2017 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2017 Acura MDX

$44,050 - $58,500  MSRP Range
2017 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

91 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2017 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 91 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I like it

by Patc from Thornwood ny on January 10, 2017

It drives nice but transmission doesn't change gears smoothly. It tends to lunge forward when changing, other than that it's pretty good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much improved over 2014 MDX

by Chuck from Cooper City, Florida on December 12, 2016

The styling, safety features and handling are the pros for the MDX. The cons are the adaptive cruise control and pairing of an android device. It is enjoyable to drive and gets great mileage on the road. This is the second MDX I have leased. Much improved over 2014.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money.

by Ray of Acura from Oceanside, NY on June 22, 2017

Very good performance. Worth of investment. The style is sporty and the engine performance is quieter than expected. Acura MDX is definitely comparable to European cars that are way more expensive than Japanese cars. I like the third row seat that is part of the base of the car, as well as the sunroof. It would been better if the leather interior is napa leather as part of the basic details of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Acura goes downhill with 9 speed transmission

by Rsylvestre from Ruskin on February 15, 2018

Traded a 2012 MDX for this 2017. Except for fuel mileage, the 2012 was a much better vehicle. The 17 just doesn't feel as solid or as well built as our previous MDX, I even brought it back to the dealer to check for loose nuts and bolts. Also, the 9 speed transmission is rough shifting in the low gears and should not be in a car that's supposed to be a luxury vehicle. I would not buy this vehicle for that reason alone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new MDX!

by Tampa's MDX from Mableton, Gerogia on March 15, 2017

I have driven a Lexus GX470 for ten years. I love that car but, I had it for ten years and it was time to change. The MDX did not disappoint me at all! It handles well and if fun to drive! I love all the technology upgrades which are easy to use. I'm going to save money on gas and maintenance yet I did not have to give up comfort, luxury, or style. It's not as big or as smooth as the GX but, in my opnion the MDX is a great car for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

acura mdx

by janice from easton,pa on May 15, 2018

It has been a great car and one of best of the 7 MDX that we have had. I would probably entertain purchasing another Acura MDX.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best MDX I've owned and this is my 3rd!

by J Smada from Greenville, SC on June 3, 2017

Smooth ride meets high tech! Hot weather....just jump in and the air is cool and the seats automatically go to COOL! Sit in the back and feel like you are in a theater with premium sound and watching a GREAT movie! Pull your golf cart to the beach in this beauty!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The last vehicle I buy??

by PutterBob from Cincinnati, Ohio on July 1, 2017

Wanted comfort, reliability, intuitive technology and sporty drive in a SUV. Researched, test-drove (including renting SUVs for business trips) and compared models I deemed viable for a 2+week road trip. Finalists were the Lexus RX and Acura MDX. German brands, too expensive for purchase and service. Korean models, lacked heft. American durability remains questionable. Have owned both Lexus and Acura cars. Equally great quality and value. Dilemma time. Styling became deciding factor... couldn't overcome the ghastly front grill on the Lexus. With 600 miles now on the odometer, am pleased with everything on the MDX except thigh support in driver's seat. Technology package meets my expectations. Fun to drive. Confidence in the quality and value. No regrets in choosing the MDX.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quick Review of the MDX Advance

by MDX Family from DFW, Texas on September 1, 2016

Open pore natural wood accents, contrast stitching and piping on the seats, second row captains chairs, and power folding side mirrors combine to take the step up the MDX Advance's level of luxury. These features combined with a well-behaved 9-speed and the venerable and efficient V6 engine make for a drama-free ride. The 360-degree backup camera and parking sensors add a lot of confidence when backing in or out of a parking spot. These features are very helpful given the high hood and long wheelbase. On the downside, cargo capacity is small given the size of the vehicle. The high floor and low roof line limit the height of what can be placed in the back. There is a small enclosed area in the back floor but a large family should seek other more practical options. Overall it's a fantastic vehicle that provides a level of features and refinement that matches competitors' more expensive offerings. We're expecting it to serve as a reliable vehicle for many years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the technology!!

by Brooks from Virginia Beach, VA on May 29, 2017

Upgraded from a 2003 MDX. I'm 6' 7" and there is plenty of room up front with enough room behind me for an average adult. Overall the MDX offered more room than the Lexus RX and Subaru we were also considering. Interior is beautiful, gas mileage better than expected, and the safety technology is phenomenal. If reliability is even close to my 2003 model, I'll have this vehicle for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2017 Acura MDX

The verdict:

The restyled 2017 Acura MDX includes more standard safety and convenience features than before and delivers the kind of quiet, comfortable driving experience expected of a three-row luxury SUV, but its unnecessarily complex controls are frustrating to use.

Versus the competition:

The MDX drives better than some competitors, but its price gets high quickly as you add options.

With a base price of $44,890, including a $940 destination charge, the MDX is priced to compete with models like the Infiniti QX60, Buick Enclave and Lexus GX 460. A fully loaded MDX, however, costs considerably more; our test model had optional all-wheel drive, plus Acura’s Entertainment, Technology and Advance packages, bringing its as-tested price to $59,340.

Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz all offer three-row luxury SUVs, but their starting prices are higher — considerably higher, in some cases.

Exterior & Styling

A lot of criticism has been heaped on Acura for its shield-style grille, but that look is now on the way out in favor of the new pentagon-shaped design worn by... Read More