2012 XC90

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volvo XC90

$9,532 - $20,252  MSRP Range
2012 Volvo XC90

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volvo XC90?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC90

by MrB from Denver, CO on Tue Jun 21 2011

Great car. Styling is not ultra modern but I think classic. Performance is ok. A V-8 would help but we get over 20 MPG with the 6.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Our second XC90

by Menauhant from Cape Cod on Mon Jan 02 2012

We bought our first XC90 in 2004 and drove it for 150K miles. It was so great that we traded it in and bought a new XC90 2012. The new 2012 has more features than the 2004 and cost less. My wife is a Real Estate Broker and spends a lot of time in this vehicle. It has the third row seats which are great when you have to drive six people around. It is absolutely terrific in snow nothing stop it. The only issue we have with it is trying to figure out the audio system,which includes Sirius, Bluetooth we use for phone, and a USB connection. There is also a place on the console for what looks like a connection to plug in an Iphone to listen to music or whatever but it does not seem to do anything. Volvo should have included a DVD to explain all the features. So if you are looking for a dependable vehicle to drive in the snow and don't mind that it only gets 19MPG around town get this car. Our 2004 averaged 18MPG around town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Volvo XC90 Best Vehicle Ever Owned

by TS from Tampa FL on Wed Feb 29 2012

Must have the V-8 which gets great performance and fuel economy. No road noise and great handling vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury SUV?

by ilovevolvo from Frisco,TX on Sat Dec 03 2011

Well maybe, or of course it's a Volvo! But don't be fooled because the Volvo XC90 has been around since 2003 and has no redesign yet, but each year the XC90 gets better and better. With the 2012 Volvo XC90 a face-lift front facial, some new body works but not much. As well is in the interior bluetooth and a auto-dimming rearview mirror. My mother just bought a 2012 and it's very good with performance with a 3.2L I6 (240-hp) also 0-60 time about 7.4. The 2012 Volvo XC90 is a a best bet for a 3 row luxury SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great investment

by Dodgerfan on Sun Jul 23 2017

I love this car, it is comfortable, big enough to haul furniture and Grandkids. Great on gas and long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safety and Value Meet Here

by Ozzieah from Orlando, FL on Sat Jun 17 2017

Beautifully styled, but even better in the 2017 model. This car has it all, safety, convenience, luxury and class all in one. Maintain it properly and it will treat you great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Repairs!

by Formervolvofan from Fairfax, Va on Mon Dec 26 2011

Performance has been somewhat underwhelming and the engine sounds a bit overworked. The vehicle is comfortable, but lacks the refined design and handling that similar cars in its class offer. The third row seats have just enough leg room for my kids but even an adult of average height would likely find it to be an uncomfortable squeeze.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Purchase!

by MomofTwo from on Wed May 10 2017

Beautiful inside and out. The car runs great, easy to handle for a vehicle with a so many seats. The leather is pleated and super soft! So happy we went with the Platinum package!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice car

by Christer from Portsmouth NH on Mon Aug 13 2018

Car is a tank, liked the feeling of safety for my son at college in Colorado, was able to load everything into it including tow hitch

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1