2010 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews
2010 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle
4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

14 Reviews
2010 Volkswagen New Beetle
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great small car for a tall guy

by Beetle Guy from Chicago on February 15, 2011

This is the second New Beetle I have owned. It is a great car for really tall drivers and passengers. I am 6' 9" tall and there are very few small cars I can be comfortable in. The curved roof of the New Beetle is great. I have several inches above my head and the seat moves way back. The 2.5L gives great performance and acceptable gas mileage (30 mpg on the highway. Leather interior on the 2010 is great. Very comfortable on long trips. Car is fun to drive and great conversation starter. We got ours in bright yellow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Red Bug from Bellevue, WA on April 23, 2010

This is my second bug convertible. There are small issues with the auto up windows, but overall the car is fun to drive, comfortable and more practical than it looks. People still smile when they see a new beetle convertible and tons of people relate their, "I used to have one in.....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

its a shame vw stopped making this car

by Sue from Palmer, AK on October 13, 2010

i got a brand new bug and I love it. It is the cutest little thing I ever seen. It rides very well and it has a lot of pickup for such little car, its much faster than my old car a 2005 Toyota Camry.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it but.....

by Volkswagen owner 3rd time from Pasadena Ca on March 20, 2011

So far, I love the 2010 Volkswagen New Beetle. The gas mileage though is bad! The interior is very nice, it's quiet, smooth and well made.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Red Rock Edition VW Beetle Rocks

by VW fan Kevin from Bothell, WA on January 15, 2014

I was initially looking for a 3-4 year old GTI or Golf, but in my price range they were all high mileage. Also, I kept running into rebranded (totaled rebuilti and then retitled) GTIs so I wonder if a lot of people are lured into driving beyond the car's and own driving abilities. I wanted something $15K or less, with less than 50K miles. When I expanded my search to all VWs this popped up. If you like VWs and don't need 4 doors, this is a great car for singles or childless couples. For the same amount of money this had lower mileage (28K) and it looked like new. Ir replaces a 1989 VW Cabriolet. Though I will miss not having a convertible, this has a sunroof, and is a kick to drive. It has more power and pep than the old Cabriolet, AT, power everything, and a good stereo. Though it does not have Bluetooth or direct iPhone/iPod connectivity or USB port, it has a line in mini jack. Still works great with that. 5 cylinder 2.5L engine is pretty smooth but not quite the same hum and feel as the older 4 cylinder. But it has punch when you need it and gets up to speed with little effort. The AT shifting is smooth. Road noise is a little higher than I'd like at highway speeds, do not know if it is due to the original OEM tires and wheels, or just poor soundproofing in the body. Seats are quite comfortable, and tilting the front seats forward for back seat access is quick and easy. Access to the front seats is excellent. My wife occasionally needs to transport her mother to doctor appointments and it was very easy getting her in and out of the front seat from a wheelchair because the door opening is wide and low to the ground. Wheelchair when folded fit fine in the trunk area. Small nit: the release for the trunk does not pop all the way. It partially unlatches, you have to pull the trunk lid up a little, click the trunk unlock again, and it fully releases. Have not checked with dealer to see if I am doing something wrong or if this is something that is easily fixed. Guys, if you are worried that this a "chick's" car, put some nice wheels on it that are more rugged than cute. Shortly after buying this, my sister bought a new 2013 Beetle convertible. She likes hers a lot too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Beetle Lover from Englewood, Fl on September 27, 2017

My 2010 New Beetle was a great car. I had just taken two trips with it, and it performed fabulously and got great mileage. Went up hills without breaking a sweat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great choice for inexpensive style and fun!

by vwdad from Menlo Park, California on December 21, 2017

This is really a very good car. It is clearly not designed for a lot of general purpose use but for a fun, casual car to tool around in on a nice day it's hard to beat for the money. It is in excellent condition but not being used much now that my daughters have moved away.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Clean, great running, and nice handling vehicle.

by Graysy002 from Wake Forest, NC on December 14, 2017

Roomier than I ever expected from what one would consider a small vehicle. Handles well in all traffic situations. Fantastic on gas mileage - 30+MPG...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute and exciting to drive

by Eagle1988 on March 19, 2018

very good mileage, fun to drive, looks really cute. Great car for couples, Retirees, and the Beetle has a decades old following. Best fun car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Old guy, Old style

by Michael from Denver, Colorado on July 20, 2013

I am an old guy and this is my 5th convertible. The Beetle is not a sports car, but living in Colorado front wheel drive Convertibles are few. Mine was a lease return with 21,000 miles. I took it to the mountains and was inpressed with the performance of the motor and transmission. I have read complaints about the rear view. I just adjusted the seat up and have no problems. At 75mph in the mountains I got 29.3 mpg. The heated seats work great and the car is fun to drive in my opionion. Hey, it's a Beetle, I bought it. :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2010 Volkswagen New Beetle