2015 i3

Consumer Reviews

2015 BMW i3

$15,939 - $23,827  MSRP Range
2015 BMW i3

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 BMW i3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love this smart, sporty BMW EV

by WestSacGreenDesignGP from West Sacramento, CA on Mon Jan 25 2016

Wonderful build quality, well thought out design from top to bottom, classically sporty BMW styling, and, oh yes, *quick* off the line. My previous car was a BMW 328i, so I have a solid basis for evaluating this car not only as an EV (both my brother and ex-wife drive Nissan Leafs) but as a BMW - wonderful. Thrilled. Will never willingly drive a petrol-powered ICE car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You gotta drive it to believe it.

by Prodrive on Sun Oct 01 2017

Looks small outside but roomy inside. Built from cutting edge materials with BMW quality and feel. A surprisingly addictive drive that’s as fast as a muscle car off the line and with no gear changes it just keeps pushing my smile wider. Fantastic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun To Drive!

by dsm from on Sun Feb 01 2015

the car gets lots of attention and is a blast to drive. The fit and finish is excellent. I am very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW i3

by whatwouldjustindo from Los Angeles on Sat Dec 19 2015

If you can live with range anxiety this is a wonderful automobile. Paired with solar the future looks bright. The odd looks grow on you. The Giga interior is high tech yet warm and a pleasure to spend time in. Navigation and entertainment package could use some tips from Apple but easy enough to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A game changer

by EV from DSM, IA on Tue Jan 12 2016

Ground up electric design with carbon fiber. Light weight, smart tech and daring styling you love or not. Fast and nimble handling. Windy days and a light car require attention though. Otherwise a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Don't quite get the stated milage

by H. Lok Ung from san francisco, CA on Mon Mar 19 2018

I did research for this car, passed up a couple of great deals, but settled on a cpo i3 from sfbmw. Service at the dealership wasn't great, I felt that I was getting the bait and switch. One sales man kept trying to run my credit and have me finance the car even after I stated that I would pay cash. If I were to purchase from that dealership again I would only deal with Scott, he was the most straight forward sales man and was very considerate of my time. The cars acceleration is fast, torque can pin you to your seat, I have the entry level model, but it has more bells and whistles than all my previous cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i3 vs Tesla Model 3

by PeterL from Monterey, CA on Sat Jul 14 2018

My number came up to order a Tesla Model 3, so I tracked one down (not easy) to test drive. It was a good car with lots of bells and whistles, but it paled in comparison to the e-car I used to drive, a BMW i3 (lease ended). Because of that, I gave up my place in the Tesla line and went back to an i3. I could not be happier. True, the range does not compare, but the drive and the ride is so superior I figured I'd get a used i3 and trade it in on a new one when the range improves significantly. I got a great price and excellent service at BMW of San Francisco (I live in Monterey) and recommend them as highly as the i3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too much fun to drive

by E Panda from Camp Hill, PA on Wed Sep 09 2015

The i3 is the biggest surprise in the auto marketplace. It is amazing to drive. Acceleration ... its got it! Every feature is exactly where you'd expect it to be. I bought it for me but my wife loves it more than I do. Mileage is better than expected and there are chargers everywhere ... just use the charger maps to find them. Over 90% of our driving is within 35 miles of home so this is the best second car for us ... NO, we didn't get the extended range version. LOVE IT!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used car deal

by Juanluis from Littleton, CO on Thu Aug 03 2017

I love this car. I have been looking to replace my Toyota Highlander and have test drove many cars. I decided on the I3 because it is such a unique driving experience. After rebates this car was very inexpensive and has all of the latest technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest off the line, instant acceleration.

by I3forme from Lewisville, TX on Thu Sep 28 2017

Thus is a great car. If 80 miles a day is all you need, no problem! Takes about 15 hours to charge on 120 volts. I got a 240 volt charger on Amazon. Charges fully in 5 hours.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2015 BMW i3

Cars don't get much more bizarre than the 2015 BMW i3, an electric hatchback with surprising room and comfort but a whole lot of head-scratchers.

The first product from BMW's "i" electric sub-brand, the i3 launched for the 2014 model year. Changes for 2015 amount to a few more standard features (compare the two model years here), none of which keep the i3 from being a rolling science project.

The car's electric motor and battery have an EPA-estimated range of 81 miles. One version has a gasoline engine-generator that kicks in when the battery runs out to bring the total EPA-estimated range to 150 miles. Compare the two variants here. We tested the version with gas backup, which... Read More