2001 Cabrio

Consumer Reviews

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio

$683 - $6,883  MSRP Range
2001 Volkswagen Cabrio

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Volkswagen Cabrio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Cabrio German engineered

by Mike from Penfield, NY on Mon Aug 16 2010

The car has heated seats. A car is only as good as who is taking care of it. All the service requirements, plus, have been done with this vehicle for all the miles. One owner one way of taking care of the vehicle. We are purchasing a new VW convertible to replace this one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Used Cabrio

by JeffZCT from CT on Mon Sep 03 2012

I wanted a reasonably priced convertable for summer driving only. Came across a 2001 with very low milegae at a great price. Best car deal I ever made. What a fun car, great milegage, easy to maintain. It will last me another 8 to 10 years easy. Thanks cars.com

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Classic good looks

by Summer Lover from Avella, PA on Wed Mar 30 2011

The Cabrio is a great little car with a sports car feel. It can keep up with the big dogs despite the 4 cylinders. It has plenty of head room and interior space even for tall people. The ride is amazingly smooth on the open road for a small car and the leather interior gives it a rich feel. It's great in the city for getting in and out of tight parking spaces and getting through city traffic. There's nothing like the warm breeze on a summer day tooling around in a convertible! Especially one that is fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cabrio goes!

by CoachGregM from Fayetteville, Arkansas on Mon Aug 31 2009

Have owned '01 for six years; one-owner previous. Only work needed is AC unit; repaired not replaced. Bought to supplement two motorcycles on trips w/out rain/heat/cold/etc. Have cruised the plains to the sea and points in between. Love the ease of roof raise/lower. Heated seats keep butt warm on cold days w/roof down. Five speed shift gives enough 'sport car' effect to make this ol' guy happy. 25/39 mpg!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car since my '69 Firebird convertible.

by Raylp from Newnan, Ga on Tue Mar 07 2017

Has lots of features. Heated seats, 5 speed, non- power top so it has lots of trunk space, great gas mileage, cruse all day at 75, motor has 140,000 miles on it and still purrs, leather interior, has been well maintained especially with oil changes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

beautiful car

by gud from Vacaville on Tue Mar 27 2018

Very nice i take to the beach come and join us, does not burn that much gas i have alot fun this car. its a CONVERTIBLE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cabrio

by Jack from green bay wi on Thu Oct 22 2015

enjoying the good gas mileage of 30 plus. Sound system is awesome even with the top down and 80mph. Only 60K on it so we hope for many fun miles ahead.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car that is reliable and very inexpensive

by Cabrio Driver from Los Angeles on Sun Feb 24 2008

Bought it used with very low mileage drove it 5 years and 80000mls and never had any bigger problem with it. The maintanance is very affordable. Very small turning radius and the trunk is huge for such a small car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good second car.

by George from Menifee California on Sun Oct 07 2007

We wanted a decent car with good gas mileage for our bi-weekly drive into town. We consider the convertible a bonus. This car gets 32 MPG (really) on the highway and isn't as boring as a civic. ( our other option) It has so far been a reliable 80,000 miles. The interior isn't first rate, by any standard though, and is showing real wear. Our only complaint. Other than that, it is cheap, enjoyable driving. It handles nicely, but is tepid in its preformance. It's not a sports car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2001 Volkswagen Cabrio

It's getting plenty long in the tooth, but the amazing thing about the 2001 Volkswagen Cabrio is that it still has plenty of sex appeal. That is, if you're female. Still affordable and still cute as a button, the Cabrio hasn't received a serious makeover in years. But VW has altered prices for 2001 and added some equipment, so the top-of-the-line Cabrio GLX that we tested had loads of features with an appealingly low sticker of $23,725.

If only Paul weren't so embarrassed to be seen behind the wheel.

She: I can understand a guy avoiding the VW Cabrio. I felt like I was part of a sorority driving it. Every time I would pass another woman in a Cabrio - by the way, I never did see a... Read More