2016 ILX

Consumer Reviews

2016 Acura ILX

$6,276 - $32,172  MSRP Range
2016 Acura ILX

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Acura ILX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Firm good deal

by satisfied Man from Arlington, Va on Thu Nov 03 2016

I really like this car. I had a V6 Accord coupe with all of the bells and whistles so I was looking to move to a smaller engine. One with power but less fuel and a smaller environmental impact. I like the 2.4 liter engine in this car. The 200+ hp is good enough pick up for the urban driving that I do. The 8 gear transmission is fun to use with the paddles. I did not expect this car to be a smaller Acura TLX. I got the updates that I wanted with the keyless entry, moon roof and heated seats. I did not buy the top model and I am still satisfied. Good value. The road noise some don't like is not deafening or irritating. I like to hear the engine work. It is not the "road noise" but the gears shifting and the engine doing what it needs to to move. I have fun driving this little car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by David from Houston, TX on Mon Jul 10 2017

I've had my ILX A-Spec w/ tech package for a little over a year now and it has almost 25k miles on it (bought it used with 4k miles on it) and the only problem i've had was the amp for the speakers needed to be replaced because the audio would cut off every few minutes of them being on (replaced under warranty). The good: The car is no 0-60 speed demon, but it is quite fast (i've gotten it up to almost 140 MPH).The 8 Speed DCT in the car is FANTASTIC! shifts are incredibly fast and smooth and the paddle shifters have immediate response. The engine is a gem, you can get 40+ MPG on the hwy if you set the cruise control around 65(my personal best is 43 MPG). I have the tech pack which gets you goodies like lane keep assist, which will literally drive the car for you like a tesla (theres a button on the steering wheel to activate it and i call it the "telsa button"), blind spot monitoring, adaptive cruise control, and emergency braking (which has saved me a few times). The ELS audio system i have in my car is quite good, has a decent amount of bass which is hard to come by in small cars. The bad: #1:THERE'S ONLY ONE POWER OUTLET IN THE ENTIRE CAR!!!! i have no idea what the Acura designers were thinking to only include one power outlet... i'm still shocked a 2016 car would come with only 1 outlet. #2: The turning circle is HORRIBLE! i've compared it to my friends cars like a VW GTI and Mazda 3 and my ILX will have to make a 2 point turn in spots where their cars can do it in 1 turn. It's seriously abysmal. #3. i absolutly love the look of the jewel eye headlights but they are dimmer than a standard HID or Halogen bulb, it'd be nice if they were brighter. #4: the seats have no lumbar support adjustment, it'd be nice if they did. #5; The backup camera is terrible at night time, you can't see a thing. I'm going to replace the halogen reverse light bulbs with LEDs and see if that will make a difference. Overall its a great little car, i think its great value for money if you can find a good used one like i did. I basically drive this car like i stole it and have not encountered a single mechanical problem yet!(knock on wood)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid small "family" car.

by ChipRinaldo47 from Little Rock, Arkansas on Mon Jun 11 2018

I have had this since mid August, 2016, and here is my in-depth review. The car has a solid "feel" to it. Climate control is responsive and throttles down once target temperature is about to be reached (auto setting). Mine has the ELS audio system and while it does sound good, it could be better. One, any audio that has been mastered "hot", meaning with high levels, the audio sounds as if it's limited (compressed down). That is regardless if you have the volume set low or high. Two, .wav (uncompressed audio) is not supported. It would be nice if it was. Three, some midrange frequencies are accented, particularly around 500 Hz or so. That can make some vocals sound "honky". Moving on to the engine and transmission, the engine is fine. The transmission leaves a bit to be desired. It shifts up too quickly. I realize the engineers at Acura programmed it for maximum economy but when you are trying to accelerate to highway speeds, it could give the impression that the car is lacking in power when it actually isn't. Of course, there is sport mode where you can use the paddles and do the shifting yourself but there is no happy medium, like there is with the TLX. Starting from a dead stop will sometimes make the transmission lurch and hiccup (likely a shortcoming of the DCT transmission). Fuel economy can be very good, in particular at highway speeds (60 to 65 mph). I have observed mpg range as high as 45 at 60-65 mph. Mileage drops once you reach 70 mph. I'm rather conservative in my driving style but I'm no slow poke. I tend to average 33 to 37 mpg and my driving is roughly 65% highway; 35% city driving. Wet roads will hamper mpg BIG time, thanks to the wide tires, but I like those wide tires for their cornering prowess. Adaptive cruise control is good and I can tell it has some fine tuning to do. The way it handles speed can be rather abrupt at times. "False" highway markings can sometimes trick the road departure sensors, thinking that you are leaving the lane / road when you aren't. I've had the car warn me to "steer" the car when I keep the steering wheel perfectly still, with the lane keeping assist switched on. If Acura would have put sensors in the steering wheel to detect grip, that would have been good. The drivers seat is good for long distance driving. Lower back support could be slightly improved though. The navigation system is archaic. For 2016, it was even missing some not so new highways. I wished the head unit had Android auto / Apple Carplay. About the use of Premium fuel: Acura recommends it but it is in NO way required. My car runs 89 octane (mid-grade) unleaded fine. If you have access to ethanol free 91+ octane (premium) gas, give that a try. For me, my mileage went up, as well as the responsiveness of the engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i own

by Albert from Fort Pierce, Florida on Tue Jun 06 2017

Love the car, performance is great ,looking foward to purchase the new model or uprade not sure yet .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

underappreciated car: good value for money

by TDM001 from Morristown, NJ on Mon Jun 19 2017

Great power, very comfortable, good tech, nice styling. Probably the best thing about this car is the transmission, very smooth shifting. When moving to sport mode, the car gets quicker, stearing tightens up, and car is more "confident" on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most comfortable car!

by Roads97 from NC on Thu Jun 29 2017

This car has a touch screen and display screen. The seats are comfortable, with seat heaters! Plenty of leg room with memory positioning of the seats. Really fun and classy car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura

by Michael from Dumas Texas on Tue May 09 2017

It was nice and I really liked. And it was reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car handling

by Zeke from St Lucie WEst, FL on Tue May 09 2017

Great Style and handling! Trying to use up the hundred character minimum and am not doing a very good job at it , until now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st car!

by Acura.cardealia from Kennewick, wa on Fri Apr 20 2018

I love my Acura ILX! I love everything about it and only found 1 thing I dislike which is the small room in the back for passagers. I really love that it’s both a great family car and sporty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A sporty luxury Honda Civic

by Neon from El Paso on Sat Sep 23 2017

A perfect car if you wish to have the Honda reliability without the need to get a CVT transmission. Car is quick with it's DCT transmission and will be much more reliable due to a NA engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2016 Acura ILX

The restyled 2016 Acura ILX is a competent, fun-driving car in the entry-level compact luxury field, but it doesn't live up to some luxury-class expectations.

The ILX gets a lightly revised exterior, minor interior cabin updates, and more available technology and safety features this year. Acura also discontinued the base engine, leaving only one, and replaced lesser manual and automatic transmissions with a new eight-speed automatic that features the unique combination of a dual-clutch paired to a torque converter.

Another change for the Acura ILX is the number of option packages available, which serve as its trim levels. For 2016, Acura offers six trims instead of last year's three. You... Read More