Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1996 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

1996 Toyota Corolla

$147 - $5,783  MSRP Range
1996 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Unmatched reliability

by JD95 from Buffalo, NY on Sun Mar 01 2015

1996 Toyota Corolla - base model, 1.6l 4cyl, 3spd auto. 251,200 miles, still running great and getting over 25mpg. It's not pretty anymore, but never fails to start and get me where I need to go. I have no plans to get rid of it until it is a complete death trap- lol.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first car purchase

by You Know Me from on Tue Apr 19 2011

Purchased when I was 18, I was naturally unaware of the amount of maintenance required for a car owner, however this car needed very little. I drove the Corolla for 6 years with very few oil changes and very little maintenance required.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Over 450k and still running strong.

by Satisfied Toyota Owner from New Brunswick, Canada on Mon Jun 16 2008

After going through 12 years on the rough roads and the cold winters in Canada this car still works as good as the day I bought it. Never any major problems just routine maintenance.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car! Good price!

by First car from Clinton MD on Wed Jul 03 2013

I brought it for my 17 year old son. Perfect for him. Very reliable. Outstanding for a first car and humble beginnings!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

High mileage review

by 83stang from Glenwood Springs, CO. on Fri Aug 17 2012

I know these are reliable cars over all, but I find it interesting these things (in this year rating) have a known transmission problem, (5 speed manual) and nowhere here in the bluebook ratings is it mentioned. (except for now). At 210,000 miles the car lost 4th gear, skipping 4th wasn't that big a deal, but then fairly quickly 3rd went out, followed by 5th, and then 2nd. Nearly 2000.00 to fix acording to the local trany place. Looks like I'll tow it within a couple blocks of a dealership and drive it into the lot using its last gear (1st) and trade it in... yes, for another corolla, but a newer one!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great engine,

by mb from corte madera, ca on Thu Feb 07 2008

We bought this car new, it has 100,000 miles on it, and we are giving it its first tune up. We change the oil every 10,000 miles. Basically we beat the heck out this car and it just wont quit. Now only if my wife was a low maintenance as this car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great economical daily driver

by Happy With My Car from Austin, TX on Thu Aug 21 2008

I've had this car for 11 years and it has about 167k miles on it. I've replaced the motor mounts and timing belt, no other big-ticket items. Has never needed more than a brake light bulb to pass inspection. Has decent pickup and will cruise at highway speeds without feeling like it's about to fall apart. Gets about 35 mph on the highway. Good cargo space--trunk is quite large and back seat can be folded down for long objects. Rear seat passenger space is cramped, though, and the suspension isn't designed for a really heavy load--I've had five people in it but you have to take the speed bumps really slow. Really slows down on hills when towing, too, but it says right in the owner's manual it wasn't designed to tow. Paint is a bit faded but not bad for the age of the car and not having been kept in a garage. Upholstery looks like new. Factory sound system has good sound, though the cassette player eventually quit working.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car and still have it 13 years later!

by Harrison22 from Martinsville, IN on Thu Apr 19 2018

Love my corolla. It’s been a great vehicle! Toyota’s last forever and I always recommend Toyota’s to anyone looking for reliability! Great gas mileage too!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Maxten from St. Paul, MN on Mon Jul 07 2008

I bought this car used with 125k and now I have 190k on it and it's still running strong. Haven't had any problems with this car and it's been worth every penny.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

270k miles still going

by ym42 from Philadelphia, PA on Tue Apr 15 2008

Not the greatest car but not the worst. Missing standard ABS. Quite reliable, most of the money spent were on maintenance.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2