2000 TL

Consumer Reviews

2000 Acura TL

$517 - $6,429  MSRP Range
2000 Acura TL

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

25 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful and the most reliable car in the World

by chi-town-money-maker from Chicago,IL on Sun Apr 03 2011

Acura TL is by far one of the best cars Acura has created. The style, performance and reliablilty will out perform any germany car in the market. I mean look it up yourself, you will not find too many MB that are on sale with over 150,000 miles, seriously because these MB that cost retail over $90K will never give you any reliablilty. I love my TL and I will drive it until my wheels fall off, and then maybe replace my wheels and drive it some more. 2000 TL is the best, do regular maint, and your grandson will be driving it 10 years from now with over 325,000 miles, serisouly. Don't buy German cars, they SUCK cause they don't last ever

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TL rides

by TL rides from Los Angeles on Sat Aug 19 2006

excellent car if you are looking for a used car that performs like new, I owned this car for over 4 years I drive over 80 milles a day and have no problem at all, good mpg on the highway, however they could do a better job with the sport shift but overall its a 5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever-just too small for growing family

by nothing exciting but my car from Parker, CO on Sun May 06 2007

I have owned my 2000 3.2TL for 4 years now and love my car, in fact, I am procrastinating selling it even though with my new baby we are packed into it and we need more room. It has been perfectly reliable and a true joy to drive-strongly recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Transmission problems

by ced87 from montgomery , Al on Wed Jun 30 2010

i have owned my 2000 TL for 2 1/2 years. It is a comfortable vehicle and responds very well to the road. the motor is very strong and quiet , but the transmission sucks. I replaced the first one at 179,000 mile. the second one went out at 195,000. Overall it is a great hwy car, but acura should be ashame for putting such a weak transmission in such a beautiful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

she's one sweet ride

by Pistol Pete from Minneapolis, Minnesota on Fri Aug 07 2009

one down fall to the car was the whole trans. fluke. i was fortunate enough to be under the mile mark where my tranny was replaced free of charge. but besides that i 100% love my car. i did make the necessary alterations like tinted windows, fog lights, better looking rims, cold air intake, etc. but i wouldn't trade it for any other car. well almost any other car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've had since I started driving

by Gabulldawg01 from Georgua on Sun May 13 2018

This is the best car I've ever owned. I've had it for almost a year now and 75,000 miles later(yes I've driven it that far) it's still the same great, reliable car it was when I got it. 235,000 miles and no problems at all. The leather has held up, the radio and system is still amazing, and after a super cheap tune up, it still gas all the power it had when it was brand new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned.

by Hondalifer on Tue Oct 03 2017

Should be named the Acura Reliable. Great car with great features and luxurious. Won't break the bank like a German car on maintenance or repairs. 200K+ miles and counting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CARS

by TL DRIVER from LOUISVILLE, KY on Wed Sep 16 2015

IVE OWNED MANY CARS IN THE PAST. WHEN I GOT MY TL, I LOVED IT. WITH 265,00 MILES, I'LL HAVE ANOTHER.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mrs

by acura fans from Chucago on Sun May 12 2013

Good car for every age . Vary safety and comfortable , for every day and long trip.Great value prize , for working familie .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

used car for HS kid

by New high school driver from Overland Park, KS on Mon Sep 15 2014

Great car for HS kid first car. GOt it with under 100K miles and have not had any troubles except for SRS light repair. SRS repair is costly but want to ensure air bags work with teens in car. Engine-wise the car is in great shape and plan to have it for our teenager through his college years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Acura TL

I was in a sporting mood, so I headed for the District of Columbia. The city's lousy streets are perfect for testing suspensions and vehicle maneuverability. I was driving the 2000 Acura 3.2TL sedan, a car that handles beautifully on smooth highways and winding back roads. I wanted to see if it had any funk.

That's "funk" as in dance, jazz, motorized hip-hop. D.C. streets, with their potholes, dig sites and pathetic patchwork, have a way of upsetting cars and trucks. Vehicles lose their rhythm. They halt before dips, panic-brake at pothole edges and quiver nervously in the vicinity of cable digs.

Even drivers of mighty sport-utility vehicles pause before traversable cracks and ruts, which... Read More