2007 V70

Consumer Reviews

2007 Volvo V70

$2,022 - $11,018  MSRP Range
2007 Volvo V70

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Volvo V70?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

V70 is so comfortable

by Angela from Orange County, California on Wed Sep 28 2011

Purchased 4 months ago, has 95K miles, is our 6th Volvo (since 1982) and second wagon. A 2.4T, replacing a 240 with 250K miles which was still running very well when sold (we highly maintain them). 5 Volvo's are still in the family. The seats are just superbly comfortable and I am tall. The acceleration and cornering is very good. Unfortunately the turning radius is long, which I miss from the early lighter weight Volvo's. I get 20mpg in the city. It is a pleasure to drive this car and I prefer driving it over my XC-90. Do not be afraid to buy with high mileage, Volvo's still drive like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Rob S from Saint Louis MO on Mon Feb 22 2016

I purchased my 3rd Volvo V-70R brand new in 2007 with all the bells and whistles because I always wanted one and this was the last year they made them. I absolutely love the car! I have had all the normal services performed as recommended by the owners manual ie oil change, filter, spring seats, timing belt etc and the car has not given me a single problem after 125K miles other than a burnt out headlight. I am a spirited 45 year old driver but also use my Volvo for light hauling using the roof rails ie up to 6 sheets of drywall, lumber, Tule and more. The car does have a low stance and a wide footprint so maneuvering in tight spaces takes some learning however on the hwy the car comes alive. I need only breath on the gas to pass people and the ride is firm but comfortable. I typically use the Sport setting for a nice balance in the ride. The car is now 9 years old and looks virtually brand new and still provides lots of performance and bells and whistles that aren't even offered in some of the best luxury cars of today. I get compliments on it all the time. As for safety. I completely feel like the big Brembo brakes have saved me more than a couple of times and the AWD has been flawless in bad road conditions. I think good servicing of the car has definitely aided in its longevity.. I plan to keep this one for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very safe car to take your family with you

by Charles from California on Mon Mar 05 2007

In general it's a very safe car to take your family with you. However, it feels a bit heavy to drive around the town, and the turning circle is pretty large so when you park in a small parking space, you need to make an extra effort. It took me a couple of months to get used to the V70 turning circle after Camry and Accord. High: Safe, comfortable, and reliable. Low: Performance. If you want to trade your space for a little more fun, pick the V50. Otherwise, V70 is an excellent choice for a station wagon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2.5T model

by Tennessee Traveler from west Tennessee on Tue Jul 15 2008

Love this car. The inside comfort is outstanding, the acceleration is way above normal for a car this size. I have had it up to 134 mph and there was still some left. On the downside, one has to be carefull when starting from a dead stop not to squeal the front tires. And the steering seems a little torguey but it may just be that I am used to rear whell drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

V70 is unique

by VolvoForLife from midwest on Sat Nov 05 2011

V70 really provides a unique combination of versatility, convenience, and cargo capacity, along with luxurious feel, smooth ride, and restrained good looks. I've owned a 2007 model for several years, and it has been great at handling every possible task - from daily commutes, hauling furniture, bicycles, and kids, to cross-country trips. It has been very reliable. Fuel efficiency is typically around 32 mpg highway, 26 average with city driving. This car is particularly great for winter driving. Traction control, winter transmission mode, and good winter tires make it a virtual snow-mobile. Finally, I believe the 2001 to 2007 model is the best looking of the Volvo wagons. I was a fan of the boxy designs, but the proportions and flow on this model make it really attractive, in my opinion. The direction Volvo went after 2008 lost some of the elegance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car of 15 owned

by practical driver from Tucson az. on Thu Oct 17 2013

The v70 has been the complete package of space, great gas milage, comfort and flexability of space and seating with good looks too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car,terrible mpg :/

by Nina from rochester,ny on Mon Dec 19 2011

I think I might have 'thought' a bit longer on my purchase if I had known the gas mileage was so poor. Im avging 16.8mpg in city driving which is primarily what I do. Other AWD vehicles perform MUCH better,in the area of 20-21mpg. ie subaru,mazda etc The trade off is the car in general is pure CLASS. :D

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

another volvo v70

by 4 time volvo owner from small town, ct on Thu Oct 20 2011

This is my 4th Volvo, 3rd V70. Replaced high mileage 2001 V70 with exact same car, but 2007 with 100,000 fewer miles. Obviously, was satisfied with previous one, and still am with newer one. Safe, very comfortable, reliable, decent mileage (32 highway average at 65mph, 26 in mixed driving at 34 mph average), great load space. 2007 owned by Ford, which in my opinion cut a few minor corners for cost savings over 2001, before Ford acquisition. Only complaint is some wheel spin with hard acceleration, front end likely not heavy enough due to small engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast Sweed

by Albert Flasher from Coventry CT on Mon Jul 11 2011

Very quick, incredible brakes, corners like a sports car, fabulous highway cruiser, 24 mpg avg, awesome seats, Volvo safety, avoid potholes. Love mine, 95,000 miles runs like new....buy this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

well engineered family car

by Michael from Jeannette, PA on Wed May 02 2007

We have just bought a VOLVO V70 2.4L with premium, convenience and climate package. The car is well engineered; the suspension, engine and automatic transmission are well dimensioned. The 2.4L has enough power for daily use and gives good gas mileage. Quite at high speeds and sits on the road well. Comes with Michelin tires. Negative points: leg room for tall passengers in the back seats; The model we wanted: V70 2.5T with convenience package alone was not available in th USA.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2