Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 XC70

Consumer Reviews

2005 Volvo XC70

$488 - $9,284  MSRP Range
2005 Volvo XC70

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Volvo XC70?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned!

by Happy 2005 XC70 Owner from Ithaca on Mon Aug 18 2008

I have had this car for two years and it gets better with age. This is the first car to do this for me. I have not had one problem with this car and it is a dream to drive. I have two sons learning to drive and I feel safe that they are driving this car. I bought it used (one year and 12000 miles) and it looks brand new for a car that is three years old and has 43000 miles on it. I also see the retail of it and it is really keeping it's value (unlike the Toyota I have). I plan to buy a 2005 Volvo for my son when it comes time. Safe, Reliable and fun to drive(a dream in the snow!), what more could you want?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Confidence inspiring Safety w/AWD for family

by Outdoor enthusiast from Northvale, NJ on Thu Feb 17 2011

I bought this car used with 27,000 miles. So far the only expenses have been normal wear items, brakes, tires, oil changes etc. My wife never would drive in snow before we bought this XC70, now its not a problem. We load it up, my daughter goes in her child restraint in the back seat and away we go. 4 years and 70,000 additional miles and the car is doing great, still runs like a Swedish clock. Plans to buy new one for my wife and I'll make this one mine!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, so good

by Cross Country buyer from Leesburg, VA on Fri Aug 20 2010

We've owned several Volvo's bought from individuals. Our last was a 1998 XC70 full of whistles and bells. It had lots of mechanical problems over the five years we kept it, and we should have gotten rid of it much sooner. The accoutrements were so nice that we got the 2005 XC70 only three months ago. So far, it's been problem free.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

value for the money

by art from franklin cty, vt on Sat Apr 16 2011

wonderful comfort, safety and convenience for driver and occupants. drives like a dream on smooth roads, but not so much over frostheaves and potholes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe, reliable and stylish.

by XC70owner from Salem, MA on Wed Jun 21 2017

The XC70 wagon is a great car for my two teenage daughters; we love it. Couldn't be happier with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

QUALITY, RELIABLE AND ENGINEERED FOR PERFORMANCE

by PAMELA PARKER from NEW YORK, NY on Sun Apr 30 2017

LOVED THIS CAR. VERY SAFE, VERY RELIABLE AND MET EVERY EXPECTATION. WE KEPT THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS TIME TO UPGRADE AND NEVER HAD ANY BREAKDOWNS OR PROBLEMS THROUGHOUT IT'S LIFE WITH US. WE DROVE OUR CAR EXTENSIVELY BETWEEN NEW YORK, BOSTON AND CAPE COD DURING THE SUMMER, WINTER, SPRING AND FALL. NEVER FAILED US!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo FOR LIFE!

by Swedespeed98 from Bainbridge island wa on Sat Sep 09 2017

Love my 05 XC70! The XC70 was refreshed in 05 with some exterior details like front and rear silver skid plates and aluminum roof rails and interior improments and couldn't look any better! Great quality, design and comfort. Amazing space for everything you need and a joy to drive! This is coming from a 19 year old guy by the way. Volvo wagons are cool! Volvo for life!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Died at 120,000 miles

by semo233 from Newtown, CT on Sun Jul 09 2017

My Volvo XC70 was driven an average of 10,000 miles per year and regularly maintained. It was dependable up to the day it totally died at 120,000 miles. For a car that is known for its longevity, that is was too early! Volvo didn't care, just said sorry.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a good used car

by YV from Michigan on Mon Feb 27 2017

this is perfect for me lot of goodies for this used car very reliable by using cars.com I have a multiple choices to look and can check pictures and information of the vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2005 Volvo XC70


Shag carpet, bell bottoms and retro colors are all making a comeback. Are station wagons next?

When I think of station wagons, I recall the funny stories of my mom and her siblings in their mother's station wagon they nicknamed "the batmobile." Complete with wood paneling and a mustard-yellow paint job, I shunned the notion that I would ever drive one - until I met the XC70.

There are five aspects of a car I've decided are a necessity for me as a mom: high safety standards; leather seating for easy cleaning; accessible Latch connectors; ample cargo space; and a place to put my purse. Volvo has four out of five (but that's not really a strike against them since I have yet to find a place to keep my... Read More