2012 Golf R

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volkswagen Golf R

$14,945 - $24,585  MSRP Range
2012 Volkswagen Golf R

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volkswagen Golf R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Superb car

by Camvw from Cambridge ma on Sat Feb 01 2014

You'll read a lot about how the performance of the golf doesn't match the Mitsubishi and Subaru (which I have owned). They might be right,on the track, but what is this car really designed for ? Fast,fun driving in a small car that can comfortably seat five adults. Can't say more than that. Very well built, handles great, more comfortable than the subbie and certainly better put together. More subtle than either. Just a great niche car, if you want this kind of vehicle and are prepared to pay the premium.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Car

by Long Time VW Fan from Saint Paul, MN on Wed Apr 01 2015

I can't say enough good things about this car. It feels solid. The interior is spot on. The ergonomics are superb. True German design. I love that on the outside it looks....to the untrained eye....like another VW. It looks stylish. Not "boy racer" like some of its competitors. On the road, you can do whatever you want. It roars. The power to weight ration is fantastic. The handling is excellent. It is the GTI....perfected. I would choose this over an Audi A3 or A4 any day. I've heard S4 owners that prefer their R.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Now I understand why it's a $36,000 car.

by Amir D from Glenview, IL on Fri Apr 19 2013

The best vehicle I have ever driven and certainly the best vehicle I have ever owned. It's a perfect balance between performance and convenience. Extremely comfortable, quiet, powerful, loaded with features, stylish, fit and finish is superb, did I mention it is very fast and efficient? Perfect for a long road-trip or a quick drive with your buddies. Great potential for upgrades as well. Solid & reliable Volkswagen engineering. I LOVE THIS CAR. Best Golf to date. This is a better and smarter buy than any WRX or EVO. This car is actually made out of metal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid car and power plant

by John from Sterling heights on Fri Jan 19 2018

Very good bang for the buck. Really gives you a great deal of control. There are not a lot of manual cars with this much character.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Get one

by JesseP from Parker on Thu Apr 27 2017

This car is comfy, great sounding, fun to drive, and for the price you cant beat it. However, the lack of exterior mods is a bust. That doesnt stop the fact though that this car is amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fine german engineering

by bro from texas on Mon Apr 16 2012

i am totally satisfied with the car. for less than 1000 bucks you can have it about 320 hp and it is plenty fast enough. take off the traction control, pin it around a corner and the back end will come out! handles like a porchse cayman, hence the cayman suspension. smooth shifts, loud turbo, nice exhaust rumbles, etc, etc. good stuff. qlso a previous owner of a 2010 GTI

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grown-up fun

by agk from Washington, D.C. on Mon May 14 2012

It's much more civilized than my Mini Cooper S but much more fun than my Audi S4. It's just about the perfect balance between the two which is what I wanted. The Haldex awd really tames the torque steer. The seats and steering wheel are perfect. Very fun to drive and very practical to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sports car in sheeps clothing

by Pete from Kansas from NE Kansas on Wed May 02 2012

We traded in a 2011 GTI for this carbon steel gray R. Although somewhat pricey, it is actually inexpensive for what you get: AWD, 250 HP, four doors, real seating for four adults, super tight handling and fantastic off the line performance. Our other cars are a 2010 RX-8 R3 and a 2006 Subaru OUtrback 2.5 XT, so we know something about AWD and performance automobiles. The R is a standout in every way, but it is not a boy-racer. We test drove Subaru WRX-STi, Evo, Ralliart, Mazda Speed 3, 350Z and some others, and picked the VW GTI - it was not perfect, but better than the rest. Now with the R we got even closer to perfection!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If you have the means, I highly recommend...

by DrJ from Columbia, SC on Mon Apr 09 2012

This car does everything you want it to do. It's fast, responsive, agile, comfortable, and it doesn't make you look like a douche when you're driving it. It's almost the perfect car. I recommend it for the thirty-something professional that wants a sports car without looking like he/she "needs" a sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1972 Beetle

by Puddle Jumper from Charleston,WV on Mon May 07 2012

The only drawback on the 2012 VW Golf R AWD, is the gas mileage is not as good as it should be.That may be due to the car being AWD,turbocharged or just being a performance car.It is definitely quick for a 4 cylinder but,I still don,t think it is as quick as the 2008 V-6 turbocharged Golf R32.I have had both and I would take the R32 over the R. even though they are both fantastic and fun vehicles to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 Volkswagen Golf R

Today, you can find a 500-horsepower muscle car for around $50,000, or you can opt for something sporty and inexpensive, like Subaru's new BR-Z. Cars like the new Golf R from Volkswagen fall somewhere in between.

The 2012 Volkswagen Golf R certainly packs performance, but I'm not sure if the packaging or price make much sense outside a very small niche of shoppers.

Performance
At its core, this is still a VW Golf. The R is available as a two- or four-door hatchback, and so is VW's popular GTI. The biggest difference, though, is that the R is the only Golf with all-wheel drive.

While the GTI makes 200 hp, the R puts out 256 hp from the same turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder. The GTI's 207 pounds-feet of... Read More