2007 Rabbit

Consumer Reviews

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit

$2,719 - $7,899  MSRP Range
2007 Volkswagen Rabbit

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

47 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Volkswagen Rabbit?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Another great VW!!!

by Thumper from Catonsville, Maryland on Fri Jul 08 2011

For anybody that is looking for a small vehicle to get better gas mileage without sacrificing the space of an SUV, this is the car for you. I have the two door version of the rabbit and i can fit 4 golf bags filled with clubs easily in the back. Even though you sacrifice the back seats, it would be good as a second car to carry groceries in etc... Performance wise, the car handles very well, as most VW's do....., very smooth ride yet just enough road feel and superb cornering. It is a little lacking on the hp side but not any where near underpowered. It can easily accelerate into traffic while maintaining decent gas mileage. Has nice low end torque and a pretty nice power band beginning about 2800 rpm's. A very nice commuting car, for those that like to have a little fun as well. It's no GTI or Scirocco , but the 2.5 gives just enough. I test drove a mazda 3, honda civic, hyundai tiburon and a chevy cobalt and by far this was the most complete car. Definately a must see!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The details make the car

by loving my rabbit from DC on Mon Oct 11 2010

I am so impressed with this car. On a technical level, the performance and reliability are excellent. My only complaint would be the fuel economy, which is poor in city, but not so bad on highways. What really makes the car, for me, in an era of cost-cutting and less emphasis on interior design, is the extra interior touches on this car. I think this is why people really fall in love with Volkswagon (in addition to the good technical profile and reliable nature).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Endorphine Rush!

by Waskally Wabbit from Philadelphia, Pa. on Fri Sep 21 2007

2007 VW Rabbit, 4 door A Genuine Inport that Delivers, at an entry price that's hard to beat. This car has really surpassed my expectations. Volkswagen Engineers somehow managed to pack all the features anyone could want in a car that handles everything the road throws it's way. It's a true driver's car with fit and finish that rivals cars in a much higher class. The addition of the rear suspension along with electronic stability control, electromagnetic steering assist, tiptronic shifter and antilock brake systems that work together seamlessly to give the driver just the right balance of road feel and a ride that bests everything in it's class. The epa estimates are lower than what my actual mileage has been, 25 city 32 highway, if there's anything Volkswagen could do better, someone tell me what it is. Save the bunny for the last test drive and you'll quickly see why.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking hatchback available

by Emily from Baltimore on Fri Apr 17 2009

I went from a '95 Dodge Caravan to this small hatch and it was the smoothest transition. The car performs well, it looks stunning (just not in what they call "sage") and it comes with more features standard then you can get in any other compact car. It is a little expensive to maintain if you take it to a dealership, but if you get a new one, they all come with 3 years free!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Buy

by bjohnson from Vancouver, CA on Thu Nov 27 2008

I've had this car for around a year. It's been great! no problems, good on gas, fun to drive and good looking!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth Naming: You will fall in love!

by B-Brandom from Terre Haute, IN on Fri Feb 09 2007

"I'm in Love with My Car." Queen took the words right out of my mouth. This car rocks! I can pull BMW-esque turns in this car, and peel out from a stop with the smooth inline FIVE and 6-spd auto! And, I know one of you is reading these just to know about real-world fuel economy, so here's how the EPA should have put it: 26 city, 33 highway. The standard features are so plentiful, the Golf makes a joke out of any Honda or Toyota. I call mine (when I'm not using his name) a Golf, because the sticker printed in my owner's manual says, "2007 Volkswagen Golf." Who knows why? The attention to detail in design is simply breathtaking: from the sound-deadening door-sill inserts, to the windshield contour and the things that keep rain water moving up instead of around. LUV VEE DUB. BUY A VW "RABBIT"!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sporty

by mr. Zippy from california losangeles on Sun Nov 06 2011

well if you want something thats sporty and fits in tight spces this is what you should get. There is one thing thats going to take your mind of this car. I have been rearended and the riper bill was over 900$. however it dosent gussel gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't go wrong

by veganwally from Downers Grove, IL., Chicago suburb on Thu Jan 22 2015

The best value for the money and very reliable! I have 150,000 miles on mine and what I've done was a flex pipe, 5 spark plug coils, some $20.00 vac. thing & oil filter housing gasket. One time recharged a/c, engine has no oil leaks or rust. But the local dealer in town where I bought it new was terrible had to file complaint with VW, they wanted $200.00 over and above signed contract. But still good little bunny!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for under $20k

by Civic Si driver from ETN on Sat Jan 26 2008

Hard to believe a car built in Germany with so many features for the $$$. No problems thus far on our 2007 4 dr 20,0000mi w/ ESP reasonable insurance rate. $400 optional 16 in wheeels, small price to pay for REAL wheels. Heated seats are included on our model, tilt/telescope wheel/ heated mirrors/CD changer (HD Radio) lots of interior space. 5 cyl sounded coarse at first, but now when I hear the whine of a Porsche go by, reminds me of my Rabbit(or does rabbit remind of Porsche, if only in sound)... Buy one before VW changes their mind about loosing money on each sold. This is the US version of the Golf V. The best thing is not seeing another one every single day!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So much fun.

by genevieve240 from Cambridge, ON on Wed Nov 14 2007

Just love my new Rabbit. As others have stated not as great on fuel as I would like but overall car makes up for that. Very spunky and lots of fun to drive. The heated seats are great and heat up a lot faster than the regular heat. Has a great stereo system too. Had a civic before this and really like the rabbit better already.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2007 Volkswagen Rabbit


It pains me to admit that I really kind of like it when automakers drag old model names out of the closet and slap them on the skin of a fresh, new automobile.

That's what Volkswagen did with the Rabbit, an old-school name reintroduced late in 2006 and rolling into the 2007 model year.

OK, before you purists tear into me, I totally get that this Rabbit is actually a fifth-generation VW Golf being marketed to the American public as a bunny hatchback.

So what? Volkswagen's Golf was marketed as the Rabbit to North American consumers from 1975 to 1984. I don't mind a little wordplay from a manufacturer trying to make a group of prospective buyers feel special.

And you have to love a 2007 car with a chrome image... Read More