2007 S60

Consumer Reviews
2007 Volvo S60

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

29 Reviews
2007 Volvo S60
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and sporty

by kaan from Lexington KY on September 22, 2007

This is the second Volvo I've owned. I am most impressed with the performance of the engine and its fuel efficiency. For a light pressure turbo charged engine it can hold its own against the Audis and the BMWs. The front seats are the most comfortable in its class in my opinion. It is a very good riding car on long hauls. Although the sticker says it gets 29mpg you will notice 30+mpg on the highway with the recommended premium gasoline. The handling of the car is not like a BMW in tight corners but then this is not a BMW. Most people complain about the tight turning radius with this car but then again if you were to compare, it has the same turning radius as the Camry. The interior could have been better appointed as the plastics look cheap for a $35K car. However, the seats again are luxurious leather. Of course some of the controls are weird just like any other Volvo you will get. One word of caution though, this car depreciates very quickly, undeservingly I must add. However, most people will keep their Volvos in excess of 7 years so if you plan on keeping this car I think it is a safe bet as far as reliability and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An economy car with comfort and style

by Alfa Guy from Los Angeles, CA on July 25, 2007

After two months and 4000 miles, my 2007 S60 2.5T has proven to be a comfortable, enonomical and fun to drive automobile. The features I particularly like are the GearTronic transmission, which lets one chose either an auto mode or a particular gear. This is a delight to use on winding back roads and lets me blast out of a corner with a full head of steam on hand. The base 2.5 liter turbo engine has enough power to make things interesting while max torque (236 ft/lbs) comes in at only 1500 rpm so a spirited driver can use that to advantage. The seats are very comfortable, even on long drives and adjust easily to my liking. An 18 gallon gas tank combined with 34 highway mpg gives a pretty good cruising range. The few negatives are noticable torque steer, due to the fwd, which can be corrected with a strut tower bar. The front suspension is also a bit imprecise and mushy so installing a set of Bilstein shocks will be a definite improvement. If the driver is tall, any passenger in the back seat will suffer, so this car is mainly a 2+2. If you need more back seat legroom, get an S80. Also, the turning circle is pretty large for a medium sized car, much wider than my old 740 Turbo. However, all in all, the S60 is a terrific bargain with fairly good handling, a very flexible and peppy engine, good ergonomics and seats, nice features, attractive styling and wonderful build quality. Definitely recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by whistlin' mike from Lehigh Valley, Pa on March 26, 2009

Purchased an '07 AWD in Sept '08 with 10,000 miles. So far after putting on 10,000 miles the car has been very good. Quiet and comfortable. AWD system works flawlessly. No problems so far. I don't care what anybody says, it ain't no BMW, I've had two. Still a nice car and easier to get in and out of the either of the BMWs (one fiver, one 3er). Excellent gas mileage, I get 25 around town. Would like to have less power in the steering.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pleasure & Riding Comfortability

by Robert from Washington , DC on April 6, 2013

This has been an excellent purchase and I am very pleased. This vehicle was well taken care of and is a pleasure to ride with great comfortability and reliability. Fuel efficiency is great, a blend of luxury and very fuel efficiency. I will recommend this vehicle to my frinds and professional collegues. I thank you for the great service I have received and I will be back for more, sincerely Robert

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Over 200K

by 1st Volvo from West Virginia on January 14, 2016

I bought my AWD S60 2.5T with about 35k miles on it. I now have about 208,000 and its still running strong. I have had to replace some of the front end components i.e. axle, wheel bearings, and tie rods. When you do the maintenance yourself with the help of youtube its pretty inexpensive. The AWD system works great in the rain and snow. Gas mileage is acceptable for a car of this size. The space for backseat passengers is very limited if the driver has any height and moves the seat back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great first car

by Cerealkid19 from Maine on September 29, 2014

Turning 16 a couple months ago, I was on the market for my first car. Probably a used one. I wanted something simple, cheap, safe, and reliable. Nothing that would break the bank but nothing that wouldn?t last me a while. As a new driver, I hate being up high off the ground, so I decided I prefered mid - size sedans to vehicles like vans, trucks, or SUVs. Then I came across a car by word of my parents. The Scandinavian made 2007 Volvo s60. This car has everything I was looking for in a first car to be used in basic commuting, like getting to school or work. My favorite part is that it has the power of a six cylinder with 208 horse - power, but the advantage of having five cylinders with turbo to save on gas milage. Speaking of gas mileage, it gets a fantastic 19 - 23 in the city and 24 - 30 on the highway. It saves even more gas because the turbo doesn?t kick in unless you really need it (Over 5000 RPM) like when you?re running late for the big game. This car is fantastic on the highway because it?s small, easy to maneuver, simple to operate, and very safe with a 4.6 out of 5 safety rating. Even with all of these great features, with it being an older car there are some downsides to it. To start with, the first thing I noticed was the backseat legroom, or, the lack thereof. There is almost no backseat leg - room I could actually use to put things in. The large trunk size does compensate for the lack of space in the back, but I can?t just stuff my friends in the trunk. Not legally anyways. Another con to this car is that, with 16? tall wheels made from an alloy or a metal made from two different metal elements. It doesn?t handle bumps too well either. You can feel every little crack or bump in the road. Also, the handling is an older style that isn?t as advanced as cars these days. It is front wheel drive so the car is controlled entirely by the two front wheels, but it?s an older style because of how the steering wheel is less sensitive. It makes it a bit harder to make those sharper turns. Volvo does do a great job with this car but they describe it as luxury which it most definitely is not. It has leather seats, but the steering wheel is very basic and it just has a basic digital clock near the speedometer. So, although it?s a fantastic car, there really isn?t anything that stands out as luxury on this car. This being the case, unless it?s a first car or used just to get from place to place, it might not be the car you?re looking for. It?s just a very average, mid - size sedan with good gas milage. Overall, I really liked this car. If you?re on the market for a new car and you come across one of these with low milage it?s a fantastic choice for an automobile.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive the Volvo S60R!

by Zen 823 from California on May 29, 2007

Very fast, smooth and a blast to drive, yes this is a Volvo. The ?R? is a true performance sedan a good car for a person with out baby seats. I purchase it for the safety and performance, happy with the performance but inadequate room in the back seat may force me to sell my beloved Volvo S60R.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Used S60 Is a FANTASTIC first car.

by JKINPA from Cresco, PA on May 5, 2017

Although the S40 is smaller the S60 is an incredible vehicle. It is stylish, but more important is the safety inherent in all Volvos. It is very comfortable with EXCELLENT visibility, easy to drive and plenty of power without being overstated (R model excluded LOL). You can get it in AWD, Automatic, 5 speed, turbo charged and not (although the AWD is by default a turbo). The center seat position in the back is also an arm rest and a passthrough to the trunk for long items. The rear seats also fold down for carrying the large loads. They handle beautifully and are an excellent value. The down side is leg room in the rear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Praise for Performance Imports/2007 Volvo S60!

by Roscoe from New Windsor, NY on June 17, 2014

Volvo S60 a great car, despite (too) wide turning radius and minimal back seat legroom. The 2007 is great, and Performance Imports in Danbury, CT is a wonderful dealer! Michael and Diane are thorough, thoughtful, honest, and their used cars are immaculate. A great experience that I recommend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An excellent car for the price

by SV from Denver, CO on June 6, 2017

This car has been a terrific car for the money. It has good styling, plus it has been an excellent car when driven in bad weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3