2009 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2009 Toyota Highlander

$7,436 - $18,276  MSRP Range
2009 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

30 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever had.

by LuvmyToy from Southern Iowa on Tue Apr 19 2011

Bought the car earlier this month. Had 17,000 on it from a lease return. Car has Nav, Bluetooth, DVD, leather/heated seats, etc. The nicest car I've ever owned. Toyota needs to make their owners manual a little more consumer friendly. Navigation is very good, but very intimidating if you've never had nav before. Give it a couple weeks and you'll learn and it will seem easy. Great vehicle. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highlander Purchase

by Lonestar from Texas on Wed Jun 29 2011

After looking for a Highlander year model 2008 or 2009 for approximately six months I found one at an area independent dealer. My search engine was Cars.com. The information presented was accurate and complete. The Highlander is a great vehicle and the Limited package is full of extra features like leather seats, sun roof, JBL stereo, navigation system, rear camera, rear air conditioning and thrid row seats. The price was as stated. The test ride was an excellent experience. I made the purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'09 Highlander Limited

by Esco Highlander Camper from San Diego, CA on Mon Jul 30 2012

I've only had my Highlander for two months but so far it's been a great SUV. We went from a Trailblazer EXT (7 passenger) and wanted a more reliable 7 passenger vehicle but keep the V6 to save on fuel. It's pretty roomy for the size. The Highlander has great features with the backup camera and automatic gate lift and close. We went camping last week with our 2700lb tent camper in tow. The Highlander averaged 20mpg towing! I was really excited to see that. The 3.5 liter V6 is really powerful. The only complaint I have with the vehicle is I feel like I hear more outside noise, like it's not as insulated as my Trailblazer was but it's not really a bother, just an observation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great gas mileage for size of vehicle

by suv guy from Geneva, Ohio on Wed Jul 22 2009

Love the fact I get above 20 mpg in the city. Took a trip from cleveland ohio to providence R. I. got 25.3 mpg. Not bad for a 4000 lb. suv Sound system good, but had a better one in my Infiniti QX4 that I traded in. Love the leather and auto close hatch I would buy one again. Great Reliability!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car in 40 years

by jimmiejo from Central Florida on Fri Dec 30 2011

We have hte Sport version, it seemed to drive better than the base model. We love it and will buy another one when the time comes. He purchased new and now have 39,000 trouble free miles. Only problem was the readio/cd unit went bad the first 6 months. Original tires and still have good tread left. Alos we love the pearl white. Back seat is roomy and comfrotabel, unlike many others. Plenty of cargo area.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid, safe, AWD vehicle

by ReviewRRR from on Fri Jan 08 2010

Toyota has fixed all the bugs out of the 3.5L avalon/camry/sienna/rav4/highlander engine (metal oil lines, etc). AWD system great in CO snow and relatively simply mechanical design means less maintenance for the long haul. VSC system phenomenal. Tows more than most crossover SUV's at 5000 pounds (more than larger Pilot). 20.5 mi/gal while "hypermiling" combined mileage... otherwise 19.5 combined with a light foot. Lots of interior room but hard plastics on interior. I would recommend any Highlander to a friend... EXCEPT a "one-owner" RENTAL CAR.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highlanders are Great!

by Bruceaz from Scottsdale, AZ on Sun May 01 2011

The Toyota Highlanders are great SUV's and the 2009 production run the best in their series. Consumer Reports Top SUV Pick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1 month test

by ianc from Puerto Rico on Tue Nov 17 2009

Excellent overall. Confortable and roomy, although not so quiet inside while driving in rough terrains. Great motor response (V6-270hp) and good fuel economy for a V6 vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great vehicle for grandkids

by grandma from TN on Wed Nov 17 2010

we love the extra room the third row gives us. now grandma and pepaw can take all the grandchildren on a trip together.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car!!

by Caubuch3 from Crystal City, MO on Wed Oct 25 2017

This car is awesome and it meets all of my families needs. Has plenty of leg room, lots of cupholders, and storage compartments.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2009 Toyota Highlander

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2007 about the 2008 Toyota Highlander. This year's Highlander offers a new four-cylinder drivetrain with segment-leading gas mileage; the V-6 carries over unchanged. To see what's new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

If the redesigned Toyota Highlander is to succeed, it has its work cut out for it. It needs to transport and entertain youngsters, swallow cargo and conquer snow. It needs to be safe, comfortable and luxurious, and it needs to do all these things without breaking the bank — in car payments or at the pump. A tall order, no doubt, but the leading midsize SUV competitors really have... Read More