2012 XC60

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volvo XC60

$10,022 - $20,390  MSRP Range
2012 Volvo XC60

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

27 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volvo XC60?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best of all worlds

by SafeMan from Lansing, New York on Sun May 27 2012

After nearly losing my life in a vehicular accident, I decided to look closely at the Volvo XC60 T6 to help ensure safety. I selected the R-Design with Platinum trim and checked each box to not regret ordering something down the road. I test drove competitors from BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Range Rover, Land Rover for comparison purposes and found each one to be nice vehicles, but only in the Volvo did I feel a perfect fit in every way whatsoever. The others all had very overwhelming technical features that made for trying test drives. I am not quick to learn new things, especially when it comes to tricky to use computers, navigation features and so on. The seats in the XC60 were designed by orthopedic specialists and the engineers at Volvo must be equally skilled to construct such an intuitive crossover, SUV, wagon, sports car (R-Design's 325 hp) -- everything all in one. No blind spots and too many pluses to include regarding styling, comfort, surprisingly high MPG (high 20s-30ish), ride, handling, all season AWD traction, superior entertainment system and climate control, ease of use all around (navigation, once you become aquainted) and of course the countless and much appreciated standard (and some understandably optional and packaged) safety features. New for soon to be released 2013 Volvo XC60 models is a vastly improved navigation system with road sign recognition! Volvo: You think of absolutely everything!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really good

by Road less from Portland, OR on Mon Apr 09 2012

This vehicle has the most safetly features I could buy. Better power than the lexus, but not quite as comfy. Safety features make it great. The only improvement would be to the GPS system, it does not display all the street names in any screen. I would have gone with the Garmin GPS rather then the Volvo factory installed system (Navtec). One feature that was an unexpected delight was the keyless entry. Instead of fumbling with the key, it is really a time saver to just walk up and open the locked door. The same with the push button rear door. The dealership was customer sensitive and responsive. The you tube and internet sites were helpful and useful in researching prior to purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, excellent ride

by Karene from Plano, TX on Tue Sep 05 2017

I love driving it and enjoy the feel and comfort of the car. It has not had any major problems and is extremely reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best All Around Car I've Owned

by MichiganRunner from St. Joseph, MI on Tue Feb 13 2018

I bought my 2012 Volvo XC60 T6 R-Design used but is has been my favorite car. It is fast, solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride and handling is excellent and you don't feel like you're in a small SUV. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology and safety! If you're looking for a new/used crossover in this segment, put this one on your short list to test drive. I recommend it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I?ve ever own

by Dennis Perkins from Houston,Tx on Tue Nov 07 2017

Very nice car for the money very reliable safest car on the road will be another one I couldn?t believe how nice the car is it?s a sleeper compare to other luxury cars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent all round performer

by UBERWME from Nashville, TN on Fri Apr 27 2018

I am a Rideshare driver. I bought a 2012 XC60 T6 AWD used with 100,000 miles. It needed a vacuum pump reseal and a rear brake job. It's since had front brakes and a set of tires. No signs of any other issues and doesn't burn a drop of oil. Currently showing 134,000 miles and still looks brand new underneath as well as inside. Pros: FAST! Quiet, supremely comfortable, adjustable suspension provides a customizable ride/handling setup, very safe, you can still actually get a base model luxury vehicle like mine with no frills that will ultimately break (I have NO blind spot alert, NO backup camera, or even prox. sensors, NO power tailgate, NO navigation. All I have for options is heated rear seats, rain sensing wipers, premium sound, and active bending lights) Cons: fuel economy (I average 19.8 - 21.5) and needs premium, decent tires cost a fortune

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never had a single problem or repair!!!!!!

by Supermom from Marblehead Ma. on Thu Oct 19 2017

This car was fun to drive , easy to park, turn , very fast, good and easy controls , comfortable, safe in snow,Etc

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC60 rocks!

by LowellK from Houston, TX on Sun Nov 20 2011

Bought a 2012 Volvo XC60. this is one of the most comfortable SUV's on the market. Volvo has always done a great job with their seats especially since they have a orthopedic doctor's input on seat design. Volvo's City Safety is standard on the vehicle as well. Opt for the T6 AWD if you want a smoother and much more powerful vehicle over the 3.2 base model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best enginered SUV for the money

by ROAD RUNNER from Allentown, Pa on Wed Nov 09 2011

Well designed. Very functional. Runs like a rabbit. 235 hp. Handles very well. No constant down shifting when going up a slight grade. In cruise control their is no change in rpm. I get 25mpg doing 60-65 mph with this inline 6 cylinder. 7500 miles so far. No breakin period needed to obtain great fuel milage. This thing has been perfect from day one right off the dealer lot. I traded a 2011 Equinox with a 4 cylinder that at best got 22 mpg highway. The Volvo is in a class of it's own. Hello Volvo. Good by GM.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

XC60 More than expected

by volvo4life from Palo Alto Ca on Wed Jan 04 2012

We have purchased a 2012 XC60 and it is more than expected. It handles great and much better than any of our previous SUV?s. Great mileage, performance and amenities. Super overall SUV. I would recommend to anyone lookig for a smaller SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 Volvo XC60

I had high hopes for the 2012 Volvo XC60. I recently (reluctantly) ended a long-term relationship with my own beloved Volvo, a C30, because it no longer fit my evolving family. Having recently added a husband and stepdaughter to my previous status as a single mom of two, we're now in the market for a five-seater like the XC60. I hoped that maybe this car would fill my empty heart.

While my courtship with the well-mannered XC60 started out positive, the chemistry just wasn't there. However, he … I mean it would make a perfect fit for someone else.

The XC60 comes in front-wheel and AWD versions in 3.2, T6 and T6 R-Design select trims with Premier, Premier Plus and, new for this year, Platinum editions... Read More