2018 A5

Consumer Reviews

$42,600 - $49,600  MSRP Range
2018 Audi A5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

41 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Audi A5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Been waiting for the model change - 2018 is IT!

by shagdancer from Lawrenceville, GA. on Wed May 31 2017

This 2018 A5 is not like all the other Audi's you see on the road. Great styling, new safety features, awesome sound system, great acceleration; this baby eats up the road and loves it. The perfect sports car, this convertible really enjoys getting around Atlanta traffic and enjoys the curvy roads of North Georgia. A real head turner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

50th Gift

by Boulder Audi from Wenham, MA on Fri Sep 01 2017

Thoroughly enjoy! Lots to learn about all bells and whistles with added technology in the last few years. Don't expect much trunk space, and cup holders are less useful for tall cups or glasses. Armrest and glove compartments could be bigger perhaps, if you want to store much. This and other cars should have flow charts to give a pictorial view of systems for those who learn less by reading. And the lawyers should put most of their warnings, oft repeated, in one front section so they don't interfere and bloat systems' descriptions. Otherwise, we love the convertible and it's abilities and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A stunning piece of art!

by Car photo on Tue Aug 28 2018

It?s a piece of art, the B9 A5 Sportback. Words don?t do justice to its beauty. It looks so sweet in real than in photos. The A5 Sportback 5 door is the ?perfect cup of tea?. An ultra sleek car that turns heads. It?s menacingly low set and that makes it lovelier than A8s and 7s. But it is also immensely practical and a delight to drive. The top end Quattro version has a engine with a mesmerising note and a silky smooth 7 speed transmission. It is a delicious combination. Drives like a gem. Those flowing lines and the power dome are simply captivating. There is no better car in the entire market imho at this time. Fit and finish - incomparable! A5 SB sets the benchmark. The S5 variant is a bit brash for my taste. A5 SB sets the bar so high that Audi?s own other models will struggle to surpass it. It?s a timeless design and Audi had nailed it. A stunning piece of art that performs spectacularly!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mister

by E2707H from Lincoln Rhode Island on Sun Apr 23 2017

The A5 handled nicely, the vertical cockpit is amazing. Very quiet, sound system is wonderful. The features easy to use

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever had.

by DrRon from Delray Beach, FL on Tue Jul 17 2018

The 2018 Audi A5 Cabrio Premium Plus is the best can I have ever owned to date. And I have been an Audi owner for a number of years. The navigation system is accurate and easy to use. The blind spot monitor works great and comes in handy every time I drive. The A5 Cabrio has plenty of room up front, and I am 6'4". Great sound system, hands free phone link, and easily-accessed controls. Love this car. ?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

everything I always wanted in a car

by rosey7 from DEMAREST on Fri Aug 24 2018

it has everything except enough interior storage areas.Style, performance,driver comfort and the hatchback rear has exceptional space.I drove up the Merritt Parkway yesterday and found out how much fun driving can be.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good - but lacks personality

by LIGatlaw from Tallahassee, Florida on Wed Dec 13 2017

I traded a 2010 A5, prestige version, in on a 2018 A5 prestige version. The engine in the 2018 is orders of magnitude better; it is smoother, feels stronger, doesn't burn oil, and is quicker (much quicker than the published 0-60 numbers). I have the steering set at the tightest it can be, and it's great - as is the dual clutch transmission. The driving characteristics are outstanding. The electronics are excellent, although much of it is wasted on me. What I don't particularly like is, first, I think the 2010 was a more beautiful car, and I miss that beauty. Next, the straight dash and lower console where it meets the dash, lack the cockpit feeling I personally like - and the interior seems sort of generic, i.e. it could just as easily be in a sedan or an SUV. And last, Audi always had a zillion little red lights in the cabin, and now nearly all are white, which adds to the feeling of a generic interior that could just as easily be in a Ford or Mazda. Overall, I think the car's driving characteristics are absolutely great, but the appearance isn't as beautiful as its predecessor, and the interior lacks the character or personality of the previous model and seems sort of bland.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexy but functional A4 Upgrade

by Scz on Sat Nov 18 2017

Moved into Sportback from 2017 A4. This car is definitely more sculptured and sexy than A4 and the hatchback allows a lot more flexibility for storage and overall use. Fit and finish superb with loads of tech yet excellent mpg on highway (35 mph). Likely most beautiful car Audi is currently offering

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing daily driver

by AudiA5 from Miami, FL on Tue Jan 23 2018

I have a 2018 A5 coupe, black on black. I was in the market for a new stick shift sports coupe and this and the BMW 430i were the only ones that caught my eye. While the bmw is slightly more engaging to drive, the Audi had a special presence to it. The interior is sleek, modern, high quality, and I fell in love with the 12 inch Virtual Cockpit cluster. The standard panaroma roof and Quattro allwheel drive were big advantages over the BMW. The BMW 4series, while nice, is aged by comparison to the Audi so it was an easy choice for me. It's great to be able to get a fully loaded German coupe with a standard transmission these days, definitely plan to hang on to this one for a while. Will update with reliability info (mine only has 1,500 miles on it now) as time progresses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Feels Modern, Upscale and High Performing

by A5Driver from Tustin on Mon Jan 22 2018

This car is fun to drive and it is loaded with cool electronic features. Some of them, like Google Earth dashboard or projected rings, are not really needed, but they are still very cool. The external design is beautiful (at least to my taste). The internal design feels modern and upscale. The sitting is very comfortable and the driving is sporty. There are tons of options and configuration features and the user interface is slick. That being said, it is not always intuitive and it feels like having an intuitive touch screen could eliminate a lot of confusion and clever, but unnecessary gimmicks, such as hand writing recognition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2018 Audi A5

The verdict:

The A5 successfully combines the key ingredients of a luxury sports coupe: style and performance.

Versus the competition:

The A5 really needed this redesign, and its improvements in performance, technology and luxury put it among the class leaders.

Redesigned for 2018, the Audi A5 coupe looks similar to the previous generation, but don't let that fool you — the A5 is improved in many facets and better than ever before.

The two-door Audi A5 shares a lot of mechanical similarities with the four-door A4 sedan, which was redesigned in 2017 and recently took home the crown in our Luxury Sports Sedan Challenge. This was a big leap for the A4, which placed fifth out of six contestants in the previous Challenge in 2013. The A5 had to wait an extra year to get its redesign, but the changes mimic what was done to the A4, and that's an excellent place to start. Compare the 2018 A5 with last year's model here.

The A5... Read More