2017 Acura Mdx

All Reviews

1-10 of 74 reviews
Test drive review

by from Cincinnati, Ohio on July 1, 2017

Wanted comfort, reliability, intuitive technology and sporty drive in a SUV. Researched, test-drove (including renting SUVs for business trips) and compared models I deemed viable for a 2+week road trip. Finalists were the Lexus RX and Acura MDX. German brands, too expensive for purchase and service. Korean models, lacked heft. American durability remains questionable. Have owned both Lexus and Acura cars. Equally great quality and value. Dilemma time. Styling became deciding factor... couldn't overcome the ghastly front grill on the Lexus. With 600 miles now on the odometer, am pleased with everything on the MDX except thigh support in driver's seat. Technology package meets my expectations. Fun to drive. Confidence in the quality and value. No regrets in choosing the MDX.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Cooper City, Florida on December 12, 2016

The styling, safety features and handling are the pros for the MDX. The cons are the adaptive cruise control and pairing of an android device. It is enjoyable to drive and gets great mileage on the road. This is the second MDX I have leased. Much improved over 2014.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Thornwood ny on January 10, 2017

It drives nice but transmission doesn't change gears smoothly. It tends to lunge forward when changing, other than that it's pretty good.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Oceanside, NY on June 22, 2017

Very good performance. Worth of investment. The style is sporty and the engine performance is quieter than expected. Acura MDX is definitely comparable to European cars that are way more expensive than Japanese cars. I like the third row seat that is part of the base of the car, as well as the sunroof. It would been better if the leather interior is napa leather as part of the basic details of the car.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Mableton, Gerogia on March 15, 2017

I have driven a Lexus GX470 for ten years. I love that car but, I had it for ten years and it was time to change. The MDX did not disappoint me at all! It handles well and if fun to drive! I love all the technology upgrades which are easy to use. I'm going to save money on gas and maintenance yet I did not have to give up comfort, luxury, or style. It's not as big or as smooth as the GX but, in my opnion the MDX is a great car for the money!
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Ruskin on February 15, 2018

Traded a 2012 MDX for this 2017. Except for fuel mileage, the 2012 was a much better vehicle. The 17 just doesn't feel as solid or as well built as our previous MDX, I even brought it back to the dealer to check for loose nuts and bolts. Also, the 9 speed transmission is rough shifting in the low gears and should not be in a car that's supposed to be a luxury vehicle. I would not buy this vehicle for that reason alone.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from DFW, Texas on September 1, 2016

Open pore natural wood accents, contrast stitching and piping on the seats, second row captains chairs, and power folding side mirrors combine to take the step up the MDX Advance's level of luxury. These features combined with a well-behaved 9-speed and the venerable and efficient V6 engine make for a drama-free ride. The 360-degree backup camera and parking sensors add a lot of confidence when backing in or out of a parking spot. These features are very helpful given the high hood and long wheelbase. On the downside, cargo capacity is small given the size of the vehicle. The high floor and low roof line limit the height of what can be placed in the back. There is a small enclosed area in the back floor but a large family should seek other more practical options. Overall it's a fantastic vehicle that provides a level of features and refinement that matches competitors' more expensive offerings. We're expecting it to serve as a reliable vehicle for many years.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Virginia Beach, VA on May 29, 2017

Upgraded from a 2003 MDX. I'm 6' 7" and there is plenty of room up front with enough room behind me for an average adult. Overall the MDX offered more room than the Lexus RX and Subaru we were also considering. Interior is beautiful, gas mileage better than expected, and the safety technology is phenomenal. If reliability is even close to my 2003 model, I'll have this vehicle for a long time.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by from Dallas on May 17, 2017

This is a powerful and smart vehicle. The interior and exterior are luxurious. The ride is not smooth. The engine restart mode when the break is released is rough. The digital control and displays are not friendly.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

by on July 25, 2017

I bought this car a year ago. It's a beautiful car, but the navigation system doesn't work. It hasn't since I drove it home that first day. Have had it in the shop 3 different times. Now working with Acura corporate. They've said it's a software issue. Don't know when they will have it figured out, but they'll "let me know." Can not believe I spent this much money for the package and car, and it hasn't worked for a year. Have always loved Acura but am very disappointed. It will be my last Acura.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?
See Model Details
Our Expert Review: 2017 Acura Mdx