2012 TSX

Consumer Reviews

2012 Acura TSX

$6,846 - $21,070  MSRP Range
2012 Acura TSX

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

36 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Acura TSX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best entry level premium car

by Value Buyer from Chicago on Fri Aug 31 2012

We were replacing a 2007 TSX which has been outstanding in terms of reliability, 56k miles and nothing other than oil changes and wipers. We shopped around and checked out the 2012 A4, C Class, 3 Series (the AWD version was not out yet). We fell in love with a special edition TSX we saw on the dealer floor and decided to go back to a TSX. For the price point TSX was the most value, it is only a few grand more than a loaded accord/camry/sonata and around $10k less than the other brands we were shopping for. Maybe with all the loyalty and other discounts Acura was offering TL could have been a good choice as well with just a little hit to MPG, but we went with the special edition TSX. The styling is pretty good and the SE trim adds a very sporty look and the aluminium pedals are cool. Trunk is spacious and no issues in the visibility. The drive and handling is very sporty. Would have loved a little more torque when starting. Highway driving is a little noisy and the base sound system though good enough is not awesome to keep away the noise. The SE does not have an option for navigation or upgraded audio. Steering has a good feel and feedback not too soft or not too BMWish and feels just about right. I get around 28 mpg in mixed (50% highway), 25-26 in suburban (chicago suburbs) and around around 33-34 on highway around 65-70 mph. The seats are very comfortable compared to anything else I have driven. The interior display on the base and SE is a shame. Washes away in sun light and is pretty basic, does not have an option for reverse camera which is being made standard on many cars and CUVs. The audio interface is not that great either, to repeat a track would need three clicks and some turns of the knob. If you go with the navigation system you should not have this issue. The switches and other knobs are all comfortable and conveniently located. The standard features like HIDs, fog lights, heated seats, tilting side view mirror when in reverse, rear a/c vents are awesome and will make it easier when picking trims as you just have to decide if you need an navigation/upgraded audio. If you have $40k to spend then TSX is not the car for you as you would want more luxury and power, but if you are in the $25-30k then this is the best your money can buy. I gave 4 stars for performance and interior (i really think the interior display options could have been better at this price point) but other than that this car is a home run.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura Above and Beyond

by Island Girl from Olympia, WA on Thu May 31 2012

I was ready for a new car so I did my research and test drove the BMW, Lexus, Infinity, Audi and Acura. I ended up buying another Acura - not the TL but the TSX. I found the dependability, performance, and value for the money couldn't be found with any of the other cars. For the most part, what you will pay extra for - comes standard with an Acura. I also know that the maintenance won't break you like some of the other cars. The TSX was by far the funnest car to drive out of all the others. Acura also deals with you where the others won't.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Made the most sense

by Practical buyer from Manteca, CA on Mon Aug 06 2012

Originally was looking at AWD German and Japanese brands but decided against both for reasons of cost(acquistion & maintenance/repair), MPG or performance. The TSX, even though it is FWD, handles superbly, gets very good MPG (worst tank: 26.5 MPG, best tank: 30 MPG) and was reasonably priced. I also know maintenance costs are decent as my wife has an '06 TSX. The interior quality and design is on par with the German make I was considering. The ride is very smooth for a small car and the 2.4L engine is as smooth and powerful as many V6's. I also considered the fact that HID lighting was standard and was not available on some makes/models, or was part of a $5000 option package. Yes, I spent $5K to $10K more than I needed to but it was/is well worth. If your local Acura dealer was anything like mine, you'll love them just as much as the car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT VALUE

by LTC Z from Atlanta, GA on Fri Jun 28 2013

TSX has 4 cyl engine, and even though it uses premium the average MPG in the city is 25.0 and on a recent trip it was 33.0. Car is very solid feeling while driving. It has all the extras as standard. Very satisfied with the car. I question myself why I never tried an ACURA before.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

by New England Couple from New England on Tue Mar 19 2013

We traded a Volvo S80 for this car. Obviously the S80 was bigger and more powerful. But this car is fun and nimble. It is a beautiful car. We bought a demo and saved a good chunk of change. The thing I like best is the MPG. We are averaging about 30 mpgs. And we also use regular gas. For a 4 cyl car this car has some pickup. The back seat is a little tight, but for the most part it is just me and the wife driving, so occasionally putting someone in the back seat works out fine. We have the technology package and it is very nice. The stereo is awwesome and the GPS is second to none. We love the TSX. It's an awesome car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

wagon is the way to go

by WagonK from Chicago on Wed Sep 13 2017

Zero issues in 3 years I had it so far, lots of storage since it's a wagon, wish they made these all wheel drive with manual trans for more fun driving experience, rear seats leg room might bit little tight for tall passengers, great on gas does not require premium fuel

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Quality / Honors Japanese tradition

by BRUNILSON from Miami, FL on Mon Nov 19 2012

I purchased 5 months ago the Wagon with Tech package. The car is nimble great in cornering, you do not realize you are driving a wagon. Much better in curves than my coupe and previous sedan. Its performance lacks the torque in low RPMs, but that's not its main goal. Strengths: Interior, confortable, fuel eficiente. Weakness: Performance and its confusing navigation system, without touchscreen feature. I miss my Garmin! Voice recognition is also complicated!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great "sport" sedan!

by MattLandersLimaOhio from Lima, OH on Sun May 20 2012

Purchased my TSX special edition about a month ago. The performance is great. The Lux-Suede heated leather seats are comfortable and the interior and exterior stylin cues are nice additional touches. Avg. MPG so far is around 28-29 which is great considering the hwy rating is 31. On a full tank fill up... Ive seen up to 36mpg with no stopping and going. Premium gas is optional (per dealership) but must use at least the plus grade of gas. I rated the car a 5 out of 5 stars in every category except value which was ranked 4 out of 5 simply because you can buy a Honda Accord EX-L almost just as nice for 4 grand below the MSRP of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fit my current needs and looks great

by Woody from Dayton, OH on Sat Jun 02 2012

TSX Sports Wagon is a perfect way to downsize and get room for everything you need to carry. It drive like a charm, get great gas mileage, comfortable, and reliable. What more can you ask for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my TSX "Special Edition"

by bobcat from on Mon Feb 13 2012

Love it, so do others who see it for the first time. 32+ MPG around town.Love the Red stictching & the racing pedals, and paddle shifters. GOOD PURCHASE!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2012 Acura TSX

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2011 about the 2011 Acura TSX Sport Wagon. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The TSX Sport Wagon makes me wonder why wagons aren't more popular than they are. It's practical, easy to live with and offers more flexibility than a similar sedan would. It also offers rewarding, driver-oriented performance without sacrificing comfort.

The 2011 Acura TSX Sport Wagon is a strong luxury/performance wagon for people who want something that's both practical and able to stand out from the field of sedans. Even so, it's a bit too small to... Read More