2001 Passat

Consumer Reviews
2001 Volkswagen Passat

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

34 Reviews
2001 Volkswagen Passat
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, Smooth ride

by Matt from San Diego on November 26, 2010

What I like: This car drives handles very well and is a smooth ride. It has so many fun features including Tip-Tronic, heated seats, and power moon roof/sun roof. I lived in Colorado in the snow and this car handles really really well with All Wheel drive and anti-lock brakes. Very high safety rating with 6 front air bags. What I didn't like: Not great gas mileage 18 City, 24 HWY. Uncomfortable seats if your driving longer than 30 minutes which I did a lot.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun and safe!

by EngineTim from on May 19, 2010

One of the safest cars available during that year. Handling with the AWD is absolutely amazing! The V6 with the TipTronic transmission is fun, and quick. More options then you'll truly ever need in a vehicle, which adds that the car is a great value, not easy finding a car with AWD, Navigation, Leather heated seats etc. for under $10,000

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Too many problems to entertain

by Family car enthusiast from Chicago, IL on September 4, 2007

I thought this car was great till everything started breaking down. We've owned it for about 3 years now and have put in about $2500.00. Not just things like replacing a timing belt which one should expect for a car with a lot of miles, but the computer goes nuts from time to time with "Emissions Test", or "Stop Now", or other warning. There have been too many problems with this car to list here, and each one is incredibly expensive to repair. One good thing: unlike other cars which may just stop on the road, this car gives you ample warning, and the response really decreases giving you ever indication that the car is having trouble. For example, your brakes won't work well in reverse (good luck parallel parking), and you won't accelerate easily during one these spells. THis sounds bad, but note that other cars may just quit on you without warning. I really love this car, but the trouble is not worth it in the long run, and you're better off going with either another over-engineered German, or a Honda/Acura/Lexus family for peace of mind. As a woman with children, peace of mind is critically important to me when it comes to vehicles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Handling

by Volksy from Hopkinton, MA on September 7, 2011

I own a 2001 Passat 4Motion that now has over 170,000 miles and still runs great. The car is comfortable, quick, and has all the features you would want, but I've been most impressed by the AWD handling and its consequently excellent handling in the bad weather we often get in the Northeast. Rain, snow, ice - it just keeps going. The list price for a new one is a bit steep, but I got mine used - one owner, low miles, good CarFax report - and I've loved it ever since. One problem - they don't make Passat 4Motions any more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Lots of Maintenance

by zizzle from on May 6, 2009

seemed as though I had 2 monthly car payments with vehicle. I constantly burned through different sensors every other month. $115/ Month in avg repairs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice Automobile...

by BlueRover from Stratham, NH on September 15, 2012

What a great year for the VW Passat! Comfortable...reliable...and a very fast V6 engine.... Our has 105000 miles and runs great! If your looking for a great used car, Consider a VW Passat V6

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car I have ever had

by Passat lover from Wichita KS on June 26, 2009

The 2001 Passat is a beautiful car. The exterior finish is like nothing I have ever seen before. The finish is just as beautiful as the day it was new. It has class but also is a bit on the sporty side. The turbo gives it all the kick you need in an emergency situation. It is a solid car that handles wonderfully and has a smooth ride. I have kept this car longer than any other I have ever owned just because it is truly a beautiful car. It just never seems to age!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VW Owner for life

by Charles J Schaller from Brunswick, GA on September 13, 2006

When I purchased this car it had 4 owners before me. After A good cleaning and spending a little money at a VW dealer people ask me if the car is new. VW and german cars all together may be more expensive but worth every penny...I have become a German car owner for life...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impressively splendid!

by VW Fan from Maryland on June 10, 2014

Though I have only owned this car for less than a month, there is much to say. Beginning with the drive, which is so smooth and has an excellent turning radius. The exterior of the VW Passat is simple, yet classy. The all leather interior is gorgeous and comfortable if driving for less than an hour. The sound system and features are splendid and music can truly be appreciated in this car. All in all this is an excellent car to own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice Car on the Outside, Rotten on the Inside

by RTF331 from Chicago, IL on July 11, 2009

The car has great external styling, comfort, performance, and handling as all German cars do. However, VW really dropped the ball for this model. The reliability is absolutely terrible. I'm sure part of the reason is that I bought it used and the previous owners did not maintain it, but there were problems that were completely inexcusable. Example: The sun roof drains always clog causing water buildup in the floor boards. The Transmission computer is located in the floor boards and consequently gets soaked causing a $2600 repair. DO NOT BUY this model. Buy a newer passat. I will never give my hard earned money to VW again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2001 Volkswagen Passat