NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 i3

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW i3

$15,715 - $27,783  MSRP Range
2016 BMW i3

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

9 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW i3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Shifting from gas to electric was the right move

by StuartABQ from Albuquerque, NM on Thu Aug 16 2018

Performs beyond my expectations/drives and responds exceptionally/my wife loves it/the vehicle we need to get around town/now we are making a contribution to the environment

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great efficiency, fun to drive.

by Amaroe from Ruston, WA on Tue Jan 22 2019

I was apprehensive, but with the range extender, and all of the tech features, along with the power accelerating from a stop, I can't recommend this car enough. So much fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent all around.

by Executive. from Alpharetta, GA on Sun Feb 12 2017

The i3 is an excellent vehicle all around. Range can go beyond 75 miles if driven responsibly. I enjoy this machine as much as I enjoy my X5 and 5 sedan. Electrical consumption barely noticeable in our power bill. Fast, impressive torque, high safety standards and much more. Handling is a typical Bavarian.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Buy buy buy cpo only

by Bmuu guy from Kenilworth nj on Thu Apr 11 2019

Here's the break down for what this car offers. Firstly it has a beautiful interior, it's really like being inside a second home. When you drive this car its stiff on suspension but such a joy to be able to accelerate almost immediately. With that said be careful know your package and know the features you want as not all models are created equal. Tera trim is 100% worth the extra cpo search. You don't want to buy this car brand new. It's simply not worth over 30k. 2016, 2015,2017 models can all be found for 24k or less. With that said I have a 2016 Rex with upgraded battery because that is literally an option. I spent 13k on the car and another 4k on battery and installation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Terbie22 from Encino, CA on Fri May 10 2019

Got a great deal on an EV that’s a blast to drive. I’ve already highly recommended this model to friends and family. Large windows provide great visibility.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car and company ever

by Aa from Atlanta on Fri May 03 2019

Bmw is claiming that the i3 is so sensitive that somehow we caused damage to the charge port without any accidents or major trauma . And now this issue with the charge port they will not cover u set warranty . Bad customer service and per BMW themselves apparently bad car .

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

BMW i3

by Dashmn from Fallbrook,California on Sun Feb 14 2016

Great looking for an EV auto. Disappointed in the Harmon-Kardon sound system. Really not up to my standards. This is not a family car, nor for anyone who's going to do some serious driving.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 BMW i3 Rex

by Tony BMW i3 from on Sat Apr 15 2017

Best car I've owned so far! With a 70 mile electric range with 60 mile gas backup range it serves great as a daily driver and weekend getaway car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The i3 is the best EV on the road.

by Owner of many BMWs. from Atlanta, GA on Sun Feb 12 2017

Handling, range, reliability, comfort and responsiveness. Free ownership too. BMW produced a master piece.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2016 BMW i3

Editor's note: This review was written in November 2015 about the 2015 BMW i3. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Cars don't get much more bizarre than the 2015 BMW i3, an electric hatchback with surprising room and comfort but a whole lot of head-scratchers.

The first product from BMW's "i" electric sub-brand, the i3 launched for the 2014 model year. Changes for 2015 amount to a few more standard features (compare the two model years here), none of which keep the i3 from being a rolling science project.

The car's electric motor and battery have an EPA-estimated range of 81... Read More