NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2019 Acura MDX

$44,300 - $60,050  MSRP Range
2019 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

37 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I will only drive an Acura MDX.

by Jill R from Harrison, Ohio on Sun Dec 30 2018

I was in a head-on collision in my 2017 MDX and lived to walk out of the hospital. My vehicle was totaled as was the other person’s car who crossed the th double solid center line passing another vehicle. This is the only car I want! My auto brake assist, airbags, and seatbelt did what they were supposed to do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle with Excellent Value for the Money!

by BobbyRobMN from Minneapolis, MN on Thu Dec 13 2018

I've owned the vehicle for 2 months and it is great. Performance and styling are great and I haven't had anything needing repair so great initial quality (time will tell in regards to long term reliability). Android Auto/Apple Car Play, refined 9 speed and active dampers really make it a joy to drive. Any previous issues/complaints with the ZF9 speed transmission really appear to have been ironed out in my 2019. Only main gripe so far is the driver foot rest / dead pedal is a bit too close, too wide, and at too steep an angle for comfort. I'm 6' and it bothers me. More of a nuisance then a real problem but definitely wish I had an extra inch or 2 of legroom for my left leg. Another complaint (minor) is that the Adaptive Cruise Control works but is touchy. While it works well and brings the vehicle to a complete stop in stop and go traffic as advertised, acceleration can be somewhat aggressive/rough at times but overall it works great. Just wish it were a little less agressive with the throttle so it was more smooth. Compared with the Q7 and QX60 and glad I decided on the MDX. The Q7 would have been a great vehicle but ultimately I was concerned about long term reliability, cost of maintenance/parts, and the added cost in terms of purchase price and subscription fees to fully use the virtual cockpit/headsup display with navigation/route guidance. In terms of available features and value for the money it's really hard to beat the MDX.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car

by CarGirl from San Jose, CA on Mon Aug 06 2018

I love the way the SUV looks. From the driving and handling, to the comfortable interior and trim. I love the features as well, and also the space!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable ride and experience

by Tonya from Naugatuck ct on Mon Apr 01 2019

This car is a model I have had my eye on for awhile. I am so happy with it. It is beautiful inside and out. The drive experience is comfortable and quiet. Very spacious. There are a ton of features in this car that are great to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought it, but it's nice!

by Darron from Danville CA on Mon Feb 25 2019

I came in looking for a replacement for my late model Lexus. The MDX SUV provides all of the snow performance I need to drive to Tahoe, but also is very stylish, comfortable for the whole family. So far, very very satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

everything is good only the mpg lower expectation

by Jack@Fremont from Fremont,CA on Mon Nov 12 2018

I like the car with good interior and exterior looking , comfortable , good handling , safety features make me feel safe, It's a nice car enjoy the driving everyday.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!!!

by Carrie from Loveland, Ohio on Wed Jan 16 2019

Amazing car to drive. So comfortable. Had a great salesperson at Superior Acura in Cincinnati. Talk to Randy Harrison to buy your next amazing Acura!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury quality for good price

by Denny from Exeter, NH on Sun Nov 25 2018

This car rides and handles excellently! It has a very smooth transmission and is very reliable. I have already committed to another 3 year MDX lease.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my MDX

by JaniceM from Wilmer, AL on Fri Mar 08 2019

My new MDX is by far the nicest, most luxurious vehicle we’ve ever owned. I am thoroughly enjoying driving it! It handles really well, and wasn’t difficult to adjust to at all, from a sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the new car!

by JAMES from Apple Valley on Mon Oct 15 2018

This car is the "just right" size for our family of 4 and all the activities we do. With hauling around sporting equipment and friends, this is the right car for both commuting and our activities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2019 Acura MDX

The verdict:

The MDX is a stylish family hauler that capably mixes utility and sport, but its luxury credentials are less impressive.

Versus the competition:

The MDX matches other luxury SUVs on features and technology but drops the ball on cabin materials.

The Acura MDX gets its third consecutive year of updates for 2019, signaling the importance to Acura both of this class and of SUVs in general. The MDX competes against premium and luxury three-row mid-size SUVs like the Audi Q7, Buick Enclave and Infiniti QX60. Compare it with those models here.

Changes abound for the refreshed MDX, including a needed update to its nine-speed automatic transmission, upgraded interior materials and a more seamless engine stop-start system. All that adds $100 to the MDX's base price, so it now starts at $45,295 (including destination). Compare the 2019 MDX with last year's model here.

Also new for 2019 is an A-Spec variant, which happened to... Read More