NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Sienna

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota Sienna

2016 Toyota Sienna

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Toyota Sienna?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

A reasonable vehicle

by BillyV from Palmer, PA on Wed Aug 31 2016

The 2016 Toyota Sienna is the 3rd one that I have owned. The vehicle is reliable, good looking for a van, functional for my needs. The 6 Cylinder is powerful and suitable for the van. The all wheel drive is very important, but I need to see how it handles when needed. The technology is one of the worst I have experienced. The Bluetooth literally, Stinks! The ability to program the radio stations and access them is by the far the worst. Communications of the voice in the Bluetooth is horrible. But, the van is very comfortable and functional and suits my needs, and it is the only all wheel drive van available.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable so far, good car overall

by tyttuutface from Cincinnati, OH on Fri Jun 14 2019

We've put about 25,000 miles on our 2016 Sienna XLE Premium. It's needed no repairs except for standard maintenance, and the only problem we've had is a squeaky rear wiper. The straight-line performance in the AWD model is very impressive. Its 0-60 is about 7 seconds, which is respectable for such a big car. I've never been able to get the wheels to spin on any non-icy ground. You can turn the traction control off, put it in first, and floor it, and it makes a tiny squeak on wet roads. On dry roads, there's no wheelspin at all. I have found the cornering performance to be unimpressive. Even at pretty low speeds, you can feel significant body roll. It can best be described as "lumbering." This isn't all that surprising for a large premium minivan, but I wish it were a little firmer. The steering itself is smooth, fairly light, and predictable. As for comfort, I've run into issues with ankle pain because you sit very much upright in this car. The placement of the pedals require you to have your feet bent upwards at the front. This can be compensated for somewhat by adjusting the seat. The entertainment and "gadgetry" does what it says on the tin. The stereo provides very punchy yet clear sound. We haven't used the TV much, but it worked last we checked. The satnav is reliable and fairly easy to use, but the menus and text input are a little clunky. I've encountered some issues with Bluetooth connectivity at times. The main features I miss on the XLE Premium trim are seat memory, LED interior lighting, and LED/HID headlights. At its price point, you'd expect these features to be included. I'd also like to see more advanced readouts on the instrument cluster display such as battery voltage, coolant temperature, and oil pressure. It's not much of a surprise that these readouts are missing, though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota’s Rule

by MirandaW from Grand Rapids, MI on Tue Sep 03 2019

We were looking for a newer Toyota mini van, we had 08 LG base model, now LG 16. The newer van is very nice and it is an upgrade. But there are some things that have changed from the older van to the newer one that we do not prefer. 08 automatic open windows back 3rd seat 16 manual open windows back 3rd seat 08 had storage in the armrests on the doors up front 16 no storage in the armrests on the doors up front 08 the middle seats could be completely removed 16 the middle seats can be removed, but the track they are on can’t Definitely not disappointed in the new van, just wish it still had some of the same features as the old van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by RicoD from Barnstable, MA on Sun May 07 2017

Never thought I would look forward to driving a mini van, but I now do. Very comfortable and very useful. Has lots of get up and go for a van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All of my cars are Toyotas

by masa from Aiea, Hawaii on Sun Jan 24 2016

Have been a loyal Toyota customer since I bought the first four runner. Excellent reliability and good service with the dealer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owner

by Soccer team from Naperville on Sat Apr 08 2017

One of the best minivan in the world.My family very liked.Its my third Toyota Siena in 15 years.I very recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Jason on Sat Apr 07 2018

A previous owner of a dodge caravan, we wanted something a little larger. After having a Sienna on our last trip to Disney, we decided that this would be our next van. Purchased today:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a Benz, no, but could be

by agreatfan from inverness fl on Wed Jun 13 2018

very comfortable, lots of pick-up, lots of room. The fold back seat are hard to put back in place, but the room it brings is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Family Rig

by Swagger Waggon Owner from Abilene, TX on Mon May 08 2017

We are so happy with our Sienna. I wish we would've bought one after our first little one was born! There is seriously so much space for activities and the kiddos love it too. The trunk space is gigantic. It handles great for it's size. Power delivery is great, however, you do start to feel the weight when you have 4 adults, hence the 4 star rating on the power. Mileage is approximately 20mpg combined.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THE SIENNA

by WowCar from Owensboro on Wed Jun 13 2018

This is our second Sienna. The first we bought at 80K miles and drove for nearly 8 years. Never one problem with engine or reliability of the van. We recently purchased 2016 Sienna and love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2016 Toyota Sienna

Editor’s note: This review was written in March 2015 about the 2015 Toyota Sienna. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Minivans are a lot like vacuum cleaners; people don’t buy them based on style or speed, but on how well they handle family chores. During our most recent Cars.com Minivan Challenge, the Toyota Sienna proved a poor appliance, landing at the bottom of the class thanks to its unruly powertrain and cut-rate interior materials. An update for 2015, though, boosts the van’s usability and likability.

The 2015 Toyota Sienna’s upgraded interior... Read More