2001 A6

Consumer Reviews

2001 Audi A6

$8 - $8,244  MSRP Range
2001 Audi A6

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

26 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Audi A6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car, but...

by ...bill from Olympia, WA on Fri Jan 27 2012

I own a 2001 A6 2.7T. Bought it new, so I've seen it all. I still love this car, but I do all work myself. These are beautiful comfortable cars, plus 4WD, with great engine performance (dual turbos). If this car were still under warrantee then there are no hesitations recommending buying one. However at 11 years old, you'll probably be on your own for maintenance. This is a very complicated machine. If you pay someone else for your car repairs: -Make sure the timing belt has been replaced sometime during the past 50K miles. Otherwise you'll have to get that done at about $1000 from an independent shop (way more at Audi). -Ask if the torque converter (in the auto transmission) has been replaced. All of these cars had trouble with torque converters up to 2004. If not replaced, expect that to fail. ~$1500-$3000 depending on how badly it affects the transmission. -Have someone look into the air turbo outlets and assess their condition (no metal filings, not much oil). Turbo replacement can cost over $3000 as the engine must be removed to fix. Turbos can be OK if cared for. -Check for engine computer codes. Lots of sensors on this car. Many are expensive. -Expect "normal" older car stuff needing repair: CV boots, brakes, tie rods ends, suspension bushings, OX sensors, etc. The more of this someone else already fixed, the better. If you get past all of these issues with confidence, then buy and enjoy. Otherwise, the repair cost of a torque converter and/or turbos can easily exceed the book value of this car. If you are a competent do-it-yourself kinda person, and you pick up one of these at a great price, enjoy. Also, with a few $hundred in engine software modifications you can easily double the torque and HP of this engine. Bottom line: These (pre 2004) cars have transmission issues and are expensive to repair. Run away if you can't prove the items above are replaced or dealt with and you'd have to pay someone to fix them. This can be emotionally difficult as a clean A6 (even an '01) is deceptively gorgeous. If you're above average mechanically and want to take one of these on, do so with your eyes open. I still love mine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

59 out of 59 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pure Driving Joy

by Audi A6 2.7T from on Sat Nov 27 2010

When I get in the driver's seat of the 2.7T I am transformed into a luxurious race car driver. I just love to drive this car, and I drive it to it's potential. The 2.7T engine is a twin turbocharged 250 HP engine that has awsome response to ecceleration, the steering and suspension is as good as it gets. The 2.7T features and the way it drives and feels has nothing to do with the 2.8. The 2.7T is the top of the line luxury and sports car and it comes with all of the luxury bells and whistles. One thing to note though, while this car is very reliable, it is very costly to repair when something goes wrong, beside, after 100K miles get ready to spend money; this is the time to replace the timing belt/water pump/serpuntine belt/spark plugs ($1,600), front struts ($900), all 8 front end control arms and both tie rod ends ($1,500), and fix the leaking drive shaft seal ($400), now it's ready to go for another 100K miles. Sorry about your wallet! and this is not at the dealership, if you take it to the dealership you'd have to multiply the costs by 1.5. Anyhow, I still love this car and I really enjoy driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It just keeps going...

by Jameson from Cleveland, OH on Wed Dec 16 2009

As a traveling sales person, I put a lot of miles on my vehicle, nearly 40k per year. I picked up the A6 used in 2004 with about 20,000 miles on it, it now has over 200,000 and is still going strong. The car is certainly expensive to maintain, but even with that, it's still much cheaper than buying a new car every 100,000 miles. If you want a car that is built to last, then the A6 is a superb choice!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, Great design, comfort and handling

by Prad from Irvine on Fri Mar 27 2009

I have been driving one for the last 2 years, it has been one great car to drive. Only thing that i dont like about the car is the maintenance cost, it costs much more than a Honda or a Toyota.. But it is an Audi and it is not fair to compare the maintenance with a Honda car.. SO, this one is worth the money...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i just got this car for christmas and i love it!

by FIRST AND LAST CAR I WILL EVER WANNA DRIVE from Stilwell, KS on Mon Dec 29 2008

i got this car and the first thing that went though my mind was WOW it drives like an avalon and runs like a covett 200 hp but feels like 225 4x4 so i never get stuck and snow? what snow u would never know u were driving though it!!!! LOVE IT

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A6 Avant 2.8Q

by Gardezi from va on Tue Jan 12 2010

Excellent car, I had Mercedes before, power wise no comparison between the 2, Mercedes will out run this A6 in a heartbeat. Comfort, style, standard accessories, features & etc? Audi? surely beats Mercedes. They could have done better then 2.8 with 200hp. Way under power for size and weight, & very soft suspension.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

225,000 and still runs great

by dcssteve from Ventura, CA on Sun Jan 28 2018

This is the 2.7T 6 speed. I bought it with 210,000 miles on it. I was not going to do it but when I drove it, it was to tight that I bought it that night. Then it flew through the mechanical inspection. I drove it to Colorado to California - no problems. Now has 230,000 and I have had it about 3 years. Had to fix the passenger power window, and new struts. The fuel pump also gave out. Now I am replacing an alternator. Pretty minor stuff to own this fun car. Drives like new with those new struts. I paid 3500 for this car. I can afford a few repairs to save tens of thousands of dollars with very low owner taxes.Everything works, even the weird security system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luxury, sporty car, but big gas sipper

by MarioFire from Troy, MI on Wed Nov 10 2010

Great engineering, a lot of fun to drive, expensive to maintain, lealy engine seals/gaskets (will mess up your driveway, unless you pay a lot for fixes), 15mpg city/22 hwy, 250HP, more then 300HP chipped

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awaken your senses

by speedy "D" from Amarillo, TX on Sat Aug 19 2006

This is one of the first Audi's that I have ever owned. I am amazed by the power that this car offers. When you stomp on the gas you find yourself exceeding legal limits without effort. I haven't hit the top speed (135) but I have topped 110 mph several times and the power just doesn't stop. The car handles great. It is a real pleasure to drive. I find myself making excuses just to go to the grocery store because the car is so much fun to drive. Once you drive and experience an Audi you will be hooked.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

If you like fixing it...

by European thinkin of going to Asian side... from Des Moines on Thu Jan 31 2008

As one of the previous people mentioned: there is always something to fix. Valve cover gaskets and cam adjuster seals at 46000. Whole control arm set at 60000. Converter at 55000 (under warranty) and now at 77000 it is leaking oil all over place again. Granted it looks good, handles OK, 2.8 engine little underpowered. Interior design good, sound system good (Bose). Feels luxurious. Quatro is great. But if you don't have extra car for when this one needs fixing don't buy it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Audi A6

Quattro turned 20 this year. And Audi's lovely A6 Avant is all the better for it.

Need some translation? No, quattro is not the name of my Sicilian donkey. Quattro is Audi's groundbreaking all-wheel-drive system that first appeared in 1980, helping to convince sporty drivers that four-wheel power can work as well on pavement as it does off-highway.

Quattro was quickly revealed as a performance enhancement. Improved traction and handling, and better throttle response plus the ability to traverse a snowbound highway, made quattro an exciting development 20 years ago. And it's still being emulated today by such stalwarts as Porsche, Subaru, Volvo and now Audi's sibling, Volkswagen.

Quattro is available... Read More