Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2013 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2013 Volkswagen Golf

$8,244 - $17,396  MSRP Range
2013 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great driving and commuting car

by coiler from Dayton, OH on Fri Nov 09 2012

Bought a 2013 Golf TDI wit technology package and DSG primarily to use as a commuter. Easily exceeds EPA milage predictions with highway mpg usually over 50 and local/city mpg in low 40's. Much more comfortable on longer trips than I initially expected and very quiet. Much more fun to drive than any hybrid that I had tried including the new C-Max from Ford. Interior is upscale compared to competition. Wish a back up camera and auto on headlights were available

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Peoples' Car is a Masterpiece

by TwinCamAlfa from Raleigh, NC on Mon Mar 16 2015

VW has fabulous design and engineering talent, and the Golf TDI demonstrates that talent in every detail. The Golf has all the virtues that make German cars feel so good to drive, without the maddening complexity and astronomical price of the German luxury marques. The Golf TDI does it all. It's compact and roomy, comfy, quiet, powerful, economical, sporting, and, to my eyes, quite good-looking, with an honest, simple style all its own. The roomy interior is nicely and simply detailed, with controls that are easy to master and proper seating that holds the driver in place so he can maintain control over the car. One thing I particularly appreciate is the solidity and rigidity of the body structure. The car feels all of a piece. What differentiates the Golf from everything else near its price and size is that it's a real driver's car, with the kind of handling, brakes, steering and suspension that will deliver on Germany's autobahns at 100+ miles/hour. The fine and balanced combination of power with economy (especially with the turbocharged diesel motor), finish and materials quality, and outstanding behaviour on the road makes the Golf a must if you're a driver who enjoys and practices the art of driving. No other land builds cars as well as Germany does, and VWs stand out because they make those great German qualities available to people of moderate means?and the people have never had it so good!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new car!

by Kimberly from Pittsburgh pa on Wed Oct 16 2013

I bought the basic model and I absolutely love it! It is very affordable. The engine is very powerful. Great control and visibility. I actually feel safer and live to drive now! The salesmen showed me how strong it was, he leaned up on the door, tried to dent it, I was impressed. Too bad after the sale he snubbed me and didn't have it washed or cleaned. But otherwise the car was worth it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Everything was OK until......

by Golf No More from Worcester, MA on Tue May 17 2016

This car was pretty good until earlier this year when my floorboards were soaked from water coming from my sunroof drains - I didn't even know sunroofs had drains until I owned this car. And I've had 3 other cars with sunroofs. This essentially RUINED my car. Even after VW said they fixed it - I still was finding mystery water in my trunk (with my spare tire). Car smelled like a swamp. Had to replace the whole carpet and it still had a smell. Covered it in febreeze and traded it in - no thanks to VW for their help with fixing or solving the issue either. My dealer was terrible and had zero interest in helping me save this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Little Car

by TDI Owner from Los Angeles, CA on Sat May 04 2013

This car came with the Tech Package, which gives you the Nav, sunroof, xenon lights, and keyless entry and start. At bit bewildering that the full power seats and leather trim are not even an option on the TDI. The DSG takes a while to get used to as it is basically a dry clutchplate (two at that) manual transmission that doesn't have a clutch pedal but is fully automatic in shifting. I have never felt a more traditional automatic transmission downshift the way this one does while you are going down a hill with your foot off the throttle pedal, not a bad thing, just different. There are TWO ways to manually select the gears, through two switches on the steering wheel or by placing the floor mounted gear selector lever to a manual shift detent. I really have to wonder how much people all really going to use these features, but they are there for you. Throttle tip in is a little bit on the slow side, but again not a bad thing, you just have to get used to it. Nav screen is on the small side but there is a repeater display between the speedometer and tach that uses symbols and arrows to display turns so in combination to the Nav screen it works great. Air Conditioning is completely manual and auto climate control is not offered. You may want to wait and look at the 2014 Golf if you are in the market as I understand it is a redesign from the 2013. However, if you can get a good deal on a 2013 I would say go for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

vw golf for seniors

by reliable auto owner from Kingman, Az on Thu Dec 12 2013

good car with only 1 fault, Should have bought a 4 door, doors are too wide for easy parking without hitting other cars, Otherwise every thing is fine. Good ride,good economy and is fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Golf

by Golf Driver from on Mon Apr 21 2014

I traded in a nice but bulky SUV and have never regretted it. I have the two-door standard version and although I would have preferred the four-doors, it has worked out fine giving my 8-year-old plenty of room in the back seat. It is sturdy, fun to drive, and has a lot of personality. I plan on keeping this car for a very long time - it is a part of our family!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great ride and a great car!

by Tony in Florida from Naples, Florida on Mon Jun 16 2014

This is the Golf TDI , two door hatchback, six speed manual, and of coarse a diesel. Me, a semi-retired car enthusiast who owned many technically interesting cars. I have this car as my daily runabout driver for over a year now and use it primarily in town with a weekly 40 mile interstate drive at speeds around 75-80. I'm getting an overall mileage of 38 mpg and on the interstate 45. Driving this car makes me feel young again, more fun than even the Saab 900, Audi A4, and BMW 530i (all manual trans.); not as comfortable for an aging butt, though. With the rear seat back rest down you can carry an amazing amount of cargo. The car is very stable at speed and has great acceleration in town since peak torque comes real early 1750-3000 rpm (diesel for you!). The only thing I had to add is a seat cushion for the driver seat to help with getting in and out of the car. It's a real shame they don't import the two door diesel to the US anymore.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 TDI

by STS from St. Louis, Missouri on Thu Oct 01 2015

I have a 2011 Golf TDI with the manual transmission. 80,000 plus trouble free miles. An excellent car in every way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid workmanship

by rscooper152 from Newmarket, Ontario on Tue Apr 25 2017

I've owned my 2013 Golf wagon tdi since September 2012 and I'm extremely happy with it. Unfortunately the car is going back to VW due to the diesel emissions issue very soon. That aside, the car has been solid and trouble free. If I didn't need something larger now, I'd gladly replace it with a new Allroad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3