Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 S60

Consumer Reviews

2005 Volvo S60

$2,066 - $7,258  MSRP Range
2005 Volvo S60

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

23 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Volvo S60?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

S60 AWD

by Vision from Michigan on Mon Jan 09 2012

Bought the vehicle used only a few months ago. And I knew what I was getting myself into with the repairs and costs involved. The one thing I was shocked over was the terrible fuel economy? I know its an AWD but still! I'm lucky to average 19mpg combined city and Hwy. I live 20 miles from work and 85-90% of that is expressway. The car rides pretty rough and the fuel economy is not that great but overall, its a good vehicle. Don't buy one with over 100K unless the timing belt and water pump has been replaced.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Remarkable in snow, climbs mountains effortlessly.

by Skierdude from Colorado Springs, CO on Tue Apr 06 2010

I bought my 2005 S60 AWD with turbo last summer for under $13K (Had 75K miles on it). Since it had so many miles I made sure to get an extended warranty which goes to 125K mile or 3 years. So, I now have peace of mind and haven't had to take it to the shop yet. Drove in the mountains several times to go skiing and am impressed every time how easily it gets up the passes on I-70. Believe me, it scoots; passes V-8s like nothing else, and that's with three adults and all our ski gear. Gas mileage has been around 20 in town, around 30 on the highway--even in the mountains. I'm looking forward to driving this car for probably another 3 years and will seriously consider getting a new one. This has the ability to haul the family, move like a sports car, and get through snow like and SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable, very sporty, great gas mileage

by California Volvo from Sacramento, CA on Thu Jul 31 2008

Nice and simple. Very easy layout. Very durable. Very responsive. Very quite. Very fast. I drive 25,000-30,000 miles a year and this is a great car. Got a 2005 certified car with 33k miles and 2.5t for 18,500. Couldn't be happier. I am 6'4, 230 lbs, and I have plenty of headroom. Owned 4 Volvos already because no one can seem to make a fast, comfortable car with any headroom anymore.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice car no ac

by billn from atlanta ga. on Sun Jun 05 2011

bought our 05 s60 2.5 turbo used with 40k miles we were impressed with the power smooth ride and good handling unfortunately 2 mos later a/c blows hot and will not hold a freon charge very long.idling is becoming rough and acts as if it wants to stall in traffic should not have problems with so few miles.we are ready to trade.we heard good things about volvo not so good for us

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Regular Driver from Bronx Ny on Sun Oct 10 2010

I brought this 2005 S 60 R, as a car to use on the weekends. Its so powerful, smooth and sleek I now drive it every day !!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this Volvo!

by Livefulli from La Canada on Mon Oct 30 2017

I have always had Volvo's. This S60 is a great car. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 on performance is that the turning radius is different from my 1998 T5 Volvo 780 (yes, I still have that one... it is a work horse!!!). The person that buys this car will get new tires and alignment, total window tinting (including clear on the windshield), new front brakes and tune up and it only has 125,000 miles! If you love this car half as much as I do you'll be in good shape!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by MsTrejo from Lubbock, Texas on Wed Sep 06 2017

This car is exactly what I've been wanting. Its extremely reliable and comfortable. It's also the most prettiest car I've ever owned

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I haved owned

by Rob from Encinitas on Mon Aug 14 2017

This is a perfect commute or travel car. Very comfortable interior, great for long drives. Solid turbo engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

volvo

by sports fan from illinois on Tue Mar 22 2011

they last for ever just change the oil regularly and they will treat you great, you have your choice of comfor sport or advanced driving. its fast but classy four door awd great in the snow. prem everything. it truly is one of the safest cars out there.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car Ive owned

by BadHac from on Wed Oct 05 2011

Ive got an 04 S60 2.5T I love it. Its a very fun car to drive and very reliable. I took it on a 500 mile trip and averaged 33mpg

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3