2006 M5

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW M5

$9,431 - $28,179  MSRP Range
2006 BMW M5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 BMW M5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance and comfort

by Smudge from Charlotte, NC on Wed Sep 07 2011

This car offers the best of most worlds. The performance and fun factor are great. You can drive it aggressively and have a ball or drive it normal without too many compromises. The good: Performance, comfort, fun, size, versatility, oh yea, did I mention performance. The not so good: Gas mileage, can be clunky when driving nonaggressively, no slots for car phone or bluetooth except under the arm rest I would recommend this car to anyone who loves performance and has the discipline to control the desire to leave everyone standing still all the time. Otherwise, either your license or your life will be short lived.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most sporty and luxurious car I have owned.

by Owner from Fishers, IN on Wed Feb 16 2011

The car look like a sedan but drives like a race car. It is a lot more beefy than the 5-series rivals but can take the turns like it is on rails. The engine sounds great and the power (especially in M-Drive) is unmatched.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Armani from la crescenta on Wed Aug 10 2016

This is the Best Car BMW Ever Made Relaible super Fast Good Looking 4.1Sec 0 t0 60 and its like a Normal Car But Your Driving A race car +Comfort SMG IS the best once you get used to it i drove many cars supercharged wherever this one is diffrent poor on gas 11MPG City I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

E60 M5 Experience

by E60M5toF80M3 from Silver Spring on Thu Jun 22 2017

I owned a 2006 M5 for 7 yrs that I purchased used with 25k miles at the time. No questions one of the best if not the best performance sedan made. The performance and handling was great but the fuel consumption and reliability were not. The fuel consumption was expected since it comes with a V10 but reliability was not the best. I had extended warranty and replaced the engine before my warranty ended due to a rod bearing failure which is a common issue. The car itself is affordable to purchase but to maintain with fuel consumption and reliability issues, be ready to dish out some money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

M5 on a budget

by fancy poor sports car guy from Canton, OH on Tue May 01 2012

The M5 is truly an amazing car. It handles like now other, has all the power you could ever want and yet you can take your coworkers to lunch with you in complete comfort. I highly recommend it to any enthusiast on a budget as the 2006 SMG's can be had at a bargin in comparison to their original retail price. The only con, don't expect good gas mileage. City I get around 11 MPG, highway I can get 19. I love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BADDEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED

by pennpal62 from Houston, Tx on Fri Feb 01 2008

Bad (in a good way) is the word to describe my M5. I've done a few modifications to my car. It's even faster now. When people ask "is that the 500hp model?" I say "and then some"... How fast is the car? I backed it down at 197mph and it still wanted to go. You have now idea how fun it is to go to the track and race a corvette... And beat it! Owning a M5 has been a life long dream for me. I may never get rid of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

True Dream Machine on wheels

by BMUU.XPert from TX on Wed Sep 11 2013

The M5 is best of the best. The only way to make it better would be to add a turbo or two. I highly recommend a well documented service record if you are buying used. Repairs are avoidable with these vehicles when they are well maintained.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

least reliable bimmer!

by m4me2be from chattanooga,TN on Sat Mar 24 2007

I have owned 6 bimmers in the last 10yrs, must say the 05 645ci and 06 M5 are the worst. not in the sense as lemons, but the mentioned two were both SMG with I-DRIVE . BMW should have introduced dual clutch on these cars. They drive like a buggy in town. and the i-drive is going to be the death of BMW, unless they get rid of it. I got rid of my M5 after just 3600 miles , it had been in shop for a SMG failure at only 1000 miles and yaw sensor failure at 2500 miles. the electronics are going to collapse in these cars. I miss my '98 540i.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

E60 M5 is AWESOME!!

by beta2007 from San Diego, CA on Mon Aug 06 2012

You get what you pay for. I love this car and am pleased everytime I get in it. I'd say that the only issues are poor gas mileage (I know, whatya expect from a 500hp car) and the gas pedal lag in everyday driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, Fun, Fun car

by NSex1986 from Houston, TX on Tue Jun 26 2007

this is a great car to own and drive. i have had lexus's mercedes's and jaguar's and this is the best i have ever driven nothing can compare. it's fast, handles great, and is comfortable. I would reccomend this car to anyone even though the price can be a little high the car itself is amazing if you can buy it drive it enjoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3