2001 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2001 Volkswagen Passat

$613 - $5,785  MSRP Range
2001 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

34 Reviews
65% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, Smooth ride

by Matt from San Diego on Fri Nov 26 2010

What I like: This car drives handles very well and is a smooth ride. It has so many fun features including Tip-Tronic, heated seats, and power moon roof/sun roof. I lived in Colorado in the snow and this car handles really really well with All Wheel drive and anti-lock brakes. Very high safety rating with 6 front air bags. What I didn't like: Not great gas mileage 18 City, 24 HWY. Uncomfortable seats if your driving longer than 30 minutes which I did a lot.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun and safe!

by EngineTim from on Wed May 19 2010

One of the safest cars available during that year. Handling with the AWD is absolutely amazing! The V6 with the TipTronic transmission is fun, and quick. More options then you'll truly ever need in a vehicle, which adds that the car is a great value, not easy finding a car with AWD, Navigation, Leather heated seats etc. for under $10,000

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Handling

by Volksy from Hopkinton, MA on Wed Sep 07 2011

I own a 2001 Passat 4Motion that now has over 170,000 miles and still runs great. The car is comfortable, quick, and has all the features you would want, but I've been most impressed by the AWD handling and its consequently excellent handling in the bad weather we often get in the Northeast. Rain, snow, ice - it just keeps going. The list price for a new one is a bit steep, but I got mine used - one owner, low miles, good CarFax report - and I've loved it ever since. One problem - they don't make Passat 4Motions any more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Lots of Maintenance

by zizzle from on Wed May 06 2009

seemed as though I had 2 monthly car payments with vehicle. I constantly burned through different sensors every other month. $115/ Month in avg repairs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, comfortable, and stylish

by nasahrsandi9 from Long Island, New York on Sun Mar 04 2018

I own a 2001.5 V6 4motion GLX sedan. So far the car has been very reliable. Ive owned it since DEC2016 Has never failed to start once. Ive only had to do preventive/basic maintance. The car looks great and is a joy drive because of how quiet and smooth it runs. At times you will not even feel or hear the engine running, and when you do its a very pleasent sound. The V6 has a good amount of torque but the car is slightly heavy. The great thing is overall the Passat has a very solid substantial feel on the road, you feel confident and safe when driving it. Its also an excellent highway cruiser. The main problem these cars have (especially the V6 models) is very slight coolant and engine oil leaks which can be fixed by getting gaskets seals and hoses replaced. The car is worth the cost to buy and get the leaks fixed if you can afford it. Besides that for a german engineered car these vehicles seem to be very reliable. The only thing expensive on them is labor cost because to do anything under the hood, basically the entire front end has to come off. If you can afford the maintance and the gas for the V6 (premium fuel 15mpg city) This car is worth it. It drives like an audi for the fraction of the price. I would go for a fully loaded model with the 4motion awd system. That system basically transforms the vehicle. This is a vehicle with a very premium feel and drive at a very low price. Just test drive one, it might suprise you. The first time i test drove my candy white passat (gorgeous but rare color) i was not only shocked by how nice it was but I was sold, I had to have it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice Automobile...

by BlueRover from Stratham, NH on Sat Sep 15 2012

What a great year for the VW Passat! Comfortable...reliable...and a very fast V6 engine.... Our has 105000 miles and runs great! If your looking for a great used car, Consider a VW Passat V6

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car I have ever had

by Passat lover from Wichita KS on Fri Jun 26 2009

The 2001 Passat is a beautiful car. The exterior finish is like nothing I have ever seen before. The finish is just as beautiful as the day it was new. It has class but also is a bit on the sporty side. The turbo gives it all the kick you need in an emergency situation. It is a solid car that handles wonderfully and has a smooth ride. I have kept this car longer than any other I have ever owned just because it is truly a beautiful car. It just never seems to age!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VW Owner for life

by Charles J Schaller from Brunswick, GA on Wed Sep 13 2006

When I purchased this car it had 4 owners before me. After A good cleaning and spending a little money at a VW dealer people ask me if the car is new. VW and german cars all together may be more expensive but worth every penny...I have become a German car owner for life...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impressively splendid!

by VW Fan from Maryland on Tue Jun 10 2014

Though I have only owned this car for less than a month, there is much to say. Beginning with the drive, which is so smooth and has an excellent turning radius. The exterior of the VW Passat is simple, yet classy. The all leather interior is gorgeous and comfortable if driving for less than an hour. The sound system and features are splendid and music can truly be appreciated in this car. All in all this is an excellent car to own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice Car on the Outside, Rotten on the Inside

by RTF331 from Chicago, IL on Sat Jul 11 2009

The car has great external styling, comfort, performance, and handling as all German cars do. However, VW really dropped the ball for this model. The reliability is absolutely terrible. I'm sure part of the reason is that I bought it used and the previous owners did not maintain it, but there were problems that were completely inexcusable. Example: The sun roof drains always clog causing water buildup in the floor boards. The Transmission computer is located in the floor boards and consequently gets soaked causing a $2600 repair. DO NOT BUY this model. Buy a newer passat. I will never give my hard earned money to VW again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2001 Volkswagen Passat

A Dearborn reader wrote to us recently about some automotive arguments

taking place in his household.

"We have two kids and two separate ideas about vehicles," this husband and father admits.

It seems that he loves sport-utility vehicles. But his wife hates them. Sedans seem boring, plus they don't feel roomy enough. A good compromise vehicle? A station wagon, they agree. In fact, they bought one. And now the couple are arguing about which one they should purchase next.

In the interest of defusing future marital spats, we wondered: What could make a meat-and-potatoes station wagon more palatable to moms and dads than giving it a little European panache? With that in mind, we plunged headlong... Read More