Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2013 TL

Consumer Reviews

2013 Acura TL

$11,461 - $22,313  MSRP Range
2013 Acura TL

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

51 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not perfect, but better than the rest (for the $)

by Only sports sedan really worth the $$$ from Tallmadge, OH on Tue Feb 25 2014

I've had the SH-AWD w/Advance package (auto) for over a year now. I spent a ton of time test driving and researching luxury/performance sedans. In the end, I opted for the wise choice...not the "I want to look cool and don't care if I spend thousands on repairs" choice. Yes, I really liked the Audi A4, but it's smaller, has less power, and I don't care what anyone says...not as reliable as the TL. People with a ton of money don't care about resale value, etc., but I do. If you want a comfortable ride, lots of technology, and pretty darn good performance (without going to the repair shop), then this car is for you. If you care more about image and looks and are loaded, then buy something else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2013 TL Tech (no AWD)

by Null from St. Louis, MO on Tue Sep 13 2016

I got a good deal on a used lease turn in with 13,000 miles. A lot of these are being turned in off leases currently. The TL is a fantastic vehicle. The non-AWD version is cheaper and rides a little smoother, usually costing less. But if fast turns are your thing, the AWD does an amazing job in controlling an otherwise heavy car. It's pretty big by today's standards, but cheap for mid-size luxury. You might also consider the Lexus ES350, Hyundai Genesis, Cadillac CTS. Features: The list of standard features is superb, but I strongly advise getting the Tech package at minimum. The value difference is enormous. The ELS audio system sounds amazing with a bluetooth source. However, the TL in any guise feels pretty outdated compared to any loaded 2017 and especially against the TLX. Despite the Super Nintendo graphics on the nav system, it's actually convenient and works pretty well. Don't expect all the interactive features to work well - I just sort of ignore them except for weather. Drive: This was the seller for me. The ride is smooth and quiet but not numb. You can inflate the tires far past recommended for an even better ride. Acceleration is a pure joy - strong, consistent, and the revs sound amazing. Just be warned that MPG is pretty bad - I don't drive long distances often enough to care. Interior: Best car seats I've ever sat in. Another seller. Soft but still supportive. Lots of storage and compartments. The black is very classy (subjective) and modern against chrome look accents. The steering wheel feels smooth. No folding rear seats however. Reliability/resale: Maintenance is cheap. The car feels very solid. I did have the tire pressure monitors ALL fail at once, 16k miles, covered by warranty. Acura has amazing resale value and predicted longevity - "drive it till it dies" might be a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth & Powerful

by Car Enthusiast from Mt. Kisco, NY on Fri Jun 21 2013

We love our TL, this is our second which replaced our 2005 that had about 120,000 miles. The toughest part of our decision process was convincing my wife to say goodbye to the 2005 TL. We've had our New TL for about a month now and have put it through its paces. The car is unbelievably quiet and smooth. The first week that we had the car we took a trip to Canada, nine hours each way, the car was outstanding comfortable ride, supportive seating, great accelaration and better than 28mpg, what more could you ask for. On our return trip we drove through four hours of heavy rain, and again our TL showed us that it was not just a fair weather friend, it was glued to the pavement and responsive despite the adverse conditions. Acura knows how th get it right for those of us that enjoy driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unique Tourer!

by Car Lover from Iowa on Sun Feb 09 2014

After two Infiniti G35s (2003 and 2006), I purchased a 2013 Acura TL SH-AWD with the Technology Package 6MT -- the only configuration in which I could get a manual transmission -- in March 2013. While it is very capable of carving up canyon roads at illegal speeds, I have to say that it is best appreciated as a very competent, athletic touring car rather than as a sports sedan. It is absolutely unique and a compelling value: 300+ HP in a V6,+ AWD + Sport Suspension + Tech Features + Midsize Room and Comfort, for only about 40K of real-world money. It is the car for people who have grown up on sports sedans, switching their preferences to a little bit more of comfort and luxury over performance as they mature. I love my car and its all-weather capabilities. Some aspects of the exterior could have been slightly modified, and I would have liked a little bit more trunk room. But that is quibbling. Love it for what it is -- a superb touring car and a screaming value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car! It just wants to move!!!

by Femi from Baltimore on Thu Feb 02 2017

TL Advanced SHAWD I had always wanted a BMW 535 X drive. I also shopped the E350 4matic and looked at the panamera 4 and CLS 4matic. I decided to go with the TL for now because of bang to buck. Pushing out over 300HP and delivering superb handling even at top speed and at sharp curves, thanks to the SH-AWD I can't complain about the performance of this car. Seems to me that Acura is kinda confused! I would but the TL over the TLX!!! Are u kidding me? The TLX doesn't come close to the TL in terms of performance and styling. Forget about those bells and whistle like forward collision xxx. I love my TL and it is my everyday car. It pushes me back when I step on the gas and this beast just wants to move! Like seriously I'm always happy on the highway with little traffic. Sometimes I turn down the music just to listen to the sound of the engine! I bought peace of mind and easy maintenance on wallet because it is an Honda! I purchased this car at 29k miles for less than $25k. If you are in the market for a car in this range or if u r thinking about buying a new TLX, test drive this car first and thank me later! BTW I am frugal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lexus

by jon from Napels fl on Fri Apr 19 2013

I have owned many cars in my life. Mercedes, BMW, and Lexus and Acura. By far the best cars have been the Lexus models. Never a problem , great service. But this time I chose a Acura because it had blind side monitoring which will help my wife since she can only see out of one eye.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic motor car

by Philip F from VA on Sun Jul 21 2013

I am delighted with the handling characteristics of the TL! When you approach a corner, the car just glides right through it with ease and little or no effort on my part. It is comfortable and beautiful inside. The Tech version takes a bit of learning but, as a retired Naval Aviator I can tell you it is close to flying my helicopters! It is wonderful in all respects. Enjoy the ride, enjoy the tech and enjoy the price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd TL

by TonyB4GT from Iowa on Thu May 30 2013

When I decided on the front-wheel drive, Phantom Blue Pearl TL with the Advance Package, I didn?t realize that it was such a unique choice. Three dealers were working on finding one for me; one finally did ? 3 states away! Glad that they did, as I love this car and have been getting tons of compliments on it, which begs the question of why it?s so hard to find? My only complaint, and it?s a minor one, is that there is only one interior choice if you pick the blue exterior. It is a metallic trim and I prefer woodgrain; hence the 3 star rating. Everything else about this car is what I?ve come to expect from Acura (this is my 3rd TL). I?m having fun learning all the technology (navigation, voice recognition, audio, bluetooth). Speaking of audio, the sound system is fantastic and I really like the speed sensitive volume. While not a big deal, it would be nice if you could transfer music to the internal hard drive from sources other than CD (iPad, jump drives, etc.). There is a connection to play music from those sources, you just can?t transfer it to the hard drive and store it there for future play. Car drives like I?d expect from an Acura. Handles well in the turns. There is a slight hesitation when you punch it, but when it kicks in, the car moves! So only 4 stars on performance. I like the manual shift option when driving on curvy roads. It?s taking some getting used to the paddle shifting, vice on the gear shift knob like my previous TL, but I?m getting the hang of it. Overall, easily the best TL of the 3 that I?ve owned, hands down. I keep buying them because they are great cars ? very reliable. They just keep making this car better all the time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Value and tons of fun to drive

by Cowboy911 from Ohio on Fri Feb 12 2016

Owned 5 Acura's. Currently have 2006 MDX with ~200k miles. Still going strong, now my daughters car for school. Back to the TL, I have 2012 SH-AWD with 60k miles. Love this car, handles winters in Ohio great. But the real joy is summer driving. I wish I could floor this engine all the time, acceleration is great and the sound is a religious experience :) Cornering under acceleration is like no other care I?ve driven., The Sh-AWD absolutely rockets this car through corners like you?re on rails. Love the ride, nice combination of sport and lux, but steering is a little heavy for my taste. Some complain that the interior is too busy, but I prefer the convenience of having controls for all the common functions at my fingertips instead of having to navigate through a menu to change settings. Once you spend some time with the car the confusion disappears. We?ve always had excellent quality/durability with all of our Acura?s. This TL continues to be dependable, still feels new after 4 years and 60k miles, love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rock solid fun car!

by TL Fan4Life from Wilson, NC on Sat Jul 07 2018

I've owned 5 TLs so needless to say I'm a huge fan. The '13 has been my absolute favorite. This car is roomy, comfortable, powerful, reasonably economical, extremely reliable, sharp looking, full of features and has been a complete joy to drive and own. I think the TL is often overlooked in favor of flashier vehicles, which is unfortunate because many people will miss out on how great this car actually is. It's very underrated and under appreciated in my opinion. It may not be the very best in its class in any specific area but it does so well in almost every category and that should make it a bigger contender.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2013 Acura TL

In the world of luxury sedans, the Acura TL has lost its way.

A radical redesign in 2009 left many loyal fans of the extremely popular sedan perplexed. Slight tweaks for 2012 smoothed things out a bit, but the 2013 version adds little to last year's updates. You can compare the 2012 and 2013 models here.

That doesn't mean the TL is a bad car; styling is always subjective, and if the looks work for you, the 2013 Acura TL's robust V-6 engine, spacious interior, tech features and relative value all impress.

The editors at Cars.com recently pitted the 2013 Acura TL against five other contenders in a Sport Sedan Challenge, including the BMW 3 Series and Volvo S60, each priced no... Read More