2017 MDX

Consumer Reviews

$23,926 - $35,538  MSRP Range
2017 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

124 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I like it

by Patc from Thornwood ny on Tue Jan 10 2017

It drives nice but transmission doesn't change gears smoothly. It tends to lunge forward when changing, other than that it's pretty good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Much improved over 2014 MDX

by Chuck from Cooper City, Florida on Mon Dec 12 2016

The styling, safety features and handling are the pros for the MDX. The cons are the adaptive cruise control and pairing of an android device. It is enjoyable to drive and gets great mileage on the road. This is the second MDX I have leased. Much improved over 2014.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money.

by Ray of Acura from Oceanside, NY on Thu Jun 22 2017

Very good performance. Worth of investment. The style is sporty and the engine performance is quieter than expected. Acura MDX is definitely comparable to European cars that are way more expensive than Japanese cars. I like the third row seat that is part of the base of the car, as well as the sunroof. It would been better if the leather interior is napa leather as part of the basic details of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money on the market

by Bill99 from Michigan on Sat Dec 15 2018

We have purchased Honda vehicles for years and stepped up to the Acura. We compared to Mercedes, Audi and other high end cars. Standard features were typically add on at the other manufacturers that raised the price. Reliability of the MDX is legendary.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new MDX!

by Tampa's MDX from Mableton, Gerogia on Wed Mar 15 2017

I have driven a Lexus GX470 for ten years. I love that car but, I had it for ten years and it was time to change. The MDX did not disappoint me at all! It handles well and if fun to drive! I love all the technology upgrades which are easy to use. I'm going to save money on gas and maintenance yet I did not have to give up comfort, luxury, or style. It's not as big or as smooth as the GX but, in my opnion the MDX is a great car for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best MDX I've owned and this is my 3rd!

by J Smada from Greenville, SC on Sat Jun 03 2017

Smooth ride meets high tech! Hot weather....just jump in and the air is cool and the seats automatically go to COOL! Sit in the back and feel like you are in a theater with premium sound and watching a GREAT movie! Pull your golf cart to the beach in this beauty!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4th reliable Acura I have owned

by Tim W from St. Louis on Sat Jun 15 2019

Great vehicle for reliability, comfort, performance, style. This is the 4th Acura and the 2nd MDX. I would recommend the TL and MDX to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE My 2017 Acura MDX

by SusieQ from NE Ohio on Thu Jul 11 2019

Great car - love the look inside & out. Comfortable & fun to drive - plenty of room! Plan to keep this car for many years - purchased it CPO w/23K miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

acura mdx

by janice from easton,pa on Tue May 15 2018

It has been a great car and one of best of the 7 MDX that we have had. I would probably entertain purchasing another Acura MDX.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and sporty

by Mats Philip from Philadelphia on Thu Aug 22 2019

I love my MDX. Enough space and looks sporty. We don't feel we are driving a big one unlike others. Third raw seems to be tiny but if you adjust first and second raw when in use there is plenty of space for two adults. my twin daughters of 20 year old fit enought in the thrd raw when needed. Best performance. Best family car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2017 Acura MDX

The verdict:


The restyled 2017 Acura MDX includes more standard safety and convenience features than before and delivers the kind of quiet, comfortable driving experience expected of a three-row luxury SUV, but its unnecessarily complex controls are frustrating to use.

Versus the competition:


The MDX drives better than some competitors, but its price gets high quickly as you add options.

With a base price of $44,890, including a $940 destination charge, the MDX is priced to compete with models like the Infiniti QX60, Buick Enclave and Lexus GX 460. A fully loaded MDX, however, costs considerably more; our test model had optional all-wheel drive, plus Acura’s Entertainment, Technology and Advance packages, bringing its as-tested price to $59,340.

Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz all offer three-row luxury SUVs, but their starting prices are higher — considerably higher, in some cases.

Exterior & Styling

A lot of criticism has been heaped on Acura for its shield-style grille, but that look is now on the way out in favor of the new pentagon-shaped design worn by the 2017 MDX. Inspired... Read More