2017 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Highlander

$25,204 - $48,902  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

273 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Highlander replaced by 2017 Highlander

by Jimbo from Upstate NY on Sun Mar 19 2017

This issue of Highlander 'feels' like a larger car despite it's great handling, eagerness, and power. It is quiet and comfortable and gives the driver the feeling of a competent, smooth, ride. Although it is my wife's car, I have driven it for about 1,000 miles and like it better than my Tundra for trips. Imagine. Being of the 'older' group, the thing is a bit too 'geeked-out' for what I feel comfortable driving, but I am learning to get along with all the options and special attributes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Highlander

by Captain Jack Sparrow from La Crosse, WI on Thu Mar 09 2017

A very well made and designed SUV. It has a lot of room for a "big guy" like me driving. When you close the doors, it just sounds "solid". I am very happy with my purchase. It's a fun vehicle to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellant Safety Features

by ConnieP from Austin, TX. on Thu Mar 30 2017

I feel safer driving this car than any other I have ever owned. It is loaded with the latest high-tech beeps and plugs. The whole car is very user-friendly. We are dog lovers and I secretly wanted a back hatch that opens separately from the tailgate. The Highlander has that feature. When it gets hot in Austin I am sure our doggies will appreciate the extra cooling. Oh yes, it is also very beautiful. I don't buy new cars often. This one definitely is a gorgeous vehicle. It is predawn gray but has a hint of ash brown.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd as good as 1st.

by Jo Ann from Carmichael on Mon Mar 20 2017

My first Highlander was still going strong after fourteen years. My 2003 Highlander never required my more than tires, batteries and the required timing belt replacement. It was absolutely best car I ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hit a home run with this vehicle

by Bch from Missouri on Sun Mar 19 2017

We love our Highlander! It is the most comfortable vehicle we've ever owned. It is a dream to drive. I like the way it handles. It is spacious and will be an excellent travel vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned .

by Billy sportsfan from Refugio,Tx. on Sat Mar 18 2017

Love this car.Very roomy and smooth ride.Everything is easy to figure out .Gasoline door has to be opened from inside the car. I love this feature .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Any highend Toyota holds value & is dependable.

by Vietnam Vet from Mentor, OH on Sat Mar 17 2018

I had a 4Runner with ZERO problems, totaled in a head-on; wear ur seatbelt, it saved me. It being my first Toyota, I was determined to buy another SUV and the Highlander Ltd. suited both me & the wife. And all the safety features, WOW. Safety was paramount and staying with Toyota was my goal. I purchase the 2017 because it had 11 miles on it, and the price was much better than a 2018. Since I'm gonna keep the car for at least 10 years, I also purchased the 10yr-125K miles extended warranty plan. Retired and plan on doing a lot of USA and Canada travels. Whoohoo! Hear we go.....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable but boring.

by Big Z from Columbus, OH on Mon Aug 20 2018

Very reliable vehicle but an absolute bore to drive. My 2016 Honda Odyssey EX-L minivan is a race car compared to this and we all prefer driving it to the Highlander XLE

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

beautiful blue highlander

by DeeSLC from Salt lake City, UT on Tue Mar 06 2018

I was looking for some very particular characteristics for this car. I found the right size, seating, engine size, tech gadgets, colors inside and out, safety features, sound system, navigation, cameras. It was actually pricey for me, I had to go over budget to purchase it but I know that it is very good quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride and a lot of safety items

by B from Dover,OH on Fri Feb 23 2018

I love this car. Lots of Power with a great ride. Nice and quite The only thing I wish it got more MPG Toyota stands behind their cars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 28

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Highlander

The verdict:

The 2017 Toyota Highlander Limited has lots of features for the money, but even with significant updates for the 2017 model year, this three-row SUV falls short of its competition because it doesn't drive as nicely or have as much space.

Versus the competition:

In our recent 2017 Three-Row SUV Challenge, the 2017 Highlander finished last in a field of four. If it's going to compete with the newest three-row SUVs in its price range, the Highlander needs more: more space, more comfort and more technology.

Last fully redesigned for the 2014 model year, the Toyota Highlander received styling and drivetrain updates for 2017, including a new grille and an available V-6 engine that's more powerful and works with a new eight-speed automatic transmission. Our test model, an uplevel Limited trim with all-wheel drive, while not base-price, had the updated V-6 drivetrain and an as-tested price of $44,514, including a $940 destination charge.

Exterior and Styling

The Highlander's 2014 redesign gave the SUV a tougher look, and the changes for 2017 take that design theme even further. The updated front end has a huge trapezoid grille with chrome bars that replace the old snoutlike design, but... Read More