Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 960

Consumer Reviews

1997 Volvo 960

$3,300 - $3,300  MSRP Range
1997 Volvo 960

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

7 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Volvo 960?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I like it so I call it Big PopPa!!!

by RSpi from Little Rock on Mon Feb 28 2011

The last of Volvo's best is what I like to think. Volvo still makes a good car, but not low maintenance as this one. I purchased mine about 2 years ago after I totaled one, a '95 model that looked exactly like it. I've owned several Volvos and call this one Big PopPa because it's the big daddy of them all. Very smooth quiet ride with great road feel. It holds it's own and gets me around town in class. I do ALL of my own maintenance, yes, including the timing belt. I picked up the car with only 53k on it and now have over 105k. I think it made the Cash for Clunkers list but I'm actually getting 25 mpg around town and 28 to 29 mpg (63 mph) on the highway. The exterior has held up very well and so has the interior. Good quality interior, built to outlast the parts suppliers. Common Issues: Power seat travel, Sway bar links, evaporator system age, sunroof leak. The Good: Very nice powerful stereo (deep sound), Nice cruiser, quiet, solid feel, safety features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

doctim11

by doctim11 from Shreveport, LA on Fri Apr 03 2009

Car always runs, minimal breakdowns/ repair problems. At 217k miles, it is just hitting its prime. In-line 3 liter straight six is an inherently sound motor design, this one is designed by Porsche (modular engine) but is uncomplicated by extra bells and whistles and is quite reliable as long as timing belt is changed every 70k miles. At 181hp, this tank could use some extra oomph (Volvos have been somewhat underpowered as a rule) but has enough power to pass slow-pokes easily. Interior is quite roomy, a full size sedan. It is also a tank, built heavy and safe and has performed better than most in MVC's. Not the flashiest set of wheels but it was bought 2nd hand for $7k, no note, have already put over 100k miles on it and plan to drive it for another few hundred thousand. With just regular maintenance, this car will go 500k miles, still look good and perform. It just keeps on giving back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

buying a 97' 960 in 2011

by cant believe myself from Cherry Hill, NJ on Wed Jan 05 2011

Just yesterday i picked up a 1997 volvo 960 to replace my aging 2001 pt. I have never driven a rear wheel drive full size volvo before and a 960. the car is a low mileaged 97 with just 94k. feel -- loved the interior and seats feels like a mercedes. handles -- feels like heavy GT sports sedan mileage-- cant say yet :) reliability-- too soon to say. over all-- I am happy and looking forward to put atleast 100k miles on this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real car for a real life

by Soccer mom from North Carolina on Fri Jun 23 2006

The last year of the full size station wagons, and it will hold a 4x8 sheet of plywood or a twin mattress. No slouch for ride and handling, but isn't that what Volvo's are about!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I likes it!

by dickerin from Houston, Texas on Wed Feb 25 2009

It is a luxury vehicle that can haul a load. I don't understand why anyone would drive an SUV when they could have the handling of a 960 wagon. Maintenance is priced toward the luxury range as well, but it is worth it when you are running with the big dogs on the open highways.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

somewhat good car

by msred from on Tue Aug 06 2013

the car is good except for leaking thru the manifold , runs ruff, the seat will not move up . broken . abs brake light stays on may need new booster. light stays on for the temp for outside.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car with room for hauling things

by Gmax1313 from greensboro,nc on Thu Oct 11 2018

i bought this car to use to haul dj equipment in . i desided rescently to retire . so i have 1 car to many and cant afford the insureance . i wish i could keep this car drives great ,handles and runs like a sports car , and rides well too .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1