2005 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2005 Volkswagen New Beetle

$1,775 - $8,495  MSRP Range
2005 Volkswagen New Beetle

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

19 Reviews
74% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2005 Volkswagen New Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love This Car

by KT484U from Lexington, N.C. on October 31, 2011

I just love this car. I think the style and performance are great. I have so far had no problems with this car and it has 92k miles. It is fun to drive and I get compliments on it everywhere I go.Gas mileage is awsome. Only perk is the oil changes, synthetic oil is a little costly, but you do get to go 5k between changes. I would recommend this car if you are looking for a fun in the sun type car. Put the top down and let the wind blow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love At First Sight

by Heather DJ from Omaha, NE on October 20, 2010

I live in NE, where we had snow on the ground for almost 6 months last winter! (2009-2010) My little Beetle was a champ! As good or better than any vehicle I've owned! My Beetle is super quiet! I expected some road noise with the top...but nope! The leather-heated seats are amazing! The sound-system is wonderful! The top goes up and down really fast! Seriously...LOVE the car. I wish they didn't stop making them, so I could own one for the rest of my life. I read the reviews about things breaking? I haven't had this problem at all! But, I do take care of the car (Because I love it!) I don't go through automatic car washes. (Always hand wash to protect the integrity of the top and the water seal.) I always open/shut the doors carefully (To allow the automatic windows to adjust.) I try at all costs to avoid pot-holes, so I don't loosen or rattle the vehicle. I basically treat the car like my prized possesion. (Which she is!) I'm at 44k and hope this is just the begining! I would love to have this car for the next 20 years! Seriously!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Car that is lots of FUN

by Beetle Owner from Atlanta, GA on December 5, 2010

If you are looking for a great convertible then look no farther. It is more spacious than you would think. My wife, 2 kids, and myself fit very well. There is not a better car to enjoy sunny days. This car is simply great. We have enjoyed it very much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a fun car!!!

by SueT from Mountain Home, AR on May 1, 2010

I love my TDI GLS beetle. Not only does it save on fuel (avg. 44 mpg), it has plenty of room. It has everything that I want. The only wish that I have is, I wish that the car would sit higher from the ground. Loads of fun to drive and it just makes people smile. What a happy ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car to own

by Bug Boy from Rockville MD on May 21, 2009

I bought a 2005 Turbo Convertible and it has been a wonderful car. I just replaced my first set of tires at 47000 miles. The radio is incredible compared to other cars in this price range. I put the top down and just relax.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I just feel good driving this car :-)

by Herbie Lover from Texas on February 12, 2007

Well, I must say this is is a great car! It feels good, handles very nice, and always brings me home, she is my little Herbie. All I can say is yes, yes, yes to all the people. Buy one and be happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I've owned.

by Ladybug from Shoreham, New York on March 13, 2011

love the car. It's great on gas. Comfortable. Adorable. The convertible top is easy to open & close. Would highly recommend this car to my friends. Has a good, smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

used to love it

by JV from Indianapolis, IN on March 24, 2018

Used to love our 2005 Beetle. But at 80,000 miles the transmission needed to be replaced. That is ridiculous. So much for German engineering. Come to find out that VW Beetles from the early 2000s are notorious for transmission failures. I am now an unhappy former VW owner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Cute car.

by Truthscat from Mechanicsville, VA on April 23, 2017

The car has problems but all of them were disclosed by the seller. The car is fun to drive and gets lots of compliments.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous VW conv from little old lady frm Pasadena

by VW convertible lover from Phoenix, AZ on January 22, 2013

This car has been babied in the AZ sun by keeping it in the garage year-round and driving it very little. The little old couple who drove it could no longer enjoy it together after he passed away, so she traded it for a brand new Camaro! She opted to trade quaint cuteness for SPEED and turn a different set of heads a different direction, I suppose. This car has not a speck of damage to the top or the finish. It needed a few little things, and she is checking her storage area to find us the cover for the top when it's down and the mesh piece that fits over the backseat and somehow keeps one's hair from blowing all over. The seats heat individually which is so nice in the desert winter. There is nothing so nice as a cold night with the top down and your body nice and toasty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2