2002 TL

Consumer Reviews
2002 Acura TL

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

34 Reviews
2002 Acura TL
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

power

by tom from California on January 5, 2009

Great car once the tranny was fixed. I give Honda a lot of credit for making their service solid. 288,000 and going strong. amazing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

all around great sport sedan (type-S)

by acura owner from chicago on February 4, 2011

After 80k miles it has all the energy, keeps comfort, good milleage and never breaks. keep rotating tires often to give them more longevity; 260bhp are a bit demanding on the front wheel drive. very few choices of good all-year tires if you live in cold climates (expect at least $700-800) a set.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I ever had

by LBJay from Long Beach CA on September 22, 2008

I got the car in Sept 2004 with 39K on it is now Sept 08 with 143K on it. Only problem is the radio going to anti-theft mode and the code not working to unlock it at 120K. Other then that it has been usual maintenance of tires, oil changes, and battery. The brakes seem to last forever by the way have not changed them yet. By the far the best of my 3 cars over my 16 years of driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by edelman from Columbus, OH on February 10, 2009

I love this car. Never had any problems, super comfortable, great features, and strong as a tank. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sold on the Acura TL Type S

by Mountain Man from NC on May 5, 2017

I bought this TL Type S used with 140,000 miles on it over 4 and a half years ago. It now has 213,500 miles on it and runs just as good as the day I bought it. I knew the person I bought it from had taken good care of it and that is why I bought it with such high mileage. Also, knew he had the problematic transmission issue known on the 99-03 TL's taken care of. I've owned a Camry, Accord, Saturn and a Lexus ES 300 and the Acura TLS beats them all and it's not even close. It has more power than you need (267 hp in the Type S) and the suspension is solid. The car has never been out of alignment and really hugs the road for an old luxury car yet Still drives like a new luxury car. The only negatives is the large turning radius, as others have mentioned and requiring premium gas. In NC premium usually sells for 50 to 80 cents more than regular. If you can find a used one that has been well maintained with regular oil changes and the owner used premium gas I would say you have a car that should get 300,000 miles on it. I feel like mine will. Not sure about the newer TL's but these older models are great dependable cars. If they have high mileage it probably means the transmission issue was fixed. If it was, you will have great used car with a lot of life left in it. I can honestly say it's the best car I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 99 Acura TL.

by tonetone from minneapolis, MN on July 27, 2018

I bought my TL a little over two years ago with 154k. When I was searching for a new car I had the Lexus ES in mind, the Toyota Avalon/Camry, Honda accord and the TL was an after thought more so because of researching the transmission dilemma of this generation. Two years later, I'm in love with this car. I love that i get a feel of the road and it is pretty comfortable as well. pretty good in the winter. it has a little road noise but that is totally fine. Plus, it is reliable but then again, it is a Honda. I am currently at 184k miles and plan on driving it till the wheels fall off. When that time comes that i have to part it, I will more than likely get a newer TL or the RDX. Love the brand.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Acura from Maryland on August 21, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this car. I bought it used and drove up the miles. Only things replaced were the timing belt and breaks. Very reliable and safe car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Entry Level Luxury Car

by Chandler from Bloomfield, NJ on October 9, 2006

This is a wonderful car. I would recomend getting the navigation system if you are looking into an accura. Other than that, this car has it all. I feel it is reliable and safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Acura TL

by TL from on September 15, 2012

The best vehicle I've owned. As with all cars, some parts needed to be replaced over time. After ten years, though, it nearly runs like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car, shouldn't have been made in auto

by S on June 17, 2018

This car was awesome as a first car. It definetly should only be made in standard, the automatic transmissions are notorious for breaking down, kind of a bummer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2002 Acura TL