2006 S80

Consumer Reviews

2006 Volvo S80

$2,042 - $9,362  MSRP Range
2006 Volvo S80

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Volvo S80?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Can't go wrong with a Volvo!

by Frenchy from The Jersey Shore, NJ on Sat Mar 20 2010

We recently purchased our 2006 Volvo S80 used with 30,000 miles along with a Certified Pre-Owned Volvo Warranty, and we couldn't be more satisfied. Ours is silver with a beautiful charcoal interior. One minute in this car and you can see the quality craftsmanship that makes Volvo an understated luxury brand. The stitching on the leather handles of the wooden steering wheel is a perfect example of this. Our S80 is kitted out with rear-park assist, Volvo Factory Navigation and Dolby Pro-Logic II Stereo options. All work seamlessly, especially the stereo. This is the best sound system I have ever heard in a car. Absolutely an incredible machine. The handling is secure but not sporty, but hey, this is a European Touring Sedan. If I wanted sporty handling I would have bought an S60 or S40. This car will swallow up miles like nothing. The ride is buttery smooth and very very quiet, which makes this an ideal car for commuting on the interstate. The engine is a 2.5 Liter 5-cylinder engine with a light-pressure turbocharger, and man does it haul! Acceleration is more than adequate while getting 30 miles per gallon on the highway, so this engine is a perfect match for this car. As for the styling, let's call it understated luxury. The curves are gorgeous and the interior is as intuitive as can be and still provides a beautiful curvaceous shape. All in all, I can see myself as a Volvo buyer for life. I would absolutely recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Off to a great start

by Feeling Good in New England from New Hampshire on Sat Feb 21 2009

I recently traded in my Audi A6, with its esteemed Quattro Drive, for a 2006 S80. No sooner did I leave the lot than did the snow start flying. The AWD Volvo is superb in the snow- at least as good as the Audi. I've always liked the exterior styling, even if it is a bit boring, but it was the interior design that sold me on this car. It is substantial and understated, simple but with all the creature comforts. The only downside of the interior is somewhat limited legroom in the back seats- fine for kids but a bit close for long drives with four adults. Still, an amazing interior. The 5 cylinder is adequate to move this vehicle along and the only thing that bugs me about the handling is the very light steering. It's overly assisted and you lose some road feel because of it. The engine sounds great under acceleration but it's wonderfully quiet while cruising. I love the sound system and, though trepidatious at first, I even like the wood steering wheel. It's only been a short while but I'm looking forward to a long run with this excellent car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I was wrong

by SuBTX4 from The Woodlands, Texas on Mon Jul 24 2006

Volvos are boring, tired, and old fashioned....That was my opinion until I purchased one of my own because of the recent excellent safety ratings. We wanted safety first and ended up with a super car. It's surprisingly fun to drive, with lots of get up and go, good interior room, and smooth, quiet handling. I'm still not crazy about the exterior, but that's not what I see and feel while driving, and it's growing on me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car That I Have Ever Owed

by JarvysCafe' from MI on Sat Jul 15 2006

Even though its not a Benz or a Bimmer....I like it becuase its just as comfortable inside the cabin and it is not screaming...."I'm a rich Yuppie"!! The 5 cyl turbo engine has amazing power for its size...plenty of pick up when you need it. Buy this car...you will not be disapointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great comfort, mileage, and reliability

by SEW from Lawrenceville, GA on Wed Mar 17 2010

Purchased new in April 2006. Have 43, 000 miles with no problems. Average about 30 mpg on highway. I hope to own this car for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A comfy road car

by Ski from Sacramento on Fri Feb 02 2007

Front seat comfort is the best of any domestic or import that I have owned to date. Quiet solid ride, excellent brakes, fairly nimble for such a large car. Steering could use more road feel, Volvo power steering is a bit on the light side. Power from the 2.5 turbo is good, but not smooth at idle as other luxury cars. Roomy trunk. I'm getting about 25 to 26 MPG in mixed driving. I had owned a 2001 S60 with 105,000 miles on it. Since it was a fairly bullet proof car, purchased the S80 with a steep discount. Saw the new 2007 S80, what an awsome car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

2006 S80 AWD TurboVolvo Maintained - Now for Scrap

by northender from Newton on Wed Mar 08 2017

I purchased a 2006 Volvo S80 AWD (certified used with 20k miles on it at purchase) and always kept it up through Volvo shops. I purchased the car due to its marketed reliability. I had the radiator replaced 4 months ago and now at 140,000 miles the engine failed and it will cost almost $7k to replace. The recommendation from Volvo is to scrap the car. Had I known I was going to only have the car for 140k miles I would have looked elsewhere.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong

by Becmeister from Livermore, CA. on Fri Aug 26 2016

I'm the original owner with 210k miles. Very reliable, hoping for another 200k. Well maintained, dig it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I really like my vehicle!!!

by cgrip from DC Metro Area on Thu May 12 2011

I've has absolutely not problems with this make and model. I would suggest it to anyone. The value for the money is worth it the cost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Gas guzzler

by kcoleman from Allentown, Pa on Fri Oct 14 2011

Nice looking. Smooth ride on the highway. Quiet. Nice features. I had the AWD model and it averaged about 16 MPG. On the highway I could get around 25MPG. Not real smooth acceleration, but I can't complain. I traded it in for a Subaru Outback, AWD and gets 21 MPG City and 31 MPG highway. Not sure how any one can say they got 30 MPG on the highway with the S80, especially if it was AWD. There is just no way!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2