is also ALL CHEAP PLASTIC. only one surface on the interior is soft touch and it's not something you come in contact with often. Despite the creaks and moans of the interior, you will ultimately be pleased with the car, regardless of transmission choice. I've owned an automatic GT, a five speed manual transmission GT, an automatic GT-S and a six speed manual transmission GT-S. It all depends on your preference. If you want to learn how to drive a manual vehicle, I would HIGHLY recommend a 7th generation Celica. In my opinion, it is one of the most versatile manual transmission vehicles of its time. I.e. you can literally drive with the clutch engaged and the car won't shudder, buck or stall. It is an extremely forgiving and understanding car. Mileage that I experienced was always between 35 and 41. That was consistent with all of the models I've owned. With any vehicle, it depends on how you drive. But driving a Celica of this model year aggresively(PLEASE FORGIVE MY SPELLING) OR conservatively- you will enjoy the mileage. The engine of the GT was built for effieciency. The engine of the GT-S has more horsepower and torque, but it's efficient as well. As a daily driver, I would recommend an automatic GT. That is where I achieved the best fuel results. Comfort is an entirely different matter. The 7th generation Celica is cramped, tiny, tight and miserable. No butt support, no thigh support and no back support. This will cause you pain on long distance drives. But this can be remedied with a simple fix. A pillow or cushion on the seat. I bought a chair cushion from an antique store for $2, and that served as my drivers side cushion.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Reliability!!!!

by ToyoGuy86 from League City, TX on Mon Jun 26 2017

This is a great car for someone on a budget or in college. The 7th gen Celica looks great in this day and age. I have 180,000 miles on mine and no major issues. Regular maintenance will keep this car working forever. The hatchback design helps with transporting big bulky items as the back seats go down as well. Gets the GTS if you can find a well maintained one and enjoy the LIFT!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever been in

by natalicio23 from dallas, tx on Wed May 31 2017

There is a blindspot for days, but outside of that this car is perfect. It is so reliable, it can withstand any damage you can throw at it without endangering the driver. It's got speed and pick up like a muscle car and its light enough to get you ahead of anyone who might wanna race.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun, Quick, Good looking

by Garrett H from Forest Hill, MD on Wed Apr 12 2017

My 2004 Toyota Celica GTS is not just my first car, but also the only car I ever wanted. While I may bias toward it, it truly may be one of the best car bargains ever. With its peppy 180 hp inline 4 it gives you good power especially in the upper end, that is where it shines. The interior is a little on the cheap side, but set up nicely. I only spent $4500 for mine with 145,000 miles. I expect it to last well into its 200,000's.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 Toyota Celica

Poetry in Motion, but Punctuated
2004 Toyota Celica GT-S

A letter to poet e e cummings, not the first I've written, but this on test-driving the 2004 Toyota Celica GT-S with "Action Package."

Dear e e:

She being not quite brand new, and perhaps having been abused by drivers before me, was a tad uncooperative in first gear.

She stalled twice, once at an intersection in Northern Virginia and again at a corner in the District of Columbia.

Of course, this was embarrassing.

I thought it was a matter of touch. You know how these things are. No two clutches are the same. No two manual gearshifts mesh quite the same way.

Some, like those in the devilish Dodge Ram SRT-10 pickup truck, require tremendous... Read More