2004 C70

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volvo C70

$1,648 - $8,112  MSRP Range
2004 Volvo C70

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Volvo C70?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2004 Volvo C70 LPT

by GR8RAYS from Phoenix on Thu Aug 26 2010

Nice convertible for the $. I drove both the High pressure Turbo and Light Pressue turbo and found the balanced power of the LPT more desirable than the additional power of the HPT due to the excessive torque steer in the latter. A little rickety, awful turn radius, and cheap cup holders but everything else has been great. Style, comfort, safety, are all top notch. With 2 kids, a fairly roomy back set too! For the money, no better deal out there if you can find one in nice shape with decent mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

3rd Volvo owner

by C70 from Atlanta on Mon Sep 17 2007

Bought the car used. It was owned by an older gentleman who took great care of the car. Great on the highway, but city streets can cause a great amount of body flex. Turn radius is poor. Owned last car for 10 years and 210K miles, hope this one will last just as long.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car.

by ponyexpresstown from Missouri on Sat Jan 15 2011

Mine is an lpt. I am a woman, and I purchased this car a year ago as my mid-life car. I absolutely love how it handles. You can take a 4-hour road trip, and it requires so little steering effort that you could actually fall asleep. It just tracks straight down the highway. It's no sucker for pickup either. You can punch it a little and it just flat out scats. It is so much fun. "Drivin' with the top down." The cup holder is very cheesy like another reviewer said. This is of little consequence. My only real issue, which is pretty big, is that sometimes the car just won't start. I have to sit there a few minutes and then try again. I haven't been able to get this resolved yet. I've been told it could be a sensor. You really can't go any distance or in cold weather with this issue. I REALLY hope I can resolve this inexpensively because I REALLY love this car. For the money, I don't think you can do better for a foreign car with a luxurious foreign feel. I also have two teenage sons, and they don't hate the leg room in the back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Cat

by It always better with the top down from Iowa on Mon Aug 18 2014

I have had my 2004 C70 HT for three years and couldn't be happier with it. It looks and drives great. I get compliments all the time from people that can't believe it's 10 years old. I owned a SAAB 93 convertible previously and was constantly chasing check engine lights. The Volvo hasn't had a single mechanical issue since I bought it. It has all the power the front drive layout can handle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love it! My first convertible.. :)

by Michigander from Metro Detroit on Mon Apr 16 2012

Previous owner kept my Volvo in perfect condition and enhanced it with stabilizers, bigger brakes, better shocks, etc. It's like new. I have the lower pressure Turbo charged engine which is just fine. Plenty of power and I get 25 mph city and 30 highway. The only negatives: lousy cupholders, difficult access to center console which could have been built a bit higher and deeper. The tilt and scope steering wheel range of change is minimal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

04 C70

by Cheap Guy from Denver CO on Thu Jul 07 2011

Accelerates and stops like a race car. Turns like a Town Car. A little torque steer - at the worst times. All electric all auto everything is a little much. Sort of like the F-111 D. When it works everything is awesome. When it doesn't, it would be easier to not have the electrics. (top, mirror defrost,) Love the DTL and overall feel. I paid less than 10k for a 6 yr old car with 60k miles. A bargain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love - with the top down!

by Lovemycar from Minneapolis, MN on Tue Jun 20 2017

This car has been fun and functional; super way to enjoy the summer and good in the winter too. The sound system is great and the seats comfy - love the heated feature.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

14 Years later..

by GardenLily from Tampa, Fl on Sun May 20 2018

So -what's it like 14 years later (and 48K miles)? A quick background - this is my wife's car, we live in Florida, and it's garaged. Pros - It's still a very good looking car and turns heads. It's been very reliable mechanically. It has not been expensive to maintain. It is very comfortable, and roomy for all 4 passengers. The car gets up to speed quickly, and passing power is exceptional. Maintenance is easy, a reasonably skilled home mechanic can change the oil, plugs, brakes, flush antifreeze, replace lightbulbs. Cons - Interior wood trim (We have a package that included wood insets on the steering wheel) is very flimsy and has delaminated, crumbled over the years. Dealer replaced steering wheel and console trim once at no charge - No such luck at this point and the wood fell off the wheel, and the console has begun to crack again. Requires premium fuel. Leather shows wear and has required constant upkeep (cleaning and conditioning) since new (we have the gray "granite" interior). Top is VERY noisy as it goes up and down (and has always been). Silly things break - the courtesy lights on the doors and the washer nozzles in the hood (more than once for each). Comments on interior design score - buttons for windows are too small as are the interior door handles, and they are very shiny (chromed?) and on hot days can be brutal. Knob for vehicle information isn't labeled, you just turn and find what you want. Winter transmission mode button in a bad spot (easy to turn on by accident) Final thoughts - Top is still in good condition, we had to have the rear window "re-attached" about 5 years ago but it is still holding and they did an excellent job. It is showing some wear where the tonneau cover closes on it. Wish that the seat positions could be tied into the remotes like other cars we have owned, and that the mirrors were linked to that memory. Trunk space very limited. Overall - never regretted the purchase and still happy owners. Lots of them on the used market, we've looked at some for our children that are now graduating high school. Recommend that if you buy a car like this - keep all maintenance up to date and use quality fluids - we have friends that purchased the same car that did not have the same luck that we have had, none have been as sensitive to upkeep as we have. Don't let that scare you away; these are solid, well-made vehicles that are a pleasure to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value!

by LenDancer from Chicago, IL on Wed May 03 2017

We are the second owners and the car has been kept garaged. It has been a pleasure having this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by flug45 from fort wayne, in on Tue Jan 29 2013

Best convertible I ever had, rides good, lot of car for not so munch money. The only bad thing about this car is the turning radius which you get used to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2