2000 323

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW 323

$1,385 - $7,917  MSRP Range
2000 BMW 323

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

58 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW 323?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned!

by Jim from Southern WI on Thu Mar 04 2010

Bought a 2000 323i 2 months ago, and it has been the best car I have ever owned. the 323i is a little slow, 0-60 in ~8s, but its handling makes up for it over and over. One thing to note though, this generation needs to have it's cooling system completely overhauled after 100k miles, but don't let this scare you away - just inquire about this before you buy. These are amazing cars and make up for their shortfalls many times over as soon as you jump in and drive away. :) I would like to add, with proper winter tires, it is the best car I have ever driven in the snow. It handles better in the snow than many 4wd pickup trucks thanks to its near perfect 50:50 weight distribution.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A truly great car to drive

by italiaman from Mtl, QC on Sun Jul 19 2009

What can you say? A nice agile, sporty, compact BMW. Great engine, great handling. The actual mechanics of the car have held up beautifully over its near decade lifespan. The only qualms in reliability are the electronics, with door unlocker, power windows and some lights malfunctioning.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love it

by caddy laddie from phoenix on Wed Sep 20 2017

I still have it and it has 346000 MI or / 550,000 kilometers with original engine and original 5-speed tranny

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Find

by DaveG from Bethlehem, PA on Mon Feb 13 2012

I never would have found the BMW I ended up buying if it werent for Cars.com. The car is a classic "old lady, garage kept..." vehicle. I love it! I bought it for my daughter and she is also thrilled (although I have threatened to trade her for my car - the BMW, although 11 years old is nicer than my 4-year old car)! Overall, a great buy and a great experience!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good.

by mauimatt13 from Sacramento on Sat Oct 16 2010

I just let my 04 325ci go back to the back. Very nice car, some rattles, but a good ride. It was pretty loaded. Every option except Navi. I owed $15,500. I had a car with 78k miles, no warranty, and looking at a $340 payment for the next 4-5 years. I just purchased a 2000 323ci (strippy) with 220k miles, and I love it. The manual is much more fun, I get better mileage, and it is white instead of black. It gets pretty hot here. Needs brakes and maybe shocks and struts, but is a strong, fun runner even with 220k. BMW quality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great driving car. Good for tall folks.

by Kimberly22_f from San Jose on Sat Jul 01 2017

This is a very safe car and crashed well. I was in an accident where I was hit in the back hard. The car did what it was suppose to do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This Car is Just Sexy

by Heavy Foot from Barbados, Caribbean on Sat Jan 24 2009

The BMW 323ci is indeed a very sexy car which has always got great reviews from passers by. Guys are impressed to see a female handling this type of vehicle. It picks up speed well and when you floor that accelerator the whipping back of your head into the seat is a rush indeed. Very good performance once well maintained. After 9 years it's only now giving the standard wear & tear problems where replacement of older parts is needed. But, very solid vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car

by veeman from sacramento, CA on Fri Jan 19 2007

this is the best car i can imagine. it is reliable, and the handling is the best ive seen my whole life. it even has a six cylender engine which has really good gas milage. i would recomend this car to everyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best life expectancy abong most car brands.

by Microbist from Dayton, OH on Tue Jun 14 2011

Amazing response, crisp sound, and great fuel consumption. The architectural shape (facelift) is a breakthrough beauty, best until year 2000 and even until today (see current "rounded-shape" models - yearly facelift update is required by law...). This car is a work-of -art!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've owned to Date

by Lmuniz from Woodbridge, NJ on Fri May 05 2017

I owned a BMW 323ci and this car was amazing. Not only was it 15 years old with well over 100k miles on it, but it was also immaculately taken care of. This car never quit. The engine was as strong as it was on day 1. No major mechanical issues at all. The most expensive repair i had was a water pump. If i could, i would buy this car all over again. The styling alone was enough to sell me. The leather, engine, interior, and handling were just the icing on top.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2000 BMW 323

Remember those little Beemers of the early-to-mid-’80s: They were petite boxes on wheels that became a status symbol for those just on the cusp of making it in the halcyon days of Reaganomics?

I always viewed them as BMW’s not-very-good answer to the surge of Saab and the endurance of Volvo. They weren’t really an enthusiast’s car but were more a rig built for those who wanted to at least play the enthusiast when pulling up for valet parking.

Thankfully, they evolved. Got more powerful. Got better engines. Stayed boxy until recently, but nevertheless became better cars. Cars even an enthusiast could appreciate.

So now comes the 323Ci, in a new generation that is... Read More