Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 XC70

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volvo XC70

$3,385 - $13,261  MSRP Range
2008 Volvo XC70

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

20 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Volvo XC70?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great value - Really nice car

by Family Guy from Boston, MA on Mon May 19 2008

This car was the best for our needs. If you need a car that has AWD, lots of storage space, semi-luxuirious interior, safe, family friendly and reliable, for around $40,000, this car is for you. The XC70 may not handle or have the smooth engine preformance of a Audi A6 Avant or a BMW Wagon 5 series, but it doesn't cost $60,000 either. On the other price scale, it feels better built than the VW Passat and Subaru Outback. In a nutshell. it does alot of things really well (ride comfort, fit and finish, interior storage, safety features) and some things mediocre (acceleration, fuel economy). For those who don't want a SUV, but wants the benefits of one the XC70 fits the bill.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

"Best wagon out there"

by The chef from Lyman,maine on Tue Oct 09 2007

It is quiet-no turbo lag because it is naturally asperated now 3.2L six banger. I only put in regular unleaded. I ann actually take it off road. Volvo has finally done it-a true best of both worlds. We owned a S-60AWD before. Everything is user friendly and can take all the music I want with me re: I-Pods etc. To those looking at crossovers-just buy it. You will be amased if you take it out for a ride. So not the older XC-70's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, lousy navigation system

by tech enthusiast from Silicon Valley on Fri Apr 09 2010

The 2008 Volvo XC70, with goodies, is a great car. The radar-assisted cruise control is great on the highway, as it will brake as well as accelerate. The navigation system is without a doubt the worst I've ever seen ... from missing streets/data and the (infrequent) inability to route, to the nearly useless remote control, to the lack of voice input, lack of touch input, difficulty of use ... it's a candidate for worst in the world. The seats (8 or more way, both front seats have memory) are wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Road Runner from California on Fri Mar 22 2013

I had a 1994 Volvo 850 Turbo Sport Wagon for a decade and loved it. It's still going strong at 200k so i gave it to my mom. My 2008 Volvo XC70 is even better. I love the style and comfort. I have the 3.2 non turbo. It's not as sporty as my old turbo but it has plenty of power and costs less to insure than a turbo model. It's more luxury than sport. I'm very happy with it. I bought it used at 33K and have put 10k mikes on it. Runs, looks, drives like new. Everyone thinks I bought a new 2013! Volvos are not cheap to own/maintain, but you can't beat the safety and style. Gas mileage is around 23 hwy for this 6 cyl. My old 5 cyl. got 24.6 mpg. I assume its because the new one is AWD.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Wagon-Does Everything Very Well

by The Volvo Viking from Minneapolis, MN on Mon Sep 09 2013

Overall, it is hard to find fault with this car. Practical, safe, and so far it has been reliable (at 88K miles now). The AWD is second to none, and I would recommend that Volvo starts selling these seats for your living room-there is no more comfortable car seat out there, period. It has a solid smooth ride, however the performance is not exactly screaming, but then again, you are buying a Volvo sports wagon, not a Ferrari. Overall, if you don't want a larger gas-guzzling SUV, but want AWD and ability to go off-road (we have taken it off-road at the cabin and beat it up a bit, it handles it in stride), then you will like this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

7th Volvo

by Volvo43054 from New Albany, OH on Tue Nov 17 2009

This is the our 7th Volvo, love the brand and the dealer! Love this XC 70, wish it had a larger sunroof.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Love the Car

by DCdeerfield from Deerfield, MA on Sat Nov 28 2015

I love it! It does almost everything, but carry a Piano and the mileage is respectable. For me it is part of the family, so we take care of it accordingly. She is our sweetheart!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo Fan

by 3rd volvo I've owned from Rochester, NY on Sun Sep 02 2012

This is the 3rd volvo that I've purchased. The 2008 rides as if its a 2012. These vehicles really hold their value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Audobhan burner

by Richard J. from Finger Lakes, NY on Thu Jul 13 2017

Fantastic trip car. Very comfortable for long hauls. Gets good mileage for a car this big and with the 6-cylinder engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I based my purchase on other reviews I've read.

by Henry from Sloatsburg,NY. on Sun Dec 03 2017

I've always liked the XC70's and the fact that I already own an S70 with MANY trouble free miles....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Volvo XC70

Suburban parents are the Volvo XC70's prime target. It's a large station wagon with a brawny look for dad and sensible features for mom. It's upscale enough that your neighbors won't look down on you, but affordable enough to keep sending the kids to summer camp.

The XC70 is also significantly updated from the model it replaces. You can see a side-by-side comparison of the 2007 and 2008 model here.

Packed with safety features, an entirely competent six-cylinder engine and some nifty innovations, I would have a hard time not recommending the new XC70 to the upwardly mobile, yet still overwhelmed, parent. Then again, recommending it would be a lot easier if the car I drove hadn't practically fallen... Read More