2017 i3

Consumer Reviews

2017 BMW i3

$42,400 - $48,300  MSRP Range
2017 BMW i3

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 BMW i3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun-to-drive, Affordable, and Electric!

by JamyVII from Tallahassee, FL on Thu Sep 14 2017

I'm a driver--all of my previous cars have had manual transmissions; I log 30,000 miles a year, and so I'm fairly demanding when it comes to vehicles. The i3 broke the mold for me--electric with an onboard generator (which I rarely use), it plugs in at home every night and gets me everywhere I need to go faster than almost any sports car, quietly, and with all sorts of features. Comfortable, safe, reliable, and--after the tax credit and BMW incentives--very, very affordable. Highly recommended!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Once You Get Past the Exterior Styling...

by iamjocco from Manhattan Beach, CA on Thu Apr 27 2017

you either love it or hate it (it definitely grew on me) but inside and out an amazing technological marvel and definitely a BMW. Great car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Engineering Excellence

by Skippynick from Kenosha on Wed Nov 29 2017

The i3 is the best car I’ve owned for my type of use. My only wish would be for longer range on battery but frankly I rarely use the Rex so this is a small complaint for me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i3 fun to drive

by LA Green from Los Angeles on Wed Aug 16 2017

After looking at several electric vehicles I chose the i3. So far I am thrilled with my choice. Fun to drive. especially in the city. Extremely quick and the regenerative braking is a terrific experience. I would highly recommend this car whether you are in the market for an electric vehicle or not!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
0 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Driving in the future.

by GD from 94108 on Thu Nov 02 2017

We are in the midst of the early evolution of the modern electric vehicle. Efficiency and long range is the goal. The BMW i3 is an experiment and we owners get to be part of that evolution. The ICE has had its day and will continue for a while longer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth, Firm and Clean

by Moirty from Phoenix, AZ on Sun Nov 19 2017

This is the quietest and smoothest car I've owned. Was looking for an all-electric. Had planned on buying a Tesla but wanted something smaller. The i3 accelerates quickly and is zippy around town. It's great to have full access to the HOV lane and to skip the trips to the gas station. I installed a Level 2 charger at my house (bought the Bosch unit from Amazon). It's pricey for its size but we are satisfied. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Terrible car

by Spencer from California on Sat Dec 02 2017

The i3 absolutely sucks. It?s a terrible car. Luckily, the lease payment is so low I?m able to rent it out on Turo and actually make back what I pay each month plus another $250-$300 extra. I?ve literally driven the car less than 70 miles myself in the two months since I bought it. Turo is the greatest app ever. Don?t buy this car unless you plan on using it as a way to make money. Real talk.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Extra battery in the front for 15 Miles more?

by Jeff from Santa Clara on Tue Sep 19 2017

I have full electric one. Always worry about run out of juice. Maybe there is a way the have extra battery in the front without that range extender, but extra 15miles for my commute. Otherwise it's perfect. Comfortable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I just love that car. Look, performance everythin.

by AR from Fresno, CA on Sat Mar 31 2018

The best car around the town. The best thing no gas! Save a lot of money! I love it! I really enjoy this car a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1