2005 Prius

Consumer Reviews
2005 Toyota Prius

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

64 Reviews
2005 Toyota Prius
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 64 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Business traveler from Maryland on September 1, 2012

My 2005 Toyota Prius maintained high gas mileage, was comfortable for people of all heights and sizes in both the front and back seats, was very versatile for cargo of all shapes and sizes, handled well in all weather conditions, and had lots of front seat storage spaces. I had close to 200K miles on it when it was struck by a truck (left front side). Airbags deployed; no one hurt. Car totaled.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You Could Not Go Wrong

by Happy with Toyota from Springfield, MO on January 24, 2011

Such a great car for the money and performance. Never had any problems and I love the handling, stability and space. Very good visibility out of all the windows and surprpisingly great power for being a hybrid. I would highly recommend this car to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car

by green car enthusiast from Central Kansas on January 23, 2012

This car was the lowest cost per mile vehicle I have owned. I drove this vehicle over 163,000 miles but have driven other vehicles even more miles. My mileage over the 163,000 miles was over 46 mpg.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great mileage car

by High Mileage Guy from Salem,OR on May 6, 2010

I now have 240,000 miles on my 2005 Prius! The car is still going great. Everything checks out as working as it should. This car pays for itself on all the gas I save.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, no repairs in 8+ years

by Prius devotee from Heathsville, VA on February 26, 2014

We were thinking about replacing our 05 Prius with 143K miles on it, with an AWD Subaru, but then we thought my God, no repairs at all all this time, just basic maintentance, why should we trade it in now, it's like FREE now. So, we will re-eval trading in maybe a year from now, possibly. In our 143K we've done a 10K mile trip around the country, been to Key West from Virginia a dozen times. Seriously, never any mechanical problems, not even the brakes, never a breakdown. At our reacent 142K mile ck up, they said great shape, suggest first change of spark plugs ($187), brakes still great (original). We cant believe how good this car still is, and averaging 45ish mpg right now on the original sparks. I highly recommend this car, just make sure all the basic maintenance intervals have been done.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Toyota...last car ill ever own :)

by Prius convert from Greenwood Indiana on December 31, 2007

Drove my Prius over 80000 miles in one year.Only thing I ever did was have the oil changed and new tires.Try doing that with any other car! Did I mention the money saved in gas!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Buy TOP DOG of MPGs!!!

by KC from New Orleans, La on May 20, 2009

This car may have a bit of an sci-fi look to it, but if you give it a chance it will prove to be one of the best decisions you've ever made for your pocketbook.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I've never driven so miles in my life.

by JimVT from Shelburne, VT on April 27, 2017

We have owned this car since Jan. 2006. We currently have 174,250 miles on it. Most reliable vehicle I've owned. Vehicle stills feels it is new. Fuel economy is as it was when we first bought it. No major repairs, just normal wear and tear along with normal maintenance for costs. All five members of the family enjoy driving this car. Now that I am retired I am not putting the average 21,000 miles a year, more like 9,000 now. Car will last another two years easily. Purchase one of these used for your child's first car. He/She will thank you for doing so.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Prius Review

by Toyota Prius Review from Edison, NJ on June 26, 2012

Bought car for the gas milage. The car is in nice shape with high mileage. Most of these used Prius have been driven, but the one we purchased still runs good and has given us no trouble, I am very happy with my purchase. Alot of room, and great gas mileage. Used Cars.com alwasy to find all my cars, makes things easy. Very happy with my purchase and very happy with Cars.com for helping me find the car I wanted! Thanks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good car

by tchyvu from minneapolis,MN on February 15, 2017

I got this car used for 4 years now and no major problem. Confort is just good,handle his like all toyota cars too much assistance on the wheel but respond,mecanics very good. the car was 86000 miles, change the water pump and drive belt at 140,000 miles for $450. The car has enought room for 4 adult or 2 adult and 3 kids. Gas efficient was for a full tank 14 gallons around 350 miles for summer and 300 miles in winter mix of higway and city. Only probem was in winter when the temperature goes under -1F the car will not work correctly in D position for go you have to go in B position for 10 minute probably due to the low temperature and the car can take time to warm up cause of the electric engine and small gas engine. But in anyway it's a very reliable car for the gas mileage and fiability.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7