2008 Sequoia

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota Sequoia

$8,901 - $22,609  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota Sequoia

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

45 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota Sequoia?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sequoia

by Love the Toy from Houston, TX on Tue Jan 25 2011

The steering is true power steering, even easy for Grandma to drive it. Great room, wish it had a little more space for storage, but you can add a carry trailer if needed. We always have boys in & out of the car. Its has great room in the 1st two rows, so we let the shorter kids seat in the 3rd row. I am only 5'5 so it has taken some adjustment to get used to seeing pass the mirrors when you are turning, wish they had power in & out adjustments on the mirrors. Would make it easier to park, You need close to 8.5 ft to clear the mirrors on the side. One other wish, the car did not come with the side step to get in & out, It should have them on every SUV, So I am currently looking for somewhere to place them on the car. The gas mileage is around 15 mph, if you don't have a heavy foot. We had looked at the Highlander, for the gas mileage, but I am so glad we got the Sequoia, Love the room!!! Also if you are one to work on a car yourself, the engine has plenty of space to move around to check things out. We bought the extended warrenty with the company, b/c the price on parts are a little more costly for this car than other Toys. One other needed option--- there is no rear camera when you are backing up. You can't see anything below the back window on the 08. My kids call it the White whale. We all love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big SUV

by Big active family from Paoli, PA on Thu Oct 28 2010

Traded a 2003 Honda Accord for a 2008 Toyota Sequia. This is a great vehicle with lots of room for a family. We have 3 active boys and take trips and go camping. This vehicle has lots of room for all our stuff. We also have a 2004 Honda Polit which is great but not nearly as much room. The Sequia has pleanty of power. We have pulled a trailer with no noticable impact to power. This is a big vehicle and tight fit in our garage. The power folding mirros is a must to get it in the door. Good design with the Limited having everything you need to spend time on the road. The NAV system can't be set while driving which is a pain when there are two of us up front. Power seats fold into the floor. Removing the seats is why we didn't even look at the GM versions. Great overall vehicle if you need a big family car I would get this one again in a second.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Sequoia

by fatherx3 from Poplarville,MS on Mon Sep 20 2010

bought this SUV for my wife. We have three boys ages 7 months, 3 and six. We love this car. has plenty of room for all kids. I really like how the mid row of seats can adjust front and back. It has a great ride and handles nicely. The third row is much larger than an expidition and Yukon. We traded in a 2007 Yukon on this vehicle. It was the best think we ever did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Obi Wan from Dallas, TX on Sun Jan 23 2011

I thought I wanted a Ford Expedition (still a good vehicle) until I drove the Toyota Sequoia and compared features. Toyota features were better, it was easier to drive, could turn on a dime, and holds its value well. But there is a price to pay for all that!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Sequoia

by Kentendo from Erie, PA on Mon Jan 23 2012

This is our first Sequoia after having a Sienna, Camry, and Corolla. We're using it to haul our 4 kids and 24 ft boat. The V8 is awesome. Great power, great pickup...but not so great mileage. We live in the snowbelt so the fwd is also a nice feature. A sturdy, heavy vehicle, the Sequoia is surprising nimble with a tighter turning radius than our 2000 Sienna. Better ride, too. It was not a cheap date which is my only knock (so far). We bought used b/c we just couldn't pull the trigger on a new one. Two different dealers told us used Sequois were rare yet both found one within 2 months of us looking. The Platinum model is worth the extra bucks. Cockpit features are easily accessible and the navigation display is easy to use. Highly recommend this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best full size suv on the planet.

by big dawg from texas on Sat Jan 19 2008

I was reasearching on big size cars and i finally found the best one. This suv beats ford or any other automaker in the world the power is among the best 0-60 is the same as the turbo charged 400 horsepower land rover range rover. My friend has a surburban with 6.2 vortec max v-8 so we each put a 10,000 pound traler and had a race. my sequoia beat a by a land slide and later we went to a toyota dealer and he traded in his burb for a sequoia and there were alot of ford cars there if you know what i mean.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing

by H4RUNN3R from new york on Mon Mar 26 2012

i bought this limited suv in may 2011 with 36,000 and just last week hit 40,000..i use this as my weekend truck just for fun..so far not a single problem..the ride is amazing..turns heads where ever you go..and best of all not many on the road so you stand out..i looked at escalade/subarbun/infiniti and none of them come anywhere close to this beast..i abosoultly love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

goes anywere

by rover from indiana on Wed Dec 28 2011

great with no problems at all.like the 5.7 better than the 4.7 engine.Had long vacations of 5 to 8 k and get average ok 18 to 19 mpg full with pax and bags.Original tires are good only for 20 to 30 k get ,LT tires if you travel of raod and hwy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I have driven

by EX Suburban Owner from Washington State on Sun Nov 16 2008

Great turning radius. Love all the 1000 cup holders all over the car. Electric fold down seats are great, don't have to remove the third seats like the Suburban. Hauls a lot of stuff. The seats are very firm and comfortable. Only complaint, I have short legs, so the seats are a little too long. Gauges are easy see. Gas mileage are a little less that expected, but will purchase another one. Love the heated seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one huge rig!

by Desequoia from new berlin new york on Wed Nov 26 2008

i had two sequoias before but the first gen. this is the best truck on the road . turns are great the truck is powerful and is very fast . gas is good for htemileg fro me! i also owen a tundra crew maxx . this is the best truck ever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota Sequoia

The eight-seat Toyota Sequoia is sized between the smallest and largest full-size SUVs — bigger than the Chevy Tahoe and Ford Expedition but not as large and accommodating as the Suburban (basically a stretched Tahoe) or extended Expedition EL. Toyota doesn't always get it right the first drive, but seldom does the company give up until it's challenging or exceeding the class leaders — think Camry, RAV4 and Sienna. You can now add to that list the second-generation Sequoia — a roomy, refined truck that goes toe-to-toe with the Chevys and Fords.


It does still have a few shortcomings, including inconsistent cabin quality and an anomaly that might or might not be limited to... Read More