2004 V40

Consumer Reviews
2004 Volvo V40

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
2004 Volvo V40
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Great Car, a couple of problems

by Cleveland Ohio from Cleveland on October 7, 2009

My wife and I bought this car new. The styling is great, there is plenty of cargo space for one child, one large dog and some luggage. There has been one nagging problem. I have replaced rotors on the brakes four times. I drive the brakes very gently so this is definately not an operator problem. I have been through two sets of mechanics and the problem continues to pop up. It is an expensive, recurring problem. Hard to believe that everybody has the same problem with lamps burning out but that has been a problem with us also. Go figure. That is pretty minor really. Very comfortable car. MPG is better than we expected, close to 32 mpg using regular gas on the highway. We are up to 107,000 miles and still going w/o any major complaints besides the brakes and rotors. I'll probably go back to Toyota when it is time to get something new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Better than average looking Volvo

by BMW owner from Salisbury, CT on July 6, 2008

Recently purchased a 2004 pre-owned from a Volvo dealer. It is peppy and handles OK. I've mostly owned BMW and it's no BMW but it is roomier than the BMW 325 sport wagon and that mattered. Both the BMW and this use 91 octane fuel but this runs perfectly fine on mid grade 89 octane. One plus is that when it is cold outside, the heated seats turn on automatically. Nice. We paid $13500 for a 4 year old with 38K miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by SJG from Central Massachusetts on November 26, 2010

After driving Jettas for many years I decided to treat myself to a little more "Cush". Look at S70's, V70's and S60's. Om I bought mine in April with 70K on it. I have since pn a whim I decided to look at 40's. Bought mine in April with 70K on it. Have since put on over 12K. It rides well, handles great and with sensible driving, gets 30 around town (country driving) and 35+ on highway. Every once in a while I get on it and put it through its paces, it responds wonderfully (I think it likes it!!). I've also gotten many compliments on its looks. Gave a friend a ride and all he kept saying for the entire time was "this is a nice car". Only issue so far is blown brake light bulbs, but I can live with that. Definitely would recomend it to a friend and plan on getting lots more miles out ot it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A solid car and sexy too!

by New Vovlo Owner and loving it from Vermont on July 14, 2008

The car handles very well, no matter the weather conditions. The gas mileage is better than I expected (30-35 mpg). The only annoyance is the low clearance and the light bulbs that constantly burn out, otherwise this is a terrific car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my v40

by Zelig from Monsey, NY on January 3, 2010

This is a great car. Looks different than the conventional boxy Volvo. Very comfortable front seats. Handles very well. Very fuel efficient at 30 mph on the highways. Back seat a little cramped for taller adults.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful to look at-even better to drive!

by ididntbitem from Willimantic, Ct on May 7, 2012

This is the newest and most expensive car I have purchased, and it has been worth it! I searched for a few months for the right model year for the right price and found it. I love my car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really superb

by Viewer from Chicago on August 23, 2007

Excellent. I found really cool features on this car. Especially the winter mode and the heated seats in the great lakes region are a must

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Keeps on running like the energized bunny

by Stickefingers from Dallas, tx on August 20, 2017

It is a great model with a lot of value for the price, came loaded like a more expensive luxury vehicle for a portion of the price, quick response and really good handling this was one for the ages.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful under estimated Volvo

by Volvo for safety from Spring Lake, MI on January 13, 2018

This is one of the best Volvo cars, I have owned. I have owned about 25 Volvos. It is quick, nimble, hardly leans in the curves, unlike older Volvos. The computer says it is getting 41 MPG on the expressway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1