2006 S40

Consumer Reviews
2006 Volvo S40

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

26 Reviews
2006 Volvo S40
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great luxury car at a low price

by volvo>bmw from minnesota on July 6, 2010

What an amazing ride! The exterior looks very stylish and sporty. The interior is simple and practical. The "floating" dash gets lots of compliments. I prefer the T-tech seats to leather because they are very comfortable and and are great in both hot and cold weather. The performance is above average. The acceleration is decent in the 2.4i but great in the t5. The handling is fantastic in both. Reliability is outstanding. I have put 67,000 miles on it with no problems. I have only been to the shop for maintaining reasons. This car is much better than my previous 3 series in reliability, safety, and styling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car with a big car feel.

by jpmcb from Washington, DC on July 27, 2006

In the past I have owned larger Volvos (S60 and S80), so I was a little reluctant about going smaller. After driving the S40 T5 though, I was nothing but impressed. Very solid, smooth and responsive ride, and the simplicity of the interior is second to none. My only issue is that the gas peddle seems to be a little too close to the brake, so that took a little while to get used to. In all...great bang for the buck. Tons of options packed into a great little car for not a lot of money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Steph from Chandler, AZ on February 26, 2008

"I love, love, love this car. No hesitation when accelerating. Simplistic interior with a great stereo. We did have a problem with the door locks but dealership replaced wiring harnesses on both sides (this is not a recall item yet, but they are aware of the issue and will replace with no problems), only other issue was the peddle assist spring for clutch broke (car is still operable if this breaks). We plan to be Volvo customers for life."

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is a great Car

by Mike from Chicago, IL on October 6, 2006

This is a great car. Great seats, amazing stereo system overall the interior is top notch. exterioir styling is very sharp. You should check this car out for the price it cannot be beat

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty, reliable, safe

by volvo fan from Florida on July 21, 2011

I looked at other used cars for my teenagers to drive, but after checking safety ratings kept coming back to volvo. I leased an s70 and s80 in the past, then became a minivan mom when kids became preteens and teens. I drove volvos for their safety and this is my biggest issue with having kids driving. The s40 is not only safe, it has a sporty feel when driving, great pick up, and good tight cornering. The interior is nice, not as blingy as some cars, but more than adequate. Safety- my daughter was in an accident when someone pulled out of a turn lane directly in front of a truck that was parallel to my daughters volvo and she was involved in a 3 car crash. She ended up broad siding the truck that flew into her lane. Airbags deployed, front end crumpled and she and her passenger walked away without a scratch. When the insurance company totaled it, I replaced it with the same yr and model volvo s40. Cars can be replaced...not people. If you want safety, yet a sporty car to run around in, this is it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car that ever found me

by Bratman from Austin, TX on July 22, 2011

I was shopping for a used Audi A4 or BMW 330ci when it happened. I went to a local dealer to test drive a silver/black 330 convertible, and there it was... a silver on black S40 T5 (6-speed fwd). Suffice it to say that I never even drove the BMW. The Volvo was love at first sight. This is one of the most well thought-out, and well engineered cars I've owned. Even after the 'honeymoon' wore off, I have very few, VERY MINOR negative things to say. I could use a bit more storage, navigation, and smaller blind-spots...But this car puts a big goofy grin on my face on a daily basis! It's a blast to drive. Having owned dozens of vehicles, there are few that are such a great balance of sportiness, fun, and practicality (avg 24.5 mpg w/ a heavy foot). You really gotta get one of these!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2006 Volvo S40 2.4i FWD

by Sophisticated Look from Pennington,NJ on August 9, 2015

Great sound system for a little car. Them high beams lights are amazing. The one driver side rear fog light I never used but it seems like it can be useful. Handles great around corners, little to no body roll. The front narrow seats are supportive. The rain sensing wipers are a plus except for when I'm going into the car wash & forget to turn them off. The small gas tank is perfect because it only takes $25 to fill my car up when gas is at $2.40 a gallon.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

S40 T5 FWD...Small Car with a Big Engine

by Car Afficionado from Philadelphia, PA on July 22, 2008

I've throughly enjoy driving this car and I have driven many cars before. Handling wise, this car has a very firm and tight feel so it will go where you want it to go. Also, the build quality and interior materials is very good. Acceleration on the T5 is strong especially from stop to go because there is so much low-end torque available. T-Tech seats are firm, supportive, and comfortable especially for long trips. The S40 T5 yields decent gas mileage of 25.0 MPG (50% City/50% Highway) and 28.5 MPG (30% City/70% Highway) on REGULAR unleaded gas (Premium is recommended, but with the gas prices it does not seem compulsory). The only drawback for the car is the center armrest size and leg room in the back seat when the front seats are pushed all the way back. J ust wish there was a little more space. Still, this car is great and has many safety features inherent in Volvo cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Headache

by The Professor from Charleston, SC on April 6, 2008

My wife fell in love with the car because of the looks. Unfortunately, looks are the only thing good about the car. We have less than 10,000 miles on car and it has been to the dealership for repairs more than five times. All of the problems appear to be electrical. The power windows, turn signals, and center LCD/control panel have all failed to work at some point. Worse yet, every problem has resulted in multiple trips to the dealer before finally being fixed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Lemon--LEAST reliable car we've owned

by Disappointed in Volvo from Worthington, OH on December 5, 2006

This car has had THREE computer problems in the first 13 months and 15000 miles. Twice the steering wheel locked because of a computer glitch and had to be towed to the dealership. Now the passenger airbag sensor malfunctioned and had to be reprogrammed. The technician told us that we had broken the sensor by putting a briefcase on the seat and that we are not allowed to put even a raincoat there. We bought a Volvo for its reputed safety, but this car has stranded us in isolated sports parking lots after dark, and now we can't carry anything but a person in the right front seat. No one at the dealership has ever said "Sorry," and repairs take three times longer than promised.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2006 Volvo S40