2001 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2001 Acura MDX

$431 - $9,031  MSRP Range
2001 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Never an issue

by Zounds from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Jun 29 2009

I was never once surprised by a mechanical issue. I replaced items as they were recommended by manufacturer life limit, and I handled the one significant recall item (Tranny, EGR Valve) and sold it only because my needs changed to require a pure truck. Loved the car for 70K miles after buying used at 48K. That third row came in handy a several times. Sorry to see it go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car I've owned

by luxurious car from Douala - Cameroon on Thu Dec 09 2010

I will advice many people to buy acura MDX it is a reliable and comfortable car for family and friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED

by catwinks from new orleans , LA on Tue Aug 08 2017

I bought my MDX used with 70K miles on it. I now have 210K miles! The only problem I ever had was a water pump issue and it was covered under warranty. I have been very diligent with the maintenance; oil changes, wear and tear parts replaced, etc. This car is roomy buy very nimble to drive. I will be sad when it stops running. (whenever that will be ).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car & Driver Said it best!

by Ekatmax1 from Houston, TX on Fri May 04 2007

I bought this car in preparation for starting a family and was impressed with the luxury, outstanding safety, and surprisingly good fuel economy for a vehicle that could accommodate 7. After almost 4 years of owning it, I'm sad to part ways with it. But I would buy it again in an instant!!! No words can adequately express my supreme satisfaction with my MDX!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car I've Owned

by CameronEvans from Chicago, IL on Fri Jul 07 2017

I owned this car for 17 years. It was reliable the whole time, drove smooth and felt safe. The inside was spacious and made it perfect for everything from road trips with family to moving furniture. It didn't require repairs for many years, and held up for many trips across the country. By the time I chose to retire it, it had 234,000 miles on it. At that point, the repairs exceeded the value of the car. Overall, it was a really reliable car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Brian C. from Florida on Tue Apr 01 2008

The MDX is an all around great vehicle. It is refined inside and out; it drives well and has proven to be very safe. I have owned the vehicle for many years and still enjoy driving it everyday. I can't bring myself to trade it in. Useful for trips to Home Depot and easy to manage with small kids.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sweet ride

by Richard from Jeffersonville, IN on Sat Nov 04 2006

There are few cars that i have owned in my lifetime of 35 yrs. (5) but this is hands down the best one. I love my "X". The overall ride,quality,handling is great. Only a few gripes such as the glovebox rattles when temp drops below 60 F. The others are not worth mentioning. It is so versatile and comfortable and believe me, it is pretty peppy too. Watch out for high dealer service costs- I do most of the maintenance like oil,differential fluid, coolant, trany change myself-piece of cake. I purchased mine at 54000 miles with acura certified warranty. It now has 87000 and I have not had any major issues. Anyway, you will not be dissapointed with this one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable SUV

by Simply2cunning on Sun Jul 23 2017

So glad that my husband night this SUV for me 4 years ago. It is so reliable and never really had problems with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good vehicle upkeep can be pricey

by Car admirer from Toledo on Wed Aug 16 2017

Comfortable riding vehicle gas mileage could be better transmission issue can set you back a few dollars

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just Solid

by MDX Owner from White Plains, NY on Tue Nov 11 2008

I bought my MDX with 108K on it. I have had it for 6 months now, and have 115K. This is just an all-around solid vehicle. It's as inoffensive as a vehicle can be. The ride is quite comfortable and yet it handles as well as a sporty car. There's barely any lean on turn, and it simply sticks to the road. The thing that really stands out to me is how well everything works. Well over 100K and the seats are still great, not too mushy. Everything works perfectly. Every button, every lever, everything you touch is solid. Even opening and closing the windows and moonroof is a joy. There is a wonderful solid thud with each window/door/lock and every power option is trust inspiring. Make no mistake, this is not a Bentley, or a Porsche, but it is about as good in every area as a car can be. One note: '01-'02 MDX/Pilot/Odyssey had a tranny problem from design. You can go to Acura's website and enter your vin, and it will tell you if the recall was taken care of. Most had a jet oil kit installed to get fluid to the 2nd gear which was burning out too soon. That being said, 95% of these vehicles have been fine. Most of the others had the trannys replaced under the extended warranty, or quite often Honda has split the cost to install a reman. Your absolute worst case scenario would be a tranny replacement at a cost of roughly $3000. But remember, most MDXs are perfectly fine, and that $3K is mostly already reflected in the resale value. You can pick up a good '01 for about $10K, which is significantly less than you would pay for anything else that would even come close to the quality of this vehicle. Also, it's my experience that Acura/Honda takes great pride in their reliability ratings, and will almost always offer some concession to ensure the owner is satisfied. Buy it, you'll love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Acura MDX

Acura MDX is a vehicle that does a lot of things well. Stylish, capable and comfortable, it's the kind of vehicle we've come to expect from Honda's luxury division. MDX is a true multifunctional creature, a sport utility that works well as a seven-passenger minivan, loads cargo like a panel truck and handles like a sedan. It even accelerates like a sports car.

Introduced for the 2001 model year, MDX was hailed as a far-sight better than the rebadged Isuzu Trooper that was being sold as an Acura. Good thing, too, since Acura needed to bolster its offerings in this land of SUV obsession. MDX also won awards from magazines and auto writers who were impressed by its versatility and driving... Read More