2018 SQ5

Consumer Reviews

2018 Audi SQ5

$54,300 - $54,300  MSRP Range
2018 Audi SQ5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Audi SQ5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE my SQ5

by Amy from Colorado Springs, CO on Thu Nov 16 2017

I absolutely love it! I'm a "big" car girl, I never thought I would love a smaller car, but this by far is my favorite! I test drove all of the competitors, Porsche, Range Rover, Land Rover... and by far the performance, look and overall performance can't be beat!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow, what a blast to drive.

by RPMGOLFS from Kansas City on Thu Mar 08 2018

I love this Audi. I've had high performance cars in the past but they didn't have the room I needed. So I moved up to a mid sized SUV that thinks it's a sports car. The drove the Mercedes GLC43 and the BMW X3 M40i but they didn't check all my boxes. Nice to be sure, but the Audi proved the most fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome and great performance

by Richard SQ5 on Sun Jan 28 2018

Great car in every facet of owning a vehicle. Fast, nice growl, Comfortable, great handling, tremendoyznumber of accessories and love the virtual cockpit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

9th AUDI, this is the Best

by Jeffstrat114 from Bayshore NY on Thu Jul 12 2018

All of the room an comfort of the Q5 With the power and handling of an S Class spots Sedan. Amazing acceleration. Great new safety Technology. This is hotter than the Porsche.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Tom on Sat Jul 28 2018

Well engineered and fun to drive very comfortable. Enjoyed the test drive sailes person did a great job of explaining the vehicle. It was great being able to drive the very car and color we were looking for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real Sleeper. This car grows on you

by zman from Wimauma, Florida on Mon Jun 04 2018

This car is luxurious in its fit and finish. Rides like a dream. The driving dynamics are all German performance. I Love this car. Call it understated elegance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second S Model and love it .

by Rusty from Alameda Ca on Sat May 12 2018

Hated thr Jaguar F Pce and the Porche Macan S is over priced when you add in what the SQ5 has to offer. SQ5 drove better in my opinion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SQ5 Audi

by Jason F from Mashpee, ma on Fri Jun 02 2017

I came to the dealership to purchase the Audi Q5 2018. I test drove the SQ5. Wow! Amazing, powerful automobile. Changes lanes perfectly with excellent acceleration. I'm so happy I tried this SQ upgrade. I love my sport bucket seats and the upgraded interior. Lots of fun driving this machine! Audi is the most reliable automobile I have driven and my wife also for many years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good but could have been easily better..

by RK from Quebec city, Quebec on Sun Sep 03 2017

Let me start by saying that I ordered it. It is good overall and very good value in the segment. All that Audi had to do to make it perfect was have 4 real exhaust tips through the bumper and an option for larger wheels/tires like MB and BMW. I almost didn't get it because of that and would have paid the extra couple of K$ to have them. I don't understand the product managers at Audi? S4 and S5 have the real deal, all S models should, it's desired and expected. And please don't tell me it was to get a better exhaust note or that people don't want to clean exhaust tips, come on... I would love to hear the actual reasoning behind this from Audi. If it's related to keeping cost down then I think it was a mistake, this is not a Tiguan and you will move the typical buyer of Audi's and other premium brands away more than pulling up potential customers looking to enter this car segment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Big mistake poor service

by BMWhereicome from Ny,N.Y. on Wed Oct 17 2018

Had several q5s and was convinced by dealer to upgrade to the sq5. Big mistake. Car can?t handle speeds over 55mph. Starts to shake and hum. Terrible clunking sounds in cold weather. Horrible braking even in moderate conditions. Audi and dealership no help and frankly disconcertned with issues although they acknowledge the problem. I was a 15 year Audi owner. They lost me and everyone I know because of this.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2018 Audi SQ5

The verdict:

Like that ever-so-versatile wardrobe must-have, the Little Black Dress, the 2018 Audi SQ5 is both elegant and everyday, sporty and stylish — though its price is too couture for my closet.

Versus the competition:

The SQ5 combines utility, luxury and excitement more deftly than others, and although its price is high in the Q5 lineup, it's more affordable than its luxury performance SUV rivals.

The SQ5 is the performance-oriented version of Audi's Q5 SUV; both models were redesigned for 2018 with additional room and updated powertrains. The Q5 competes against the likes of the BMW X3, Porsche Macan and Mercedes-Benz GLC (compare them). The SQ5's main competitors are the Mercedes-AMG GLC43 and Porsche Macan GTS (compare them).

Mild Hides Wild

The SQ5's rounded curves and stately face are polished but hardly exciting; the thrill comes from under the hood. The car vaults off the line and stays strong after just a trace of turbo lag. The turbocharged 3.0-liter V-6 is good for 354 horsepower and 369 pounds-feet of torque — a bit more torque than the previous SQ5's... Read More