2008 Eos

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volkswagen Eos

$3,098 - $12,006  MSRP Range
2008 Volkswagen Eos

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

37 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Volkswagen Eos?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Step up from our old Cabrio

by VW Fan from Burbs of Boston on Wed Dec 15 2010

Our VW Cabrio was a GREAT car, lasting 150k+ miles and almost no issues over 8 years. Sure wish they made a new version of it...but it was time for a newer car. The EOS is a little bit more of a luxury car than we need. The car is very comfortable and rides like a magic carpet. The 200Hp turbo is great fun. Lots of power and a quick shifting manumatic. The interior is awesome. Very comfortable and well screwed together. The radio is just fantastic. Heated seats can melt copper. It has proven very practical with lots of room in the back seat, a pass-through to the trunk, and generous trunk if you don't put the top down. We're averaging 32 MPG overall with mostly highway commuting. Four months in and we still love it. But... The downsides: The top has needed work twice, both times for a sensor (under warranty). It squeaks and creaks; sometimes a lot, sometimes just a little. It is easily the worst aspect of the car. A soft-top would have been fine! General maintenance costs from the dealer are steep so make sure you know this going in. The car is so powerful we often squeal the tires by accident on summer tires, less so on the snow tires (so far.) We still have a few drops of water coming in along the windshield header if it rains a lot. It doesn't handle anywhere near as well as the old Cabrio but on the flip side, it is much more comfortable. The DSG transmission takes some getting used to as it is really a manual that a magic elf shifts for you. The only down-side is that it rolls backwards on hills if you're not quick to transition from the brake to the gas (just like a manual.) The headrests on the back seat block the rear view quite a bit so you have to drive by your mirrors more. You can't remove them or push them down as they hide pop-up roll bars. Buying advice: make sure the top works, get all the service records to see where the trouble spots were and to make sure the oil was changed regularly. The earlier turbo 4 had a history of dying from oil sludge. Watch for water leaks everywhere the top comes together. Top down on a sunny day and you'll LOVE it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mine must have been built on a Monday or Friday

by Mike 1 from Calgary, Alberta on Thu Aug 27 2009

I purchased my EOS in 2008 and initially loved it....Unfortunately at about 10,000K (I now have 15,000K) I started having problems. The first thing that had to be done was to replace the seal for the hardtop, then right after that, I had to replace the entire hardtop (because it rattled)then most recently my electronic transmission really started to slip badly and then last week for some strange reason, the car ran very low on engine oil (No oil pressure)I am starting to think that it was built on a Monday or Friday....It has spent more time in the service shop than in my garage......

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

greta for long drives and short trips

by road warrior from on Wed Mar 17 2010

I do a lot of distance driving and the comfort is fantastic! My only beef is how limited the trunk and storage space is. As someone who lives out of her car that can be tough, but the features are great and i love the hard top (having had a soft top this is WAY quieter).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive, turns heads

by Love my EOS from Chicago, IL on Sun Aug 07 2011

I bought the EOS because I live in Chicago and wanted a convertible, but thought the hard top would be better for winter. This car turns heads...every where I go, someone asks me about the car or compliments the body style. The Lux is beautiful, with black leather and wood trim. The car handles well and is quick off the line. It feels very powerful and accelerates well from zero and on the highway. Once you drive it, you'll buy it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Cute Matchbox!

by Eos Girl from Stamford, CT on Wed Jun 29 2011

I've only had my Eos for 3 months but so far it's been fun to drive, nice solid steering/front end system. Pros-styling, price, hydraulic convertible mechanism easy and fast, 10 seconds to take the roof off. Much admiration from fellow drivers, very cute car!! Cons-quirky little problems that drive you crazy: drivers window gets stuck sometimes. Sunroof only opens 3/4 of the way. Very little trunk cargo room. Very little storage area overall. Komfort base model is really base - headlights don't go on or off automatically, no bluetooth, fake leather upholstery, basic audio system. Roof leaks slightly, not such a problem in the summer, but not looking forward to winter weather conditions in the northeast. Rubber seals aren't tight enough. Overall happy with my purchase but next time around I'll go with the lux model and a newer model year to assure against quirks being taken care of. Reliability - so far so good, decent on gas on the highway, okay local driving

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Envy of 30-somethings

by 35 and loving it from Falls Church, VA on Sat Jul 04 2009

One year after buying this car, my wife and I still fight over who gets to drive, and we look for excuses to go places. The VW EOS - we have the 2008 model in black with white interior - is such a fun car to drive. If the top is up, we blast satellite radio through the excellent speakers, enjoy the seat warmers and the panoramic sunroof. If the top is down, life in the front seats are great, and if you're in the back get ready to be wind-blown. We don't have kids, so it's ususally just the two of us, but the back seats do fit two people fairly comfortably. The trunk fits a full load of groceries with the top up. The hard top leaks a bit of air and occasionally water - but not much at all. The roof folding mechanism garners gawks from passers-by. The engine has plenty of pick up. It is a manual transmission with an automatic shifter (no clutch). The shifts can be jumpy at times. Shifting into manual mode to downshift for passing at higher speeds is handy for some extra kick. For the most part, we just keep it in automatic, though. This is a solid, solid car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loads of Fun

by Stubman from Ohio on Sat Feb 28 2009

Why not have fun when driving? Safe hardtop convertible with 30+ MPG fuel economy. Reliability has been great. Fit and finish is excellant. This is everything I wanted in a that not only looks great, but has the ability to throw your body back into the drivers seat when required. With the top down you can still get two large pieces of luggage in the truck. With the back seat you have room for other things like a cooler, carry on bags, etc. I choose the black exterior with the tan interior. If you purchase an EOS be prepared to answer questions from other drivers while they are waiting at a light next to you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun, reliable and comfortable

by Horseloverinfl from Tampa on Mon Oct 31 2011

I have all good things to say about this cute car. I will buy the newer model as well since it has few more media features than my 2008. Love it for the money, performance and gas consumption is 32 on hwy and around 20-25 in city depending on distance driven. all in all it is a very nice city slicker plus veru comfy for long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun in the Sun in Hawaii

by Lopaka 96816 from Honlulu, Hawaii on Sun Apr 06 2008

Love this car! Have had 3 BMWs, last one for 13 years! It was a hard decision to go with a VW, but glad I did. Beautiful German engineering, attention to detail, and just pure fun! Dealer was friendly, but really didn't want to budge on price, which is ok, because the product is well worth the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice driving experience

by Convertible car addict from Montreal, Canada on Fri Jul 08 2011

The car looks nice, drives very smoothly but with excellent road handling. The Audi 2L turbo engine is powerfull. The roof retracting mechanism when activated makes the car look like a transformer but works very well. Interior design is chic. Overall good value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2008 Volkswagen Eos

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2006 about the 2.0T version of the 2007 Volkswagen Eos. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

With its retractable hardtop and excellent drivetrains, the new Eos convertible is a welcome addition to the Volkswagen lineup and to the market as a whole.

VW has a habit of releasing convertible models in the fall (if twice makes it a habit). The last time was the Beetle Convertible, a soft-top. This time it's a little more appropriate because the Eos' retractable hardtop makes it more viable as a four-season car.

VW needs this convertible... Read More