Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Jetta

Consumer Reviews

1999 Volkswagen Jetta

$216 - $5,108  MSRP Range
1999 Volkswagen Jetta

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

15 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Volkswagen Jetta?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

99 VW Jetta

by car lover from Budd Lake, NJ on Tue Oct 26 2010

The car had only 76000 miles on it. My son uses it for college and it been good so far. The car handles excellent on the highway, has plenty on power for a 4 cylinder. The ride on broken roads is a little rough. But overall a very good car, The air works fine and comes equipped with alarm, power windows and door locks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good looking comfortable car, with problems

by Kickdown-169 from Germany on Thu May 13 2010

We purchased the Jetta 2.0 automatic with 52.000 miles in 2006 and sold it 2008 with 78.000 miles on it. We had a lot of fun with this car, its comfortable, the interior with wood trim looks very nice and its a safe car too. But the Jetta also makes a few problems, we had many eletronical issues with the power windows, the door locking, the alarm system. We fixed the air mass flow meter (twice), the damper flap and the seat heating.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ok Car it Could Be Better

by CMS from Sacramento, CA on Tue Mar 03 2009

I bought my 1999 VW Jetta used with 22,000 miles on it, and for the most part it has been a reliable car. I have kept up a regular maintenance schedule, and it's now at 75,000 miles. The bad: it has what I would consider an abundance of problems not related to wear: brake lights won't turn off (fixed 3 times, covered by warranty each time); fuel mix error (paid for engine light checks 3 times before I figured out the problem and they fixed it); and rear door lock (2 times). This seems, to me anyway, to be more than my previous car (Japanese maker) ever had. In addition as a previous reviewer mentioned I have had my catalytic converter replaced (covered by warranty at around 50,000 miles) but the car has always passed CA smog. Another odd repair, my heater smelled like maple syrup, come to find out that would be freeon, that was not a cheap repair (had to remove dash). Of course it should be noted that these repairs have occured over a 8 year period. Other stuff I've noticed: It's a little wonky in the rain, for some reason it feels like it slips on wet leaves when you accelerate from a stop, it's loud inside; provides a slightly bumpy ride; it's small inside, this car is definitely made for short people and honestly while there are 5 seats, that would really be 4 short adults. If you place 2 kids car seats in the back that would mean no one can sit in the front passenger seat (unless they're comfortable kissing dashboard). So what redeems this car from all those repairs in addition to the regular wear and tear repairs? Oh it is so much fun to drive, it is quick, if you hit the gas it goes, if you need to stop on a dime, it stops on a dime. It has a very small wheel base so it parallel parks very easily, it fits in my tiny one car garage. A very good car if you live in a city.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it!!

by regular person from on Fri Mar 25 2011

we got our 99 jetta and i drove it for 8 years without even knowing that it had a broken transmission it drove so well even though i never did repairs on it, to be honest this thing would drive with three wheels and it did when my tire popped on the highway. it always got me to and from where i needed to go i love my jetta <3 its overall a very strong car i would recommend it to anyone

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Mechanic1 from Princeton NJ on Fri Jan 16 2009

I had a Jetta for years and loved it. It drove great and looked pretty cool! My wife always wanted to drive it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car in the World!

by Nicky from Columbus, GA on Mon Aug 13 2007

I recommend this car to anyone! I still have my 99 and have over 200,000 miles on it! Still rides smooth! Never has broken down, just new battery and everything else is still original!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Love This Car!

by Jetta Lover from on Mon Jul 27 2015

This is by far my favourite car to drive. Bought it as my first car. Previously had driven a Mazda 3, Pontiac Grand Prix, Ford Escape, Ford F-150, and I love my Jetta overall. I have a 5-speed manual transmission and it's GREAT on gas, shifts very smoothly, and is very reliable. I would recommend this car to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love german cars!

by Samuel from Worcester on Fri Jan 05 2007

this car is so much better than the gen III . better frame and looks. and fun to drive! though i have had a few problems early on, but after 110,000 i havent had a problem yet, and im pushing close to 160 this month.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I laugh at the Gas stations...

by Ghost from new york, new york on Tue Dec 02 2008

99.5' MK4 GLS with a 5spd manual stick let me tell you this 4cyl. 2.0L has held up and done everything i wanted a car to do, plus more. Rear cup holders are a suprise, vanity lights are a plus, side airbags are a huge saftey feature...i mean, this car pretty much has it all, even in base form. The GLS form adds power windows, power brakes, ABS, all the powerd features that help against those 1980's roll-up style windows. This car gets 24mpg city driving, using 87' octane..got it to 31mpg cruising at 70mph. I have 119k on this car and all it just needed was simple service like the timing belt and water pump, tires and oil changes. Never left he stranded, never regreted it. Id buy another one tomorrow. Even over a BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by John from Rhode Island on Sat Jan 06 2007

I've owned a 99 Jetta for about 4 years so far and it has been a great car. As long as you do the simple oil change and regular maitenence it seems to be fine. I've heard alot of rumors about this model not being as good as the old ones. HA this one actually has a stronger frame and for features and most of all doesnt look like a box.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Volkswagen Jetta

Volkswagen's compact Jetta is one of the big success stories of the '90s. Without fanfare, Jetta has become the top-selling European vehicle in North America, as well as VW's most popular model.

Formerly, Jetta was little more than a Golf (or earlier Rabbit) with a trunk. Now in its fourth generation, the completely restyled '99 Jetta has an attractive new body with the aero look of the bigger Passat, becoming more distinctive while retaining its mission as a sophisticated and value-laden small car.

As its "Driver's Wanted" ad campaign notes, Volkswagen aspires to build sporty road cars for spirited driving. In recent years, VW has earned the reputation as a proletariat BMW, bringing to the midpriced... Read More