2007 S40

Consumer Reviews

2007 Volvo S40

$2,100 - $8,724  MSRP Range
2007 Volvo S40

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

23 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Volvo S40?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

LOVE LOVE LOVE my S40!

by Jules from Boston, MA on Tue Jun 29 2010

- Sleek exterior, lots of compliments on the look of my white S40! -Gas mileage is about 310 miles per tank (majority of the miles are highway) with mid-grade gas. -Roomy inside (front/back seats). Interior is simple, not much storage. -Trunk is smaller than my previous compact car. -Acceleration is not the best, sometimes it takes a few seconds to pick up when pulling onto the highway. Great value for a luxury vehicle. Not too many bells & whistles but more than your average Honda or Toyota. I would highly recommend an s40 to anyone looking for a small, compact vehicle that is classy, luxurious, and practical! Perfect for someone just out of college or starting a career who wants something that will turn heads but not empty your wallet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Impressive Car I've Ever Driven!

by Car Connoisseur from Philadelphia, PA on Tue May 15 2007

I just purchased my Volvo S40 over the weekend and I am very pleased. The comfortability and refinement are extremely impressive. I mostly love the comfort level at the driver's seat...back support is phenomenal. The space around the wheel is also excellent. The design of the rear and interior make it easier to view blind spots. Handling is also a plus on this vehicle. The standard stability control on the 2007 models is most certainly a plus. I would definitely recommend this vehicle to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo S40

by Volvo Fan from Tacoma, Washington on Sun Apr 23 2017

I bought the car used at around 74k miles. I have had it for about a month and it honestly is a great car. I have driven Ford Explorers, VW TDIs, a Volvo s70, and this is probably my favorite car. It feels like a well built car, the interior is perfectly simple. The exterior is great. A huge trunk. The only negatives I can think of their is not alot of leg room for people sitting in the back and the I wish the car was a bit faster.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best vehicle I’ve ever owned

by Tarsas from Kansas City, MO on Mon Dec 04 2017

I love my S40. I bought it with a manual transmission and all wheel drive and I don’t regret it at all. The engine is responsive and quick, the car has loads of torque across the entire rev range, and the turbo is quick. The chassis is firm. There’s almost no body roll or chassis movements over bumps and potholes. The all wheel drive system along with Volvo safety tech allows me to drive normal roadway speeds in snowy or wet conditions. The interior is minimalistic and well laid out with extremely comfortable seats. I absolutely love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Shanghai Bob from Shanghai on Tue Jul 29 2008

Driving in China it's wise to have a safe car that also has the power & stability to get you out of the way of trouble - the Volvo T5 is perfect for this. Only slight complaints are that the stantions are extra wide resulting in reduced visibility. Otherwise this car handles well, brakes well & has excellent power all wrapped in a sleek, stylish and solid chassis.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far!

by The Garners from Walla Walla on Tue Aug 11 2020

This car is in very good condition even though it's 13 years old. We just got it in our possession yesterday since it still needed detailed but it is a great little car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Efficient, safe and sporty

by Mike H from Eldersburg, Maryland on Sat Jun 22 2019

Fun and value for the money, would recommend and buy this model again. Missing a Bluetooth feature but overall can’t find much else to want except no pins in the floor for mats.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME CAR!

by canadian in cailfornia from California on Sun Oct 11 2009

I've got the T5 model and only had this car for 3 days, but its a lot of fun to drive. Its amazingly fast and hugs the turns. I'm 6 foot and theres plenty of space, plus theres plenty of room in the back for friends. Its also a very nice town car when you want it to be, you just have to be a bit lighter on the gas. Overall its a great car with lots of options, I recommend this car for anyone that wants some fun in their lives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Volvo for the Money!

by Volvo Driver for Life from Augusta GA on Sat Feb 10 2007

As a Volvo driver and owner for more than 20 years, I have been sold on the safety of these vehicles having survived two major accidents while I was in a Volvo. Over time, styling and performance of Volvos have improved significantly. The S40 is the fourth Volvo that I have owned and in most respects, the best. Most of my driving is in town and relatively short distance but comfort and acceleration are important considerations. The S40 delivers in both areas. It has plenty of head and leg room for a 6-foot tall driver. The control panel is easy to read and operate. The center console column design with large buttons makes all operations very simple when driving. It is quiet on the highway and handles road irregularities smoothly. The trunk capacity is sufficient for long-weekend trips. Sound systems are an important feature for me. The Dynaudio surround system with subwoofer is outstanding! I would certainly recommend the T5 model which comes with 5 speed automatic as a standard feature along with the 17" tires. The gas mileage for in town driving is reasonably good (23+ mpg so far). I compared this car with other European imports of similar size (BMW, Mercedes). For literally thousands of dollars less, you get better styling and performance and the advanced safety features for which Volvo is renowned. In summary, you get a great performing car with sporty looks and the legendary Volvo safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i've owned

by lamdis from on Tue May 30 2017

Ride safely, comfortly and quietly. Four door Sedan With Moon Roof great for summer time cruising. Grips the Road and very stable. Great savings due to reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3